We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A decent and comfortable place with a nice pool”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Asturias

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Asturias
Ranked #28 of 49 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A decent and comfortable place with a nice pool”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

I reviewed the opinion of other travellers previous to my stay at Hotel Asturias and I pretty much agree with most of them. The hotel´s location is fair good, on a quiet street. The staff is kind and available to help. The rooms are very simple, they would need several improvements to make it more comfortable and nice looking. There is a beautiful swimming pool and a handy parking lot. Free wi-fi available and working good. It would be a 3-star hotel for Western standard requirements, but given the context, I would give it 4 out of 5.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RM00184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    14
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
5
8
Solo
0
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

The main reason I choose to stay here is for the hotels yard. Its like a oasis in the middle of the ever so noisy and busy Santa Cruz. So this is the very upside of the hotel.
The walls are quite thin, and the room was not clean upon my arrival. I would have complained about this as once, but seeing I arrived in the middle of the night I was too tired, and the sheets where at least clean.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonjeSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

Given that Bolivia is a very poor country I think some of the reviews are a little unfair.
We stayed overnight on Christmas eve, as part of a tour group heading to the Andes from Rio, and could not have been made to feel more welcome. The hotel offered to open the restaurant for dinner on Christmas eve and again for breakfast on Christmas day.
When we got to our rooms there was a present waiting for us (Local Christmas biscuits)
The room is clean and tidy with Air con, a fridge and a large TV. It does not have a safe, however you are able to leave valuables with reception at no extra cost.
There doesn't appear to be a great deal to see here, however I can recommend a visit to the Dumbo ice cream shop close to the main square, the choice of sundaes and flavours is excellent and very tasty.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonOkell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Seemed a good hotel to us, comfortable, we slept well. Rooms a bit simple. However, I felt that hotel was an oasis on calm in an otherwise bustling Santa Cruz. We were only there for a matter of hours, enough time to have a meal, an overnight sleep, but then off to the airport, not enough time for breakfast. More motel style, which I'm not fond of, but good hotel. ok

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank King_of_America_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atkinson, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

I almost didn't stay here because of some of the negative feedback I read and the lack of a website. The property definitely is old. Old, and well maintained and more importantly very clean. Could they use a new swimming pool? yes. Would new furniture in the restaurant look nice? yes. But could they do that and still charge only $70 for a double room, with a decent breakfast, and WIFI? No way. This place had the fastest internet service I've ever used (including my home service) and a very comfortable mattress. The hotel staff was great and I will stay here again when I return to Bolivia.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank watkinshenao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
539 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

After Asuncion, hoping for better from South America: Nope! The hotel looked promising from the outside, with a nice driveway and flowering gardens. The room was b-a-s-i-c: and promise of star ratings was a fantasy. The thin curtains did not keep out a blazing outside light, so no sleep. Exhausted, I went optimistically to the pool (3.30pm) to find the bottom full of dirt and concrete and rubbish floating in it. Just unacceptable. After venturing out to the town - DON'T go there at night, seriously - for something to eat early, we returned to the room. I went to see if I could get a hot drink from the "restaurant"- deserted, scruffy and astonished that I should ask for a pot of tea, coffee, hot water or anything else. Avoid this place.
Santa Cruz - the main square is quaint, with some cafe's overlooking it. In the "Irish Pub" we ate lunch in (not Irish;not a pub), the people on the next table narrowly avoided having their bags snatched by 3 year-olds trained to creep under the tables to get them. When they were caught by a waitress, they ran off back to their begging mother(?) in the street, who wacked them both across the head for their failure. Nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Retyree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Cruz hotels

Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
307 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2012

This is a motel-style hotel, with rooms set back from the road. This means there is very little traffic noise in the rooms, which is very good for central Santa Cruz, and the main reason for giving the hotel a "very good" rating.

The rooms are a bit dated, even though it seems that some are being updated (e.g., slightly improved air conditioning being installed). The furnishings are good quality, however, and everything was clean and comfortable, and the free wifi worked fine!

The rooms give onto open (but covered) walkways, and there are some common seating areas. There are no lifts, so ask for a room on the ground floor if you don't like stairs - although staff were happy to help carry heavy luggage up to the first floor.

There are nice gardens, and seating areas beside the pool are ideal for relaxing away from the heat and the city bustle. The pool itself, however, could do with cleaning out before anyone would choose to swim in it.

Staff were all friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: No lift, so ask for a ground-floor room if you have difficulty with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M1DXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.2 mi away
Senses Centro
Senses Centro
#27 of 49 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cosmopolitano Hotel Boutique
Cosmopolitano Hotel Boutique
#10 of 49 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Hotel
La Quinta Hotel
#14 of 49 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Aparthotel Premium Suites Santa Cruz
1.0 mi away
Torre Hotel Ejecutivo
Torre Hotel Ejecutivo
#17 of 49 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Kolping
Casa Kolping
#19 of 49 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Asturias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Asturias

Property: Hotel Asturias
Address: Calle Moldes 154 - Casilla 895, Santa Cruz, Bolivia
Region: Bolivia > Santa Cruz Department > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 49 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Asturias 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Asturias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing