We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old cigarette butts litter corridors and plant pots”
Review of Hotel Arenal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Arenal
Ranked #42 of 49 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Old cigarette butts litter corridors and plant pots”
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

I am sorry to write this review but our stay here was grim. A hotel that allows its public corridors to be littered with old fag butts and planters filled with them is surprising. The whole place is very very tired, but it was the dirt that shocked us. The bed smelt of stale sweat not surprisingly and we did not put anything on any surface in the bathroom. The bedroom had an enormous modern television. We felt the money would have been better spent on more cleaning staff!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    10
    10
    16
    20
See reviews for
1
26
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Our flight with Air America was cancelled and as there is only the one flight a day to Miami we were put up in this hotel for the night. We were given a good lunch but the bedroom which on first glance seemed adequate was in fact very dirty and the bathroom was in a sorry state ,taps dripping ,dirty shower curtains and small creatures scurrying around. The dinner ,after waiting for one hour was appalling and really inedible ( it was meant to be steak and chips ) We didn't sleep too well as the sheets were not actually dirty but did have hairs on them !!! All in all I would not recommend this place to anyone,I am not sure what Air America paid for our nights stay but would imagine that it was not worth more than 50 Bobs (£5)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelstonMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Cruz hotels

Santa Cruz, Bolivia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

If you ever visit Santa Cruz, make sure it is not at this place! Where do i start!
We arrived late at night hence the reason we stayed, by the time we realised how bad this place is it was too late, broken curtains, dripping taps, ants everywhere, and that is just the start.

The buffet breakfast is offensive, its a selecton of stale bread and cold boiled egg, the place has a damp smell to it, the swimming pool was dirty and the area around it was too, they false atvertise extras such as gym and sauna, maybe 20 years ago.
The computers didnt work, the lift was in pitch black, and looking at another persons bad review on Trip Advisor from August 2011!!! they still havent fixed the problem, But the worst thing about this place is the STAFF, the Manageress receptionist in paticular!

My ipod was STOLEN too, one morning it was on my bedside table, when i came back later it was gone....after searching my room for an hour i informed the reception, to which i got a big middle finger, no sorry, no atempt at helping resolve the situation, nothing!
When we left they tried to charge us for extras such as shaving.....and toothpaste..! Unreal!

In a word, this place is HORRID! Im disheartened that i have to give this hotel a one out of five. I would prefer a zero!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DavidN1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississippi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

There is no good, just the bad and the ugly!!! Unless you just can't find another hotel, don't stay here!! This place is filthy, the food is awful and the staff is hostile!! One of our group had her passport stolen while having breakfast, which is awful! The "chef"????? only knows how to cook rice and if you want a cup of coffee with your meal, it's $1.00 extra, as is a coke. The bathrooms are filthy and rarely does all of it work at the same time. There is no heat available and the lobby is open to the street with lots of wind roaring thru it. Just say NO!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wengenlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

This hotel is located only 2 blocks from the city center. It has one of the largest rooms that I have ever seen in the category of single rooms. Their single rooms are almost equal the size of an apartment. They charge for internet wifi internet connection in your room but is free on the computers located in the business center. The bathrooms in the rooms needs some quick fixing as they are a bit old and all the fixtures in them are also not up to the best standards. All in all I would say, it is not bad!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wanderer2011_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights (not by choice... Shakira was playing in Santa Cruz and every other hotel was booked out) and only 1 staff member was nice to us the whole time. The room was spacious but the shower/bath didn't drain so you end up standing in a pool of shower water. We didnt even bother getting up for breakfast and after reading other reviews, am glad we didn't. Oh and you have to pay $5us for the wifi password!
Best avoided for English speakers.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAUW123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2011

this hotel ist just horrible. the rooms are completly run down, seems like there has been no renovation since decades: dripping toilets, loose taps, smelling towels, the beds are way to short (I'm 1,80m), the service is horrible.

Dont stay here

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ecolno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.8 mi away
Las Americas Hotel
Las Americas Hotel
#39 of 49 in Santa Cruz
40 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Tropical Inn
Hotel Tropical Inn
#30 of 49 in Santa Cruz
23 reviews
1.5 mi away
Senses Boutique Hotel
Senses Boutique Hotel
#10 of 49 in Santa Cruz
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Aparthotel Premium Suites Santa Cruz
1.1 mi away
Hotel LP Santa Cruz Centro
Hotel LP Santa Cruz Centro
#11 of 49 in Santa Cruz
287 reviews
1.3 mi away
Residencial Bolivar
Residencial Bolivar
#9 of 48 in Santa Cruz
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arenal

Property: Hotel Arenal
Address: Calle Beni 340, Santa Cruz, Bolivia
Region: Bolivia > Santa Cruz Department > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 49 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Arenal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 4 star hotel, centrally located y very comfortable. We count with suites, double suites, double rooms with two large beds, and single rooms with one large bed. All our rooms have T.V. cable, minibar, air conditioning, Wi-Fi, telephone with direct dialing, and desk. Our establishment counts with parking, pool, Jacuzzi, gym, restaurant, business center and meeting room. We have 27 years in the market and underwent a major remodeling in 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Arenal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Hotel Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing