We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Possibly the best place to stay in Copacabana”
Review of Las Olas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Copacabana
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Las Olas
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Copacabana
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“Possibly the best place to stay in Copacabana”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

More expensive than usual for Bolivia but still very cheap by north American standard, Las Olas is probably the best place to stay in Copacabana. The little houses are all so unique and interesting. Very clean, well equipped, the beds are comfortable, great view and great location. I don't know what more to ask. Oh I know, they have guitars at the front desk that you can borrow. And a book exchange. And 2 cool cats guarding the property!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maude909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    67
    17
    2
    6
See reviews for
49
281
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Las Olas had been strongly recommended by friends and it didn't disappoint. We stayed in the detached quarters called "La Torre", which is a cross between a tower and a castle. Like all of the detached quarters, La Torre was designed by the German owner/sculptor, Martin, who is very unassuming and friendly. La Torre is quirky but gorgeous! It has three levels, each with successively better views of Lake Titicaca. The exterior and interior is very much like Antoni Gaudi's Parque Güell...unorthodox and very creative design. Skylights and walls of windows for great views and the feeling of open space. The floors are wooden with stump-like inlays and the spiral staircases encircle large round beds. Sinks are carved wooden bowls. The stucco walls have alcove shelves and glass & stone embedded therein. Another detached quarters at Las Olas is in the shape of a shell and another in the shape of a turtle (Disney has nothing on this place). Each quarters has a kitchen for cooking (breakfast not included). Flowering shrubs and gardens surround all of the different quarters with stone walkways between them (quarters are a good distance apart for privacy). The premises also includes two llamas and a hot tub (must reserve in advance). Absolutely charming place to stay!

Room Tip: Stay in La Torre, La Tortuga, or La Concha.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

When we first entered our room (actually more a cabin), our jaws dropped. The view was simply amazing!! Definitely the most creative and interesting place we have stayed at, with colourful hammocks, plants inside the double shower, huge skylights, etc. There is even a little jacuzzi outside that you can enjoy (if pre-booked). During our stay in Copacabana we hardly wanted to leave our room! Definitely a highlight and to top it off great value for money.

Room Tip: We stayed in Suite 5 "El Cielo" and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCBester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sucre, Bolivia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We had been in Copacabana three years ago and saw Las Olas perched on the hillside overlooking Lago Titicaca, but they were all booked at that time. When our friends invited us to go on a trip to Copacabana, in November 2013, we suggested Las Olas. Wow, what satisfaction it was for all of us from the moment we entered the property. Martin, the owner has created a fantasy land of buildings, pathways and sculptures to entertain the mind and feed the imagination.
we had a wonderful stay, choosing two different rooms in two nights just too enjoy the eclectic nature of the place. the service was excellent, and the price was more than reasonable for such an odyssey. amazing! thank you las olas for inspiration. we'll be back

Room Tip: Los olas website, clearly indicates the different accomodations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edward g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

This place is quirky, clean, quiet and beautiful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with magnificent views of Lake Titicaca whilst in out hammocks both inside and out. Very spacious and we order food for breakfast and dinner for a great price and feed. Martin was very friendly and takes the time to have a chat. We loved EVERYTHING about this place and didn't want to leave. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wander16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

Las olas is an amazing hostel. The rooms were great. Spacious, clean and very unique. We met Martin the owner, who was very nice and told us about the building of the rooms, which he was heavily involved in.

We stayed in suite 3. The views were great from our room. There were hammocks inside and outside. A fireplace. Equipped kitchen. We had no issues with the beds. They were very comfortable.

Las olas is a little bit difficult to find. We used the entrance to la cupula (the sister hostel). There's no clear signage showing where the hostel entrance is, but you work it out because of the uniqueness of the buildings.

Very happy with our stay. Highly recommended.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MGDL1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florianopolis, SC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We simply loved this place. Best option in Copacabana! We had a wonderful time there. It is an amazing stay for a good price. Seeing the moon over the Titicaca River from your room is amazing!! Also the rooms are really small apartments where you have a small kitchen and and a living room ....

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulo Henrique P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copacabana hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rosario Lago Titicaca
Hotel Rosario Lago Titicaca
#3 of 13 in Copacabana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gloria Copacabana
Hotel Gloria Copacabana
#5 of 13 in Copacabana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mirador
Hotel Mirador
#11 of 13 in Copacabana
3.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Wendy Mar
Hotel Wendy Mar
#4 of 13 in Copacabana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Utama
Hotel Utama
#1 of 13 in Copacabana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal Florencia
Hostal Florencia
#1 of 20 in Copacabana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Olas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Olas

Property: Las Olas
Address: Calle Michel Perez | Final, Copacabana, Bolivia
Region: Bolivia > La Paz Department > Copacabana
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Copacabana
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear tourist, hostel "Las Olas" is placed on a hill side over looking lake Titicaca. From any of the seven suites you have a marvellous view over the bay and the lake. You have spacious gardens with hammocks and deck chairs on the different terraces leading down the hill side. On our grounds you can use a fire place and we have several stone tables and benches to eat outside to enjoy the views. For those who love plants and flowers, you will find an enormous variety of predominantly local species. All suites have been individually designed, using as many natural and local materials as possible and respecting traditional ways of construction. They provide a maximum comfort and you will find many artistic details for the eye. From your living room area, from your bed and almost from any point of your room you have a perfect view of the lake through the huge window fronts. Each suite is provided with a small kitchen unit, private bath an inside hammock and a fireplace. There is also a little electric heater for your use We do a big effort to work very ecological. The cabins are built with a complete heat insulation of polystyrene inside the roof, as well as in the walls below the facade. We preheat the water with big solar panels and than feed it into the electric boiler to guarantee very hot water 24 hours a day. We recycle all our washing machine water with an automatic sprinkler to wet our extensive gardens, and we also collect any plastic or glass bottle left behind to be recycled. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Las Olas Copacabana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing