We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small but great hotel right in the thick of the action”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chobe Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chobe Safari Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kasane
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Small but great hotel right in the thick of the action”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Chobe Safari Park is, in a word, massive. The Chobe river runs through the national park and on the banks of the river you find the Chobe Safari Lodge. With activities running throughout the day you are rarely left with anything to do.

The activities include jeep safaris and safaris by boat. Both are very interesting and run three times a day from 6am-6pm.

The food is also of very high standard. With a low number of guests at the hotel the breakfast are buffet but the evening meals included a bbq and on other occasions food being prepared to your fancy, right in front of you and that was for every diner.

You will only need to stay at this lodge for a short amount of time as, when you've seen 'the big four' (minus the rhino,which is no longer in the park) it can get repetitive.

The Guides are all very polite and informative.

Thumbs up.

Room Tip: There aren't many rooms. All looked great and had good balcony views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    452
    158
    47
    26
See reviews for
229
438
53
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waringstown
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights in July and were delighted with the reception we received, the quality of the room and food and the overall ambience of the resort. It was a 5 min drive into Chobe Park to se the animals,and they and another hotel do have a monopoly of the market, hence the high prices etc. You do however get what you pay for and this was top notch! I imagine if you stayed longer, your account would be a good bit lower but this was a once in a lifetime safari experience so go for it!! Entrance to the park was only £10 per person so that was good value. Plenty of animals to see and right up,close.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waringstownman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We spent a very interesting and comfortable week in the Chobe Safari Lodge. The room was very spacious and overlooked gardens well stocked with wild warthogs, monkeys and mongooses - but don't leave the windows open! The restaurant provided a high quality "eat as much as you like" buffet with lots of different dishes to choose from. Lunch in the bar overlooking the river was exceptionally good value, food and drink being much cheaper than in the UK. All of the staff were friendly and exceptionally professional. But, do not change money at the reception - the rates are awful. Go up the road a hundred yards and change it in the bank, who will happily accept small amounts (£20+if you want) and offer a competitive rate.

The game drives in the adjacent national park provided herds of elephants and African buffalo - we stopped within ten feet for photographs - as well as herds of impala and kudu and close up of leopard and not so close ups of lion. Colourful birds in abundance. A good camera with at least 24 optical zoom is essential for top quality photographs, particularly of the birds which are easily scared off. Do not, repeat do not, underestimate how freezing cold it is first thing in the morning in a fast moving open topped four wheel drive - gloves, a wooly hat, wind proof jacket and hood on top of at least three layers is a must! The game drives later in the day on the river are not only relaxing but produced herds of hippos and elephants and a host of colourful bird life.

The hotel is situated near local supermarkets and allow opportunities for people watching and conversation with the friendly locals while waiting at the checkout. The nearby pharmacist provides almost the services of a GP, at no cost.

A great experience all round.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are large and well furnished and overlook the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Owen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
166 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

It is a larger lodge which has good accomondation and good food. Nothing special or extraordinary, but really good. I would consider the highlights to be the bar area to visit the sunset directly from the lodge as well as the boat excursion. They are offered from the lodge and thus the guides seem to be very interested in offering a great experience, whereas the game drives are done by a third party game drive company and the guides seemed to be more interested in the business than in making it a great experience. The lodge itself has large rooms, we had a family suite with two rooms, but it is a little bit aged by now. The curio shot offers a wide range of products and the area itself has everything you need to relax and enjoy the time between the excursions. The lunch on the porch was great and most of the time the staff was helpful and friendly. However, in a lodge this size you cannot expect the personal experience you get in smaller lodges and you cannot expect this kind of personal service either. We would recommend the lodge anyway, as it is one of the closest to the Chobe park and offers boat trips leaving directly at the lodge - and as said, these boat trips are really making the difference and are a must when visiting Chobe.

Room Tip: We had a family suite with two rooms on the lower floor with direct access to the garden. It was wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max_3210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

If you are into bird watching this is the place to make your "camp". Going on boat trips into Chobe is easy. We stayed two nights. Staff very helpful, with checking and arranging activities. The Lodge prices are very affordable – i.e. prices for food and drink is very reasonable. Food is good at the lodge (breakfast and dinner) , but if you want some snacks - there is a small shopping centre 200m away.
No WIFI in the rooms, only close to reception - if you choose table (breakfast, dinner) you can check your mails ect. (Note - it is not the fastest but I got 160kB download -so it is usable to stay connected to the world).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed Chobe Safari club for 3 night comfortable rooms . Staff friendly . The game drives where amazing we where lucky on our first drive to see lions feeding on a baby elephant , and a leopard resting in a near by tree . The guide did extremely well to position our vehicle in a perfect position after negotiations with other drivers The river cruises where amazing the concentration of animals was mind blowing .The guides where very informative and would answer all the questions we asked and giving plenty of information . The staff at the lodge where helpful . Staff in the restaurant attentive and good variety of food .

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

After several days camping from the Kalahari to Savuti, the Chobe Safari Lodge was a great re-introduction to comfort, and the power showers were bliss!
The Safari Rooms were a short walk from the main part of the Hotel, but were not isolated and were comfortable with plenty of room. Standing on the verandah and watching a band of about thirty Mongoose chattering past the Warthogs and Baboons on the lawn was memorable.
The evening meal was better than the 3 star rating for the Hotel, with a good range of choice.
Having been on Safari for about ten days, we did not take up the safari option along the river from the Hotel, but the reports of what was seen was good, including a Sable Antelope we had not managed to see. I thought the river trips were far too hectic, several boats chasing about were actually disturbing some of the wildlife, particularly a small group of elephants swimming.

I thought the Hotel fully deserved its 3 Star status, and perhaps a bit more. I would return here.

Room Tip: The Safari Rooms are better appointed then the River View rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuffolkIvory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kasane hotels
1.9 mi away
Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
Chobe Marina Lodge
Chobe Marina Lodge
#1 of 6 in Kasane
408 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Old House
The Old House
#2 of 6 in Kasane
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
83.0 mi away
The Big 5 Chobe Lodge
The Big 5 Chobe Lodge
#15 of 24 in Kasane
21 reviews
32.5 mi away
Chobe River Cottages
Chobe River Cottages
#6 of 24 in Kasane
125 reviews
5.7 mi away
River View Lodge
River View Lodge
#8 of 24 in Kasane
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chobe Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chobe Safari Lodge

Property: Chobe Safari Lodge
Address: Border of Chobe National Park, Kasane, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Kasane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kasane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chobe Safari Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Chobe Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chobe Safari Hotel Kasane
Chobe Safari Kasane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing