We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation heaven”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kasane
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pangolin Voyager Houseboat
Ranked #10 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Kasane
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Relaxation heaven”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

3 great days of patrolling the Zambezi River, fishing, bird and animal watching, fishing village visit galore. Food was terrific and guide & staff couldn't do enough for you. Elephants and wildlife overload. A must do for those who want to see what the Kasane district has to offer.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    13
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
31
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kiddy
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We were a group of six travelling together. The food was excellent, vegetarians were catered for. The room was clean and Mike and Laskey and the rest of the crew run a good house boat. There was shade on the upper deck, we did not try the Jacuzzi as the water was too cool in the winter. The drinks flowed and coffee was always available. We saw lot of game and birds and Laskey is very knowledgeable. I hope to return. The border into Namibia is an experience in itself and not to be missed

Room Tip: Room 1 is really good with great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cookekiddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Our stay on the Zambezi Voyager was a wonderful experience.

Highlights included the all day fishing experience, the abundance of game on the banks of the Chobe River, the breathtaking sunsets, and the delicious food the chef presented to us each day. The food was actually the best we had on our 20 day adventure, and our guide Laskey knew exactly where to take us for the most successful fishing experience we have ever had (we caught 13 Tiger Fish!).

The staff were professional and our room was comfortable and clean. The position of the boat on the river allowed us to be away from all the tourists closer to Kasane which was a plus... Only thing is the boat didn't leave the same spot in 4 days. It would have been nice to move around a bit as that is the expectation of being on a boat, however despite this we were spoilt with many excursions on the smaller speed boat exclusively and at any time we wanted.

It is a really positive selling point that the Zambezi Voyager offers a private smaller boat for each couple to use with their guide at their leisure. Very important point for those who would like to avoid crowds and/or schedules for daily activities.

Very special, Thank you Rod and Linda.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SybillaNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tofo
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Photos on website are misleading. Jacuzzi was'nt working at all. One morning had a problem with hot water. There was no shade net on middle or top deck . The food was definately not up to standard. The rooms were not cleaned properly. The staff cannot wait to leave the boat in the evenings they look overworked. The house boat was parked at one spot for the duration of the trip.It looks like they operating on a tight budget.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jakkie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2014

If anyone had to ask my ideal holiday between beach, bush or burg, I'll choose bush every time. But there is something absolutely magical about wetlands.

The house boat on the Chobe River called the Zambezi Voyager was nothing short of breath taking. For as good as any game viewing is along the banks of the Chobe. There is just no matching the viewing from on the river itself. As I am a very keen, albeit amateur wildlife photographer the river excursions that they offer were perfect to allow me to get the most out of my hobby, every day I was able to see either something I had never seen before or something on my list of just must see while on this holiday, all the while living in 5star luxury.

I would recommend this stunning house boat to anyone and am dearly looking forward to my next visit.

Edgar.

Room Tip: The room at the front of the boat was truly amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edgarza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda H, Owner at Pangolin Voyager Houseboat, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Hi, thank you for your trip report. The Zambezi Voyager is a excellent platform to do wildlife photography, the opportunities to get close to the game always amazes me. They don't see you as a threat as opposed to being in a vehicle and simply ignore you. The buffalo don't even have the courtesy to lift their heads and stop eating!!

As a photographer we have some exciting news in that we are building our own photographic boats, the first of which will be ready towards the end of the year, specifically with photographic seats which swing 360 degrees and have tripod arm. This is very exciting for us. Please follow our facebook page for more info on when the boats arrive.

We purchased the houseboat in March 2012 and in the short 2 years have made the most amazing friends, and to get so many referrals and repeat business - so we are looking forward to welcoming you on the boat again and hopefully have the opportunity to sip a G&T on the top deck with you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

My husband and I spend 3 marvellous days on the Nguni Zambezi Voyager. We were met by our personal guide Laskey in Kasane with a tender boat. We had about an hours trip down the river to join the houseboat.Immediately our experience began as it was now afternoon and the animals were all coming down to the river. A great plus - a cooler box on board and we could sip on an ice cold local beer as we headed on down the river pointing out various game.
We arrived at the houseboat to be met by all the friendly staff and our Captain Nicholas. We dropped our luggage and went off for a sunset cruise and more game viewing.
We returned for a shower and then the most delicious 3 course meal. The food was amazing and always beautifully presented.
Mornings were dedicated to Birding and we could not believe Laskey's spotting abilities. The 3 hours out on the tender boat went by so quickly and each time we saw an incredible amount. We were novices at birding and he taught us so much and answered all our endless questions.
Evenings were dedicated to game viewing and once again we had memorable experiences of elephants swimming and playing, large crocodiles in the water or on the banks, many hippos in the water and on the banks, loads of buffalo,baboons playing and teasing the elephants, the roar of lions but unfortunately did not see them. On the last morning we saw the most incredible sight. A Crocodile had killed a Buffalo and dragged it into the water where 3 crocodiles we tucking into the buffalo already. When we turned to look in the river there were about 4 or 5 more crocodiles racing to the scene to claim their share.
Our cabins were comfortable although quite hot on some nights when the fans went off. All the staff on the Nguni Voyager must be complimented on their friendly dispositions and their eagerness to please. This was a wonderful experience for us, We left feeling sad that the 3 days had gone so quickly but hope that one day we can return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annie201954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda K, Owner at Pangolin Voyager Houseboat, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you Anne for your trip report. Its always exciting to hear about the experiences of our guests, we were fortunate not so long ago to see lions who had killed a buffalo on the river edge 200 metres from where the Zambezi Voyager was moored, here it was the hippo who kept coming out the water to chase off the lion. I haven't seen crocodiles on a carcass yet - you have to be in the right place at the right time. We look forward to welcoming you back - the Chobe has that effect on people.

Kind regards

LINDA HERING
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Only re-thinking the entire experience on the Nguni Voyager I realized what the experience really was all about....From end to start we were treated like kings. The food, especially, was fantastic, the trips out on the river on the smaller boats were one of those I will always remember....Africa at it's best! The 'skipper and photographer just knew where to go and what to show us. If you're a keen wildlife photographer, especially bird photography, this is a must on your bucket list!

Room Tip: All rooms area equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheanavdWalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda K, Owner at Pangolin Voyager Houseboat, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you for the kind words regarding your experience on the Zambezi Voyager.
In 2014 we will be building the first of our specialised photography boats to cater to the wildlife photographer. The launch of the boat will coincide with the launch of our Photo Safari packages, please follow on our website, or like us on Facebook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kasane
2.8 mi away
Chobe Safari Lodge
Chobe Safari Lodge
#1 of 2 in Kasane
1,089 reviews
4.4 mi away
Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
3.2 mi away
Chobe Marina Lodge
Chobe Marina Lodge
#1 of 6 in Kasane
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Chobe Water Villas
Chobe Water Villas
#8 of 29 in Caprivi Region
34 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
#6 of 21 in Chobe National Park
273 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ichingo Chobe River Lodge - Zambezi Queen Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pangolin Voyager Houseboat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pangolin Voyager Houseboat

Property: Pangolin Voyager Houseboat
Address: Kasane, Botswana (Formerly Nguni Zambezi Voyager)
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Kasane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Kasane
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pangolin Voyager is a luxuriously appointed river houseboat comprising of 5 spacious en-suite cabins with double or twin bed arrangements. The private bathroom comprises of a shower, basin and toilet. Alongside the Pangolin Voyager are several purpose built tender boats meaning that guests have plenty of activity options throughout the day. Two of the tender boats are custom built photo boats with camera mountings on chairs that rotate 360 degrees. The middle deck consists of 2 private lounges with a small reference library, communal dining area, galley (kitchen), Captains Bridge, viewing deck and and a barbeque with seating area alongside. The Pangolin Voyager's area of operation is home to over 500 species of birds. the Voyager operates on the Chobe & the Upper Zambezi rivers which are not only well known for their prolific game and birding experience, but also house a couple of surprises beneath the water's surface in the form of Tiger fish, Bream & Barbel. Our guides are local experts on how to land the big one. All meals and drinks are included onboard as well as all the activities including general game viewing, fishing, photography and local cultural experiences. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing