We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly special place - the first of it's kind and level in Kasane”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chobe Bakwena Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A truly special place - the first of it's kind and level in Kasane”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

My stay at this hidden gem over Christmas prompted me to write my first-ever review on Tripadvisor! I chose Chobe Bakwena Lodge after searching for something different from places I have previously stayed in the Kasane region. Coming from Botswana and with my best friend visiting the country for the first time I was looking for an experience that would be atmospheric, unique and as close to nature as we could be - but with comfort! I am so happy that I took a chance on a smaller, newer lodge because I discovered what I can now say is my number 1 place to stay in Botswana. What makes the lodge unique is that it transcends the usual luxurious (and highly expensive) exclusive lodges characteristic of Botswana's higher-end tourism scene. It does so by combining personalised attention to detail, a genuine passion for and knowledge of the surrounding wilderness and a strong sense of the ideal of mentoring the staff to deliver top rate service. Above all, the warmth and considerate nature of the whole team at Bakwena, their passion for their work and commitment to providing visitors with a beautiful experience are what sets the lodge apart. On top of all that it is an excellent value, affordable option. I couldn't recommend it more!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chazha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    27
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
49
124
16
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gaborone, Botswana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

I have been to Chobe many times and stayed in quite a few of the lodges. Our intention was to stay one night in several lodges, however we stayed four nights in Bakwena Lodge as it was just perfect in every aspect.
The rooms are stunning with views that you would only get from the most expensive lodges in the area, your huge bed over looks the beautiful Chobe river, what a way to wake up! Indoor and outdoor shower. WiFi in the common area and a beautiful natural styled pool.
The staff are the best, with smiles all round and so helpful.
Whilst there the Staff performed a Boma (a traditional welcoming ceremony filled with dance and singing). For my fried whos first time it was in Africa, this really was a magical experience.
The Lodge has a adopted and Eco ethos of low impact, minimising waste, and renewable energies. In order to preserve such areas of outstanding beauty this ethos must become common practice and Bakwena have this at their heart.
I could not recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Danga D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

This a a true gem. The attention to detail and planning put into their labour of love by the lodge owners, Adam and Jen is tangible from arrival. The staff were friendly and efficient and are recruited from locals and mentored throughout by the owners. We rested and ate well. Thanks to tripadvisor we found this hideaway on the banks of the Chobe river for our dream African Christmas. This lodge comprises of only ten rooms contained in ten seperate "rondavels" (which is a luxury westernised version of the African-styled round hut with high pitched thatched roofs) with en suite bathroom in it and a private outdoor shower leading from it. We will be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in number 7 which had a great view from its deck and was very private... but all the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eldridgevn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Got their (transport motorbike) the 24 December 2013 it was as hotter than hot. They greet us with welcome drink and face cloth that was only the beginning of a really good stay home away from home. The owners (Jen & Adam) were like family from the moment we met. The food well prepared. The rooms very clean. Nothing to complain about every was perfect. Thanks again to Bakwena Lodge staff.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

What a find! After 24 nights in Southern Africa, we took a vote from our travel group and this was the clear favorite.

If you like budget-friendly luxury, not superfluous opulence, and seek to patronize establishments that go the extra mile to be ecologically sustainable and support local community, then this couldn't be more fitting. The more I learned about the coming-together of this lodge and how it's run, the more I was impressed with the detail-oriented and ethical efforts. And it's a gem that's still being polished with forthcoming additions (e.g. additional solar powering; waste conversion; water purification; bio-diesel) as it's still very new - about a year or so.

Without TripAdvisor I would have missed this as it's outside of Kasane, and nicely located away from the tourist masses (about 15 minutes) and conveniently near the border when coming/going to Vic Falls. Adam (the owner) was extremely helpful with my numerous back-and-forth email questions and fluid scheduling changes. In retrospect I wish that we had stayed more nights as it was the best value overall and left us feeling very content about our expenditure. They even arranged a very economical taxi (Peter) to drive us to the Namibian border (Ngoma gate) and pick us up days later to return to Kasane airport.

Likes:
- Employs locals of the nearby village - they all walk to work - and uses only locals products whenever possible to reduce carbon footprint and invest in local businesses.
- Ecologically built and run (sustainable wood and paints, solar-heated water, LED bulbs, recycling, furniture and decorations from local artisans).
- Pool is chemical-free and the water is sourced from the Chobe river, refreshingly different.
- The included steak dinner was excellent (another 'best' of our trip, surprisingly) and the greens are grown on the property, kudos to the chef!
- Outside and inside showers; best of both worlds and lovely to be au naturale, in nature.
- Friendly staff: enjoyed their welcome song and persistent helpfulness.
- Beautiful architecture: lodge overlooking the river, as well as each unit with its own feeling of privacy.
- Great night's sleep.
- Underscoring extras: included laundry washing kit; plenty of outlets and lots of natural light in each well-designed unit - making great use of space; cozy, fair-priced bar; complimentary afternoon snacks and drinks.

Dislikes:
- We were pleased with plentiful and varied game viewing our evening boat tour - currently operated by a partner company - but underwhelmed by our guide.

Room Tip: Further away from the main lodge (numbered from 1-9, starting from the lodge) ensures feeling 'a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WorldAdventurer_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We, a group of three, stayed at Chobe Bakwena for only three nights. Upon our arrival we were greater with warm face cloths and fruit cocktails. This immediately set the tone of our amazing stay. The lodge is situated alongside the Chobe river. All the rooms were wonderfully designed and very clean. During the late afternoon our beds were turned down and the mosquito nets were let down. We had an amazing game drive and saw lots of different game. The food was delicious and fresh - exactly what you feel like on a hot summers day. The staff were so amazing! They were so warm and welcoming, they had a constant smile and were so hospitable. We really had the most amazing time and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kyla E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Recently opened and smoothly run by owners Adam and Jenny, this beautiful and scenic accommodation meets all requirements. Each bungalow is completely private with an exclusive view of the Chobe. They are designed with an intimate understanding and sensitivity of the environment that is not found elsewhere. Lovely fresh food and charming staff added to the mix and a swimming pool to top the magnificent Chobe Bakwena experience.

Room Tip: All rooms are completely private with individual unique views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kasane
5.1 mi away
Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
3.6 mi away
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
#3 of 16 in Victoria Falls
452 reviews
0.2 mi away
River View Lodge
River View Lodge
#5 of 26 in Kasane
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Elephant Valley Lodge
Elephant Valley Lodge
#7 of 26 in Kasane
239 reviews
5.7 mi away
Chobe Marina Lodge
Chobe Marina Lodge
#1 of 6 in Kasane
444 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Big 5 Chobe Lodge
The Big 5 Chobe Lodge
#14 of 26 in Kasane
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chobe Bakwena Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chobe Bakwena Lodge

Property: Chobe Bakwena Lodge
Address: Kwena Road, Kasane, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Kasane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Kasane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chobe Bakwena Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chobe Bakwena Lodge is a small owner run eco lodge built on the banks of the Chobe River. The lodge is built using sand bag technology and offers an eco friendly, affordable option for a responsible tourism option. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing