We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place and very supportive staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chobe River Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2014

After an endless long busdrive to Kasane without a booking for accommodation I luckily ended up at the Chobe River Cottages.
I stood there for one night in an awesome two room cottage. After entering the cottage you directly move into the nice living room with cozy couches, tv and fan. The open kitchen is directly connected to the living room and includes everything you need to cater yourself.
The bedroom offers a very comfortable double bed in which I slept very well. This room also provides a fan. The bathroom is like all the other rooms very spacious and extremly clean.
The manager of this place is a very friendly and supportive lady. She and her team help you with everything you need. They help to arrange trips to Chobe Nationalpark and provide all information you need.
So I can highly recommend the Chobe River Cottages and I would always stay there again! Thank you for everything!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronwen W, Owner at Chobe River Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

How very kind of you to take the time to review Chobe River Cottages. We particularly like it when weary travelers find their way to us so that the peace and tranquility we have aspired to create can restore their souls. Come again soon we would love to see you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

Sorry, but Kasane is a bit depressing. Despite its great location on the banks of the river and its principal raison d'être as one of the main gateways into Botswana’s amazing Parks, the town has little to offer. Tourists pass through or use an overnight hotel as springboard for the area. If business does take you there (if you really can’t do it on skype) then the Chobe River Cottages are a really good option. The cottages are self-catering and more than adequately equipped. They are spacious, with a lounge, kitchen and breakfast bar, bedroom(s) and bathroom. Facilities include a dipping pool, bbq, safe parking and lots of help and advice if needed. An easy stroll from the two or three places in Kasane recommended for people who want someone else to cook, or from the shops for those who want to make use of the kitchen, the Cottages are also ideally located. Oh yes, and in a town in which prices for accommodation are generally high, Chobe River Cottages represent decent value.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MozEcoTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronwen W, Owner at Chobe River Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for posting your comprehensive and informative review. Yes, Kasane can be a little depressing we who live here tend to live beyond it. The joy of living on the edge of arguably the greatest game reserve in the world compensates for it's inadaquacies. We have found that in experiencing the thrill of nature makes it easier to forgive the poor town planning of man.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I have stayed at Chobe River Cottages a few times and have never been disappointed. Cozy little lodge at an excellent location, close to shops and amenities. The staff are always friendly and willing to assist. Well worth a stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cobus v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronwen W, Owner at Chobe River Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

It was a great pleasure to have you stay once again. Thank you for your kind comments and for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to making your future stay as enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed four nights here and loved it. The cottages are comfortable, and the kitchen is fully equipped. There is secure parking available as well as free (but slow) wifi. The cottages are located a few blocks from the town center, making it easy to get groceries and run any other errands. Also, they helped us book tours and gave great recommendations of other things to do (note: we did one game drive through Dream Safaris, which we would not recommend). Overall, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ottertravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronwen W, Owner at Chobe River Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for your review and for your helpful comments. We apologize for the less than satisfactory Game drive. They are not our preferred supplier and we will take the necessary steps to see that they are excluded from our list. Please come back to our piece of paradise one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Excellent facility - modern and well equiped and would highly recommend it!. Boi was extremely helpful in setting up activities for us. Will definitely go back there. The visit my the elephants in the evening was quite an experience.Great viewing point.

Room Tip: for a family with little ones the room near the pool is good as you can watch them from the patio :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronwen W, Owner at Chobe River Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

We are so glad that you enjoyed our birds. We have done everything possible to encourage them to some and live in the gardens. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for giving fellow travellers and indication of what we have to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Walking distance to shops, restaurants, banks. Very clean, new fully contained cottages among nice gardens, sometimes visited by warthogs. Friendly, professional service. Will stay again during my next visit to Kasane.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvia42Cairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronwen W, Owner at Chobe River Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you enjoyed our delightful warthogs. The area in front of the lodge was especially planted with their favourit grass to encourage them to visit. They have also made themselves very comfortable by creating their own mud bath in the lawn. Please come back soon as promised. This year we had elephants visit as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I stayed at Chobe River Cottages 3 days earlier this month. The location is good and the property and rooms are well kept. The owners and staff were great and assisted me with tours and transfers. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: If a strong internet connection is important take a room closer to the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank texcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish W, Owner at Chobe River Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2016

Oh Dear! I just found your review unanswered. My sincere apologies for not responding at the time. Thank you for staying and for the lovely review.
Regards
Trish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kasane
0.8 mi away
Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
5.1 mi away
River View Lodge
River View Lodge
#4 of 26 in Kasane
120 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chobe Marina Lodge
Chobe Marina Lodge
#1 of 8 in Kasane
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Old House
The Old House
#2 of 8 in Kasane
225 reviews
4.1 mi away
Kwalape Safari Lodge
Kwalape Safari Lodge
#21 of 21 in Chobe National Park
138 reviews
7.2 mi away
Elephant Valley Lodge
Elephant Valley Lodge
#8 of 26 in Kasane
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chobe River Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chobe River Cottages

Address: Lot 724 President Avenue, Kasane, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Kasane
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Kasane
Price Range: £106 - £671 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chobe River Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chobe River Cottages offers beautiful self catering accommodation along the Chobe River in Kasane Botswana. Each unit has a fully equipped kitchen, bathroom, and beautifully furnished bedroom. The comfortable lounges, fitted with DSTV, offer a pull out couch so that each cottage can sleep up to four people and are ideal for families. Facilities include a swimming pool and wifi connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chobe River Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing