We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chobe River Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Chimoio
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Sorry, but Kasane is a bit depressing. Despite its great location on the banks of the river and its principal raison d'être as one of the main gateways into Botswana’s amazing Parks, the town has little to offer. Tourists pass through or use an overnight hotel as springboard for the area. If business does take you there (if you really can’t do it on skype) then the Chobe River Cottages are a really good option. The cottages are self-catering and more than adequately equipped. They are spacious, with a lounge, kitchen and breakfast bar, bedroom(s) and bathroom. Facilities include a dipping pool, bbq, safe parking and lots of help and advice if needed. An easy stroll from the two or three places in Kasane recommended for people who want someone else to cook, or from the shops for those who want to make use of the kitchen, the Cottages are also ideally located. Oh yes, and in a town in which prices for accommodation are generally high, Chobe River Cottages represent decent value.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MozEcoTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronwen W, Owner at Chobe River Cottages, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for posting your comprehensive and informative review. Yes, Kasane can be a little depressing we who live here tend to live beyond it. The joy of living on the edge of arguably the greatest game reserve in the world compensates for it's inadaquacies. We have found that in experiencing the thrill of nature makes it easier to forgive the poor town planning of man.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    36
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
38
53
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thabazimbi, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I have stayed at Chobe River Cottages a few times and have never been disappointed. Cozy little lodge at an excellent location, close to shops and amenities. The staff are always friendly and willing to assist. Well worth a stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cobus v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronwen W, Owner at Chobe River Cottages, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
It was a great pleasure to have you stay once again. Thank you for your kind comments and for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to making your future stay as enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed four nights here and loved it. The cottages are comfortable, and the kitchen is fully equipped. There is secure parking available as well as free (but slow) wifi. The cottages are located a few blocks from the town center, making it easy to get groceries and run any other errands. Also, they helped us book tours and gave great recommendations of other things to do (note: we did one game drive through Dream Safaris, which we would not recommend). Overall, highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ottertravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronwen W, Owner at Chobe River Cottages, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your review and for your helpful comments. We apologize for the less than satisfactory Game drive. They are not our preferred supplier and we will take the necessary steps to see that they are excluded from our list. Please come back to our piece of paradise one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Excellent facility - modern and well equiped and would highly recommend it!. Boi was extremely helpful in setting up activities for us. Will definitely go back there. The visit my the elephants in the evening was quite an experience.Great viewing point.

Room Tip: for a family with little ones the room near the pool is good as you can watch them from the patio :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronwen W, Owner at Chobe River Cottages, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
We are so glad that you enjoyed our birds. We have done everything possible to encourage them to some and live in the gardens. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for giving fellow travellers and indication of what we have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Walking distance to shops, restaurants, banks. Very clean, new fully contained cottages among nice gardens, sometimes visited by warthogs. Friendly, professional service. Will stay again during my next visit to Kasane.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia42Cairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronwen W, Owner at Chobe River Cottages, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you enjoyed our delightful warthogs. The area in front of the lodge was especially planted with their favourit grass to encourage them to visit. They have also made themselves very comfortable by creating their own mud bath in the lawn. Please come back soon as promised. This year we had elephants visit as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I stayed at Chobe River Cottages 3 days earlier this month. The location is good and the property and rooms are well kept. The owners and staff were great and assisted me with tours and transfers. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: If a strong internet connection is important take a room closer to the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank texcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish W, Owner at Chobe River Cottages, responded to this review, 29 December 2016
Oh Dear! I just found your review unanswered. My sincere apologies for not responding at the time. Thank you for staying and for the lovely review.
Regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuremberg, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We have been in Chobe River cottages for 2 days due to the fact that we were not happy with our originally vooked accomodation. We enjoyed our stay in Chobe River cottages very much. The Chalets are well equipped and very clean. All necessary utensils are availabe and the rooms are kept in very good condition.The outside garden is nice - a place to relax and a bird's paradise. Chobe Riverfront is close and easy to reach. We enjoyed our stay very much and would come back anytime.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johannes G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronwen W, Owner at Chobe River Cottages, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
We are so glad that you enjoyed our birds. We have done everything possible to encourage them to some and live in the gardens. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for giving fellow travellers and indication of what we have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kasane hotels
32.5 mi away
Chobe Safari Lodge
Chobe Safari Lodge
#1 of 2 in Kasane
1,089 reviews
33.8 mi away
Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
38.2 mi away
River View Lodge
River View Lodge
#6 of 26 in Kasane
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.8 mi away
Chobe Marina Lodge
Chobe Marina Lodge
#1 of 6 in Kasane
435 reviews
33.4 mi away
The Old House
The Old House
#2 of 6 in Kasane
206 reviews
38.3 mi away
The Big 5 Chobe Lodge
The Big 5 Chobe Lodge
#14 of 26 in Kasane
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chobe River Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chobe River Cottages

Property: Chobe River Cottages
Address: Lot 724 President Avenue, Kasane, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Kasane
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Kasane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chobe River Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chobe River Cottages offers beautiful self catering accommodation along the Chobe River in Kasane Botswana. Each unit has a fully equipped kitchen, bathroom, and beautifully furnished bedroom. The comfortable lounges, fitted with DSTV, offer a pull out couch so that each cottage can sleep up to four people and are ideal for families. Facilities include a swimming pool and wifi connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Chobe River Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing