We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
River cruise in Chobe is really a Fantastic experience !!!

River cruise in Chobe is really a Fantastic experience !!! We have seen many animals, birds... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
Ignatious E
,
Kampala, Uganda
River Life

We enjoyed an amazing afternoon cruise along the river and spotted so many animals along the way... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
MsLiz64
,
Melbourne, Australia
Read all 427 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Kasane
from US$225.00
More Info
from US$2,382.00
More Info
from US$195.00
More Info
from US$1,380.00
More Info
Reviews (427)
Filter reviews
427 results
Traveller rating
301
98
23
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
301
98
23
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews zambezi queen boat cruise chobe river local village great sunset bird life cape buffalo village visit hour trip princess house tiger fishing elephants swimming fish eagles view game stayed longer comfortable beds three hours
Filter
Updating list...
181 - 186 of 427 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2016 via mobile

We had the good fortune of staying on the Chobe Princess Houseboat for 2 nights in mid May 2016.
Chugging down the river was magical and we were lucky that nature provided us with superb viewing of bird life, elephants in their hundreds, crocodiles, hippos, baboons, lions, Impala, monitor lizard and warthog. Some of the sightings were from the motorised dingy so we were at quite close quarters. At no stage did we feel unsafe as the guides were so skilled at their jobs that they respected the animals and were very aware of animal behaviour. They genuinely went out of their way to ensure that we were given the best experience possible. This applied to all areas of service from all staff. Harris, the Manager, Orbit our guide and Jen the cook who were the most visible of the 5 staff.
The food and drinks were excellent and plentiful. We chose the Chobe Princess because it was smaller than the other houseboats on offer. There were 5 rooms on the boat; our room was very basic and clean - we noted that some rooms had balconies and the rooms were of differing sizes. I suspect we had the most basic of the rooms however with a big window overlooking out to the river bank and plenty of areas on the upper deck to relax we were not unhappy. The water in the bathroom was not always hot which may be an issue for some guests but for us it was part of the whole wonderful rustic experience. We didn't use the spa which was available on deck - I don't think there was an expectation that anyone would use it as the water was cold and it didn't look prepared for use. Again we didn't mind as we were too busy during the day and the evenings were cool.
All mosquito and insect spray was available in the rooms and on hand in the dingy however we were not troubled by any flying, crawling insects at any stage.
The efficiency at all times was outstanding. We were met at all connections and our transfers conducted seamlessly. It was a truly wonderful experience and will remain etched in our memory for a very long time to come.

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank KazinSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2016 via mobile

We did a 3 hour late afternoon cruise on the river with these guys and had a really enjoyable experience. Elephants, Hippos, Crocodiles and great sunset all added to the occasion. BYO snacks and drinks was a bonus

Date of experience: June 2016
1  Thank GaryandLesleyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2016

We have been on the Chobe river for a boat safari before but only for a few hours. Cuising up and down the Chobe with the Zambezi Queen for three nights was something else. The boat is luxury, beautiful decorated with an open view on the upper level. Staff was very friendly (exept to the female manager who was mostly in a grumpy mood), food was good and the room with the balcony lovely even though very small - but at night when you opened the window you almost felt to sleep in the open and could see the beautiful African starry sky.
One morning we had a private game cruise with our guide Lennon and it was extraordinary to take pictures of the landscape and the animals. He has even gotten very excited when we finally found a pel's fishing owl.
Highly recommend that boat cruise as a relaxing part of your safari.

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank gabi282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2016

Spent two nights on the fantastic Zambezi Queen.
What a wonderfully different way to view game, whether is was from the small tender boats which makes viewing up close and personal, or on board with a chilled glass wine watching the beautiful scenery passing by, Africa at its best.
The sunsets beyond beautiful. The bird life is amazing. The boat itself is very well appointed. Very comfortable rooms with wonderful deck to enjoy. The main area is beautiful, all open plan with big comfy chairs to sink into. The food was great and all the staff where always on call to assist.
A very well run set up.
The transfers where handled very well.

All in all a wonderful experience.
Would suggest down 3 nights.

Date of experience: April 2016
1  Thank mmcella2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2016

We stayed for 3 nights and 4 days it was a super amazing experience. The staff was always friendly and helpful and we had some good laughs with them especially on our last night. Food was good but the selection was very limited which is also understandable as everything has the brought into the country.

Date of experience: May 2016
1  Thank 506baba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews