We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most memorable safari !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Steenbok Safari

Steenbok Safari
Attraction details
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Most memorable safari !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

A most enriching experience indeed ! I spent 2 days in April 2014 with Maobi and Timothy, our personal chef. Just 3 of us camping out in Chobe N.P. Did 4 game drives over 2 days and got to see all the animals. No rush and free and easy routine, unlike the other "rush" tourist package where their jeeps got to leave the park by 6.30pm.

If you desire the most intimate experience, choose to camp and rough it out. Be prepared to live with "back to basic" sanitation: make-shift shovel for your latrine, and over the head bucket shower for your bathing. The big plus: Maobi chooses his campsite well and within proximity to the animals' concentration. So each morning, you get to see animals up close and personal. Frankly, I don't think I need to step into another zoo in my life !

On a personal note, there is a personal touch from Maobi. I would call it 5 star service in the bush !!!

My 2 days was one I will remember for many years to come !!

You cannot go wrong with Steenbok ! Great job Maobi !

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    4
    2
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great value for price!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

I booked a Chobe day trip with Steenbok Safari because of all the good reviews on tripadvisor. And we had a great time, we got picked up at our hotel in Victoria Falls and we were brought to the border with Botswana where the driver helped us with the customs procedures. On the other side we were picked up by Moabi who brought us to the cruise. The cruise was a lot of fun and we saw all kinds of animals (mostly Hippos and Crocodiles). After the cruise we had lunch at the Chobe Safari Lodge, great food! When we finished our lunch we did the game drive, we had a private tour since we were the only people who had booked for that day. What a great experience! We told the guide that we had not yet seen a lion in the wild and he told us that lions are most active at night so that it could be pretty hard to spot one during the day. Only half an hour into our trip he found lion footprints in the sand. He started following the prints and he found the lion hidden in the bushes. It was great to finally see one after not seeing any lions in Kruger National Park. Moabi is very knowledgeable and really shows you the best things Chobe has to offer!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris_1989NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Catching the big cats in Chobe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

The wild life safari experience is not complete without sleeping in the wild - so we went camping in Chobe National Park, Botswana. Elephants stomped through the camp site at night and hyenas laughed in the distance. We hooked up with Mr Moabi Marambo, owner and manager of Steenbok Safaris, a charming but rock hard wild life expert in his early forties who was Indiana Jones mixed with an expert ornithologist who managed to, not only track the big cats, but also to explain the complexities of Botswana's wildlife. By observing nature and watching and listening to the animals he could interpret and predict their next move. The best part of camping is that you are close to the jungle action. There is really nothing standing between you and the animals you are sharing the forest with. Having a reliable guide with expert knowledge makes it a real five star experience.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank caroline j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Plata, Argentina
1 review
“The best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

moabi is the best guide in southern africa! he is an excellent person, very knowledgeable, patient and kind. shaa is also a great chef.

Helpful?
Thank martin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wollongong
1 review
“Awesome adventure with steenbok safaris”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

My family had a fantastic adventure with Maobi from steenbok safaris in September 2013. We started in Kasane, camping through chobe, Savuti and the Moremi game reserve, before flying from Maun back to Kasane. Maobi is a very experienced guide and knows all the animals back to front. We were the only ones on the safari, which made for a very personal experience in the African bush. Camping in the bush with all the animals around is an amazing experience. Our 10 year old son had the time of his life. We also booked accommodation, transfers and Chobe river cruise with Maobi. The river cruise is a must do in Chobe, seeing the animals from another perspective. If you are looking for a personal experience in the African bush with a local company, I would definitely recommend steenbok.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank gary d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Steenbok Safari also viewed

 

Been to Steenbok Safari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing