We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous”
Review of Las Olas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Copacabana
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Las Olas
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Copacabana
Certificate of Excellence
Leighton Buzzard
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
Reviewed 5 June 2012 via mobile

What a unique place. Fabulous rooms, and the owner could not do enough to help us. Very friendly.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ScotsBloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    67
    17
    2
    6
See reviews for
49
281
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Ontario
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Among all the hotels/hostels/B&B we stayed in the past 3 weeks in South America, Las Olas is the one we love the most…it is the Oasis in our journey and it is just piece of art.
Booking by email +getting there by taxi from Peru-Bolivia border:
easy and smooth, but we were still surprised how enchanting this place was when we acturally arrived, and decided right on the spot to entend our stay...luckily we got it.
Room: we stayed in 2 different huts and my friend stayed in another. All 3 are clean, beautiful, with huge open windows, nice bathroom. We watch sunset and sunrise from our bed!
Service: staff speaks little English but all nice and willing to help. Laundry delivered on time, fires lit on time, cleaning done perfect.
We really want to go back someday to Bolivia because of Las Olas!

Room Tip: There is a little shop on the way to Las Olas that sells eggs/water/bread/wine, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank liszt2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Truly amazing and almost mystical place to stay. The view is breathtaking of the lake and the town below. The room itself was huge with kitchen, small fireplace, big warm bed- amazingly decorated bathroom, plus a whole second floor if needed. Kitchen was great with coffee, tea, and anything you'd need to cook- no fridge though.
The staff are great- they even have altitude meds, (I'm afraid we needed them). The place is located high up on the hill- so it's a bit tough to walk around with out loosing your breath or using regular luggage - also the path is a bit dark and uneven, use the flashlight provided.
The windows are a highlight- 14-15 feet high really jaw dropping view- added to that they have wandering sheep who enjoyed staring at us, it was a great place.
We are already missing this magical place and planning to go back soon.

Room Tip: They have a great jacuzzi- we weren't able to indulge due to altitude though. If you're fee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdrenilineJunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Once you get to the hotel you will be very happy. Getting there is a different question. I would suggest booking 5-6 months in advance, not only because the hotel is extremely popular but because the people doing the reservations are idiots. It took like 5 emails for them to understand (in both english and spanish) what I wanted (you cannot pay for it before getting there). Thereafter about two weeks before I arrived I attempted to confirm my earlier reservation and was told that they no longer had any rooms. To make the story short after a lot of pain I got the room.

My husband and I stayed at the turtle room/cabin for 2 nights and it was absolutely enchanting! The cabin itself could easily accommodate 2 couples with an upstairs and downstairs bed plus several hamacs. There is also a small kitchenette, plants in the bathroom and a wood stove. The place is pretty not only because of the architecture and decoration itself but most importantly because of the view of the lake and the possibility of seeing the sunset. The grounds are very well maintained, with flowers and plants everywhere. Additionally our cabin had its own picnic table and hamacs outside. And there is HOT water! That's a plus here..but no breakfast.

There are two different ways to enter the property, the easiest way is to look for La Cupula hotel which is right next door and the second way is directly from Av Juaregui, you find a staircase with a little arch doorway and no sign and lots of stairs...be prepared to arrive without breath if you take this one.

Copacabana is a small town so it is easy to walk everywhere. Its about 2 blocks from the hotel to Av 6 de Agosto which is where all the restaurants/bars are. If you want to see and experience Lake Titicaca this town is much better than Puno.

Room Tip: Book with time and spend the extra 2 dollars for a nicer room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CAROLPERSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012 via mobile

Fabulous, best views over the water, huge windows, open fire in the room, hammocks out the front- beautiful!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizziebspring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belsele, Belgium
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012 via mobile

It's a bit more 'expensive' but it's a really cool place. The huts are so beautiful, so big, really clean and a nice bathroom & an amazing view on the lake.

We loved it!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Einstein81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yackandandah
Level Contributor
105 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Copacabana is a great town. It has a really nice feel to it. Las Olas is the perfect place to stay here. It has commanding views over Lake Titicaca. Each of the rooms is unique and delightful. They have cooking facilities but there are plenty of nice places to eat in Copacabana.

It's such a special place to stay - you can watch the sun go down over the lake and watch what is going on in town. You can see boats laden with people coming and going from Isla del Sol. We should have stayed an extra day.

The owner is really nice and the staff try to be helpful but don't speak any English so sometimes it can be a bit hard if you don't have any Spanish.

The only reason I didn't give it five stars is that our room had a few issues - nothing major, but there was no kettle and few of the lights weren't working. It's also very hard to get fresh water so you need to buy it in town before you climb up to Las Olas otherwise you'll be very thirsty in the middle of the night. The owner might consider providing fresh water to the rooms. It doesn't cost a lot and helps travelers with a basic need.

Don't let any of these comments put you off though - I'd stay here again without question.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guykb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copacabana hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rosario Lago Titicaca
Hotel Rosario Lago Titicaca
#3 of 13 in Copacabana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gloria Copacabana
Hotel Gloria Copacabana
#5 of 13 in Copacabana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mirador
Hotel Mirador
#11 of 13 in Copacabana
3.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Wendy Mar
Hotel Wendy Mar
#4 of 13 in Copacabana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Utama
Hotel Utama
#1 of 13 in Copacabana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal Florencia
Hostal Florencia
#1 of 20 in Copacabana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Olas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Olas

Property: Las Olas
Address: Calle Michel Perez | Final, Copacabana, Bolivia
Region: Bolivia > La Paz Department > Copacabana
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Copacabana
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear tourist, hostel "Las Olas" is placed on a hill side over looking lake Titicaca. From any of the seven suites you have a marvellous view over the bay and the lake. You have spacious gardens with hammocks and deck chairs on the different terraces leading down the hill side. On our grounds you can use a fire place and we have several stone tables and benches to eat outside to enjoy the views. For those who love plants and flowers, you will find an enormous variety of predominantly local species. All suites have been individually designed, using as many natural and local materials as possible and respecting traditional ways of construction. They provide a maximum comfort and you will find many artistic details for the eye. From your living room area, from your bed and almost from any point of your room you have a perfect view of the lake through the huge window fronts. Each suite is provided with a small kitchen unit, private bath an inside hammock and a fireplace. There is also a little electric heater for your use We do a big effort to work very ecological. The cabins are built with a complete heat insulation of polystyrene inside the roof, as well as in the walls below the facade. We preheat the water with big solar panels and than feed it into the electric boiler to guarantee very hot water 24 hours a day. We recycle all our washing machine water with an automatic sprinkler to wet our extensive gardens, and we also collect any plastic or glass bottle left behind to be recycled. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Las Olas Copacabana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing