We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we enjoyed our stay, food was good”
Review of The Old House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Old House
Ranked #2 of 8 Kasane B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2013

we enjoyed our stay, food was good. Wifi worked well we enjoyed our stay, food was good. Wifi worked well we enjoyed our stay, food was good. Wifi worked well we enjoyed our stay, food was good. Wifi worked well we enjoyed our stay, food was good. Wifi worked well we enjoyed our stay, food was good. Wifi worked well we enjoyed our stay, food was good. we enjoyed our stay, food was good. Wifi worked well worked well we enjoyed our stay, food was good. Wifi worked well

Room Tip: We had a front room, early evening street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jossvw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luke R, General Manager at The Old House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Glad to hear all was well and food was good. Many thanks The Old House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2013

After a lot of research we chose Old House for our 4 night stay in Kasane. Tilly was most helpful in arranging this and the other staff we found to be cheerful, willing and gave good service. The rooms and ambience were good and the restaurant serves good food - all at reasonable prices.Tilly arranged our excursions - morning games drive, evening boat safari, a trip to Victoria falls, an all day game drive as well transfers to and from the airport. We loved the town and everything about the area and plan to return to do it all again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brobb100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luke R, General Manager at The Old House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

I'm glad to here that you will be back again and we made your stay a fantastic an "excellent choice". We wish you a pleasant journey and see you again one day. The Old House team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Coming from Zimbabwe during 'suicide season' it was good to have airconditioning in the room and the trappings of a modern room. Food at the restaurant was average, limited selection, service was slightly better. Book tours from them - river cruise, half-day game drive - both went very well.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jade55ta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luke R, General Manager at The Old House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Many thanks for the kind review. Yes the air-conditioning a great in the hot months here. Safe travels The Old House team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed at The Old House as a prelude to our trip in to the Okavango Delta. We stayed 3 nights and booked our activities through them too. We did a river boat trip, a full day Game Drive in the Chobe National Park and a day in Victoria Falls where we went rafting.

The guest house- friendly, clean, good food, wonderful staff. Excellent, thanks for the hospitality, Luke.

The tours- Professional, fun, safe, also excellent. Thank you to Tracey and Shadrack, our guides, we saw some great game although the lions evaded us that day. We were the only two on all of the activities which was fantastic, espcially when you saw the other vehicles with 6 people in them. The rafting we booked through Shearwater in Vic Falls and the reservation was made through the 3rd party transfer agent used by The Old House. This also went well, the transfer agent (Stan) made a special arrangement to collect us early, got us through immigration at the border smoothly and dropped us to the rafting company on time for our breath-taking river rafting.

All in all the Old House has got it dialed in, good family run operation. Its no 5 star resort, but we loved the feel of the place and everything was exactly what we wanted and exceeded our expectations, you cant say fairer than that.

Room Tip: Rooms clse to reception have better wifi signal. We stayed in Room 5, riht beside reception and also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s1monmar5h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luke R, General Manager at The Old House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

I'm glad to hear that we exceeded your expectations to make it "good times". Many thanks for the wonderful review and hope see you here again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

My stay in this small house was perfect. The room was nice, obviously decorated with dedication, and very comfortable. The lodge area is small but cosy. Internet access is provided without extra cost. Organisation of boat trips and safaris is perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Birgit H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luke R, General Manager at The Old House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Many thanks for the kind review, We will keep it a good house when you return. Kind regards from the old house team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Beautiful place, nice atmosphere, I was there only 3 days, but i suppose it would be easy to spend more time, everything is very quiet an relaxed, the atmosphere is absolutely great.
Not so good is the food served in the restaurant, the hamburgers are ok, but the steak was about the worst i have ever eaten in my life.
The staff is very friendly and helpful, they really take good care of you.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinF229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luke R, General Manager at The Old House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Many thanks, we will ensure our steak suppliers will improve on the quality of food we serve. Many thanks and safe travels The Old House Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The Old House made us feel like we were in southern island because of its color and slow atmosphere. Since we thought the afternoon cruise was worth for just one time experience, we did canoeing and fishing on our second day and it was fun. The restaurant inside Old House is very relaxing and the food was nice. It gets pretty cold in the morning and night, but you can feel African air during daytime. If you want to spend peaceful days in Botswana, this is definitely the place for you.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Makachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kasane hotels
0.9 mi away
Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
5.1 mi away
River View Lodge
River View Lodge
#4 of 26 in Kasane
121 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chobe Marina Lodge
Chobe Marina Lodge
#1 of 8 in Kasane
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Elephant Valley Lodge
Elephant Valley Lodge
#8 of 26 in Kasane
251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chobe River Cottages
Chobe River Cottages
#7 of 26 in Kasane
151 reviews
0 mi away
Elephant Trail Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old House

Address: President Avenue | Between Hunters Mall and the Golf course, Kasane, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Kasane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Kasane
Price Range: £109 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE OLD HOUSE is a small family owned and run Bed and Breakfast situated in Kasane, overlooking the Chobe River. Conviniently located within walking distance to all shops and a 10 minute boat ride to the entrance of the Chobe National Park. We offer accommodation, boat cruises, game drives, fishing and canoe trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Old House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing