We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky, fantasy accommodation”
Review of Las Olas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Las Olas
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Copacabana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The rooms at Las Olas are all different and like nothing I have ever seen before. They are spacious with private bathroom and kitchenette. Only complaint is the cold. We were there in winter and the bar heater only had one bar working and the wood stove put out very little heat. The view over the bay both day and night was sensational. There was free wifi but we were unable to get a signal...

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sky suite and our friends were in the Turtle and we were both happy with our rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KarinP63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (545)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 545 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

This was the first place we stayed at that actually felt like we were on our honeymoon. It was a little hard to find at first, but that is only because it is hidden behind another hotel to add to its exclusivity, uniqueness and breathtaking views. It is only a 5 minute walk to the main street; the staff is extremely friendly and helpful; the room was special in every way (especially the jungle shower); there was free WiFi, hammocks just outside on our patio with a view of Lake Titicaca, and a private hot tub with a view available for next to nothing. As a bit of a boutique hotel, obviously it was a bit more than a hostel or backpackers would be; but well worth the splurge! Stay here - you won't regret it.

Room Tip: Doesn't seem like you could go wrong; they are all different, all unique, and all have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LiaBW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We did a 2 month trek through South America and splurged (although it was still inexpensive) on this place for my 30th birthday. We stayed in the sea tower and had a fantastic time. Gorgeous setting, fantastic views, and the cabin was decorated beautifully. It had everything you needed in the cabin. The grounds were meticulously kept and each area has its own hammocks, tables, and chairs.
We rented the hot tub for the night with friends and had a blast. The owner found out it was my birthday and made it extra special by having a cake made.
The people that run the place are so friendly and helpful with knowledge about the area. The location is within walking distance to "downtown." And the plus side, is that there are 2 alpacas that live on sight. So cute!
I can't say enough good things about this place except this will always be a highlight of our trip. Thank you so much for making my birthday so special.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaptKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We just stayed over one night in early May. The suites were a delight, our suite, and our friends' suite as well. Each one is so different, one from the other. I can imagine that the architect enjoyed his creative license in designing them. It does get cool at night, but we were warm under the blankets. And older ones might well be exhausted climbing up the many steps from the road to the beach entrance, especially if not used to the high altitudes (the long way around is also uphill but with a more gentle slope). It really felt like a holiday get-away.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowgeese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Location was a little difficult to find. Luckily I had gotten my hands on a map, if not it would have been a lot harder.

Service was impeccable. I had an entire cabin (Cabin No 1) to myself, complete with 2 double beds, 1 single bed and a hammock inside the cabin.

It was complete with cooking area, beautiful big windows to see the great view of Lake Titicaca from, and shower with consistent hot water, Requested for some help to start the fire at night, and also got the guy on duty to bring extra firewood. Service was prompt and helpful.

Hot water bottles, good cooking utensils and electric water kettles were available in the room, and books and games were available for loan as well. I also like the touch where they provided empty flower vases and we were invited to pick some of the beautiful flowers to decorate the cabin. A hot tub is available at night as well for about 15Bs per person.

The next day, I wasn't feeling too good from the altitude and the staff provided me with an equivalent of a soroichi pill, and I just slept in a hammock post-checkout without any issues.

Breakfast isn't included but the restaurant at La Cupula offers pretty good choices for about 25Bs or less.

The staff even helped me to carry my bags all the way from the hotel to my travel agency in the town centre. Really good service, discrete and never obtrusive.

One grouch, the bed is nowhere as thick as it could be so lying in the same spot for a few hours let me experience how thin the mattress was.

One suggestion: Include sunrise and sunset timings in the orientation of the cabin so that it would be easy to judge when I need to be back to see the sunset from the cabin.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had a wonderful stay. The rooms/cabins are as unique and stunning as the view. They are fully equipped with pretty well everything you might need, including coffee and a hot water bottle. The best feature however is the owner, Martin, who is one of the most thoughtful and kind people you will ever meet. Our sense is that he truly cares about each and every one of the guests in his hotel. If you are anywhere near Copacabana, treat yourself to a stay at Las Olas. You will be glad you did.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel is one of the more expensive ones in town but it is worth it! Our room #6 was roomy with a kitchen area and wood heater and had great views over the lake. It was a bit or a hassle sending a money order to them in advance to confirm the room since we were arriving late afternoon but in the end I don't regret staying here at all. Very unique decor that can't be found anywhere else.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ling726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copacabana hotels
0 mi away
Hotel La Cupula
Hotel La Cupula
#2 of 13 in Copacabana
768 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rosario Lago Titicaca
Hotel Rosario Lago Titicaca
#3 of 13 in Copacabana
614 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Wendy Mar
Hotel Wendy Mar
#4 of 13 in Copacabana
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mirador
Hotel Mirador
#10 of 13 in Copacabana
274 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Paraiso del lago
Hotel Paraiso del lago
#6 of 13 in Copacabana
51 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gloria Copacabana
Hotel Gloria Copacabana
#5 of 13 in Copacabana
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Olas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Olas

Address: Calle Michel Perez | Final, Copacabana, Bolivia
Region: Bolivia > La Paz Department > Copacabana
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Copacabana
Price Range: £38 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear tourist, hostel "Las Olas" is placed on a hill side over looking lake Titicaca. From any of the seven suites you have a marvellous view over the bay and the lake. You have spacious gardens with hammocks and deck chairs on the different terraces leading down the hill side. On our grounds you can use a fire place and we have several stone tables and benches to eat outside to enjoy the views. For those who love plants and flowers, you will find an enormous variety of predominantly local species. All suites have been individually designed, using as many natural and local materials as possible and respecting traditional ways of construction. They provide a maximum comfort and you will find many artistic details for the eye. From your living room area, from your bed and almost from any point of your room you have a perfect view of the lake through the huge window fronts. Each suite is provided with a small kitchen unit, private bath an inside hammock and a fireplace. There is also a little electric heater for your use We do a big effort to work very ecological. The cabins are built with a complete heat insulation of polystyrene inside the roof, as well as in the walls below the facade. We preheat the water with big solar panels and than feed it into the electric boiler to guarantee very hot water 24 hours a day. We recycle all our washing machine water with an automatic sprinkler to wet our extensive gardens, and we also collect any plastic or glass bottle left behind to be recycled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Las Olas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Olas Copacabana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing