We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday”
Review of Chobe Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chobe Safari Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kasane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Marvellous hotel in exotic location. Housekeeping slipshod, had to complain about non-appearance of towels, tea& coffee, bed making etc on 50% of the days there. Having said that - a really wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BazzerWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

767 - 773 of 1,187 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2012 via mobile

Brilliant location, huge open plan building excellent vistas of Chobe River. Dining evening and breakfast are buffet style, excellent value and huge variety. Rather than the mass crowd booze cruise sunset boat trips we opted for private smaller specialized birding and wildlife boat trip. Our guide KT was gracious and very knowledgeable about bird IDs. This was a highlight of our 2 week Bots adventure. Only complaint we found was that for a 4 star hotel the room aircons were poor ancient and very noisy and NOT consistent with the upmarket appearance of the rest of the hotel. Also room TVs were smallest & cheapest junk possible also not up to standard noting of course that TV is not what you come to Chobe for anyway

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GerryGiraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Chobe Safari was the largest establishment that we stayed at on our African odyssey. It is a little like staying at a midsized 4star hotel in Queensland. The food is good, the service and rooms are reasonable but there is of course less attention paid to you than in a smaller establishment. From our brief investigations, this would seem to be the best value accommodation in the Chobe area and its location on the park boundary mean you have direct access to it along the river.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulMeaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Looking at other reviews, we were also struck by the surly GG - however the lodge management are excellent and when we complained about the dodgy hot water, fixed it immediately and gave us bottles of wine. The game drives were mixed - outsourced and therefore hit and miss as to how good the guide was. We were lucky with one and had an awesome time. The river trip is not to be missed, specially in the afternoon with the elephants in the water.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

After driving in from Zambia we arrived at the lodge near to 10 AM. We were informed by a very surly young man named GG that our room was not ready and it would be ready on precisely at noon. we killed time and at about 11:30 I asked if the room was ready. I was told NO that it would only be ready at noon. At noon he was on the phone and I waited until he was off so he could see if the room was available.... he didnt even check he just gave me the key and laughed. I told him that I provide input to a large group of expats living in Africa and that my review to them would not be good. Activities staff must have been related to him they were totally useless and dictatorial.

Rooms were decent and spacious and WERE ALWAYS MADE UP BY 9AM!!! GG, hope your read this and also take some training on guest relations.

The visit to Chobe was well worth the visit, the food (all buffet) was ok at best but to be fair I dont like buffets and I already came in pissed off.

Room Tip: You wont get help from GG, he's useless
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank CJPSanRamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Amazing, great rooms, great staff, great food...amazing on the Chobe River!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kari4princess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Nice place to stay while in Chobe, it is greatly located. Stayed in rooms that are facing the river, which I must say are big and spacious. There are great views from the restuarant as you relaxed and enjoy a cold drink. Safari trips where good, but just could not wake up very early in the morning for the game drive.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dolphin01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kasane hotels
1.9 mi away
Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
0 mi away
No photo provided
TraveLodge
#3 of 3 in Kasane
1 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chobe Marina Lodge
Chobe Marina Lodge
#1 of 8 in Kasane
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
River View Lodge
River View Lodge
#4 of 26 in Kasane
120 reviews
7.2 mi away
Elephant Valley Lodge
Elephant Valley Lodge
#8 of 26 in Kasane
251 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chobe River Cottages
Chobe River Cottages
#7 of 26 in Kasane
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chobe Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chobe Safari Lodge

Address: Border of Chobe National Park, Kasane, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Kasane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kasane
Price Range: £75 - £493 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chobe Safari Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Chobe Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chobe Safari Hotel Kasane
Chobe Safari Kasane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing