We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice lobby but ugly rooms” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kasane
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice lobby but ugly rooms”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed two nights at Mowana Lodge in Kasane. The lobby made by red-brown wood looks great together with the Baobab tree, but the rooms are everything else than nice. The 9 hole golf course is perfect for beginners, jeep safari was ok and the river cruise was amazing, we saw a lot of animals from very close. The only thing is, you want be allone, never.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrestaHotels, General Manager at Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your post on TripAdvisor regarding your experience at Cresta Mowana. We would like to thank you for staying with us and hope that we will see you again.


Yours sincerely,


Cresta Mowana, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    201
    73
    24
    11
See reviews for
89
152
24
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed here 4 nights on our safari in Chobe and were very pleasantly surprised by this resort. We booked it through a group at the last minute, but since it was low season, rooms were available. The setting along the Chobe River is spectacular and within easy access to the River and to Chobe National Park. We took a evening cruise up the river that will never be forgotten (herds of elephants swimming across the river). The Botswana currency exchange is very favorable.

Room Tip: All of the rooms look out onto the Chobe River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rjonesirv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrestaHotels, General Manager at Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa.

Thank you for your post on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Cresta Mowana. We would like to thank you for staying with us and hope that we will see you again.

We are delighted that you had such a good experience at Mowana during your stay. We are particularly pleased that you found the setting of Cresta Mowana along the Chobe River, spectacular.

Thank you again for taking the time to write about Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa.

Yours sincerely,


GM, Cresta Mowana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

In July 2014, my family, 2 adults & 2 teenagers (12 & 14) at the time visited Kasane .
We stayed 2 nights at the Mowana Safari Resort. We had 2 rooms, side by side,
as they dont have interconnecting rooms. We had a fabulous time. We booked the river cruise
and Chobe National Park tour through the hotel. The river cruise was amazing and excellent
value for money. Our guide for the NP tour as disinterested so we didnt see much that day to
be honest. The restaurant is expensive by 3rd world standards, but what you would expect to
pay in any other resort worldwide. It cost us around usd $150 per day for food for 4 adults.
(Incl. drinks). I wished we had stayed longer and done another game drive. Plus we should have hired a boat to go fishing as these options were loads cheaper than in Vic Falls.
Would love to go back!!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrestaHotels, General Manager at Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Cresta Mowana Safari Lodge & Spa.

Thank you for your post on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Cresta Mowana. We would like to thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

We are delighted that you had such a good experience at Mowana during your stay.

Thank you again for taking the time to write about Cresta Mowana Safari Lodge & Spa.

Yours sincerely,



GM, Cresta Mowana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larchmont, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Being a photography enthusiasts we signed up with Pangolin Photo safaris in Botswana's Chobe region. Pangolin's package included a stay at Mowana Lodge where it has a boat launch.
As for the resort itself, Mowana is an attractive resort in a beautiful river setting.
We had 2 rooms ,one was a nicely appointed room and was in good shape, the other was in need of repair, the bathroom fan was not working causing mold and peeled paint above the shower stall and attracted insects. This was reported to the front desk.
The food was presented nicely and served buffet style. Staying 3 nights the menu was essentially the same each day. The ambiance was very much enhanced by a very talented singer whose repertoire of songs was impressive.
The sunset lounge was a great place to sit, have a drink and watch the sunset.
As for the Pangolin Photo Safari it is both outstanding and unique as well as an terrific value.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldly57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrestaHotels, General Manager at Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Cresta Mowana Safari Lodge & Spa.

Thank you for your post on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Cresta Mowana. We would like to thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back in future.

We are pleased that you found the setting of Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa on the banks of the beautiful Chobe River attractive. The detailed comments relating to our rooms are noted. Thank you for your comments regarding our resident singer. We are delighted that you found his repetoire of songs impressive. Helpful feedback from customers like yourself is encouraging and inspiring for our staff.

Thank you again for taking the time to write about Cresta Mowana Safari Lodge & Spa.


Yours sincerely,


John Gray, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights and overall we had a very good time, but...

Lets start with the good stuff; very nice hotel, beautiful rooms overlooking the Chobi river and marshlands. The hotel is very nicely build around a big Baobab tree which is nicely lit in the evening and provides a nice atmosphere. The lounge/bar has a really beautiful view over the area and the sunset from there is really spectacular. The staff in general is very friendly and helpful, certainly in the restaurant and bar area. The one thing that is a pity is the layout of the restaurant (dinner and breakfast) which is completely closed. The restaurant claims to have an a la carte menu and a buffet, but the a la carte menu is very much discouraged. But to be true the buffet is really good for as far as buffets can be. They offer an extensive list of activities, but they are all catered towards large groups. If you want something for just two or a small group a better choice is offered for example at the Chobe safari lodge.

So for the "but..." Specifically at the reception the staff is hopelessly inefficient. We had a problem with our reservation and went to the reception to discuss this. We started with one person, who handed it over to another and she to another and so forth. In the mean time when talking to someone it happened a couple of times that in the middle of the conversation the phone was answered and we were left standing there. After the phone conversation was over we had to redo the whole discussion. In the end it turned out that they were unable to bring up our reservation, had a different view on what we ordered (though I showed the email with the confirmation) and we spent a frustrating 50 minutes or so.

With regard to the reservation, we looked up Mowana in the web www.mowanasafarilodge.net From here you can book a room via a South African travel agency. My credit card company (mastercard) however has this company on the black list and I had to call and ask special permission to actually use my credit card with them.

Anyway in the end we had a very good time here but as this is a rather expensive hotel I expected a better service.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hekstman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrestaHotels, General Manager at Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa.

Thank you for your recent post on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Cresta Mowana. We would like to thank you for staying with us and hope that we will see you again.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your 4-night stay with us and found the rooms and the surroundings beautiful. We are very proud of our unique setting as well as our Baobab - thank you for the kind comments regarding the lounge and bar and the hardworking staff there. We regret that you struggled at the reception desk, and will certainly look into the operational issues you have highlighted. Helpful feedback from customers like you helps us affect swift changes in problem areas, and is also inspiring to the entire staff.

Thank you again for taking the time to write about Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa.

Yours sincerely,


Mr. John Gray
GM, Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
105 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

Arriving at this hotel after three nights in a mobile tented camp was like finding an oasis in the desert. We found the rooms and the bathrooms perfectly wonderful but keep in mind that flush-toilets and floors were a luxury to us at this point!

Food was buffet but perfectly fine. We loved the beautiful grounds and the view of the Chobe River from our balcony. The sounds of hippos on the banks were a plus for us. The birds were outstanding.

We had Swedish massages at the spa while we were there. They were first rate.

This a place I would definitely return to again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NCtourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrestaHotels, General Manager at Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa.

Thank you for your recent post on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Cresta Mowana. We would like to thank you for staying with us and hope that we will see you again.

We are so delighted that we could offer you comfort and luxury after your nights in the bush! The Chobe River is a beautiful area and we are so proud to be able to offer guests a chance to experience and appreciate African nature in its finest form - the sound of the hippos! We are also pleased that you were able to take advantage of the new Spa at Cresta Mowana and found it to be first rate. Encouraging comments from customers like you is so inspiring to the entire team.

Thank you again for taking the time to write about Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa.

Yours sincerely,


Mr. John Gray
GM, Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roodepoort, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

I recently stayed at the Cresta Mowana Resort & Spa and can honestly say that it was an excellent experience. The accommodation is above average and the staff will go out of their way to make your stay more pleasant. The activities like game drives and sunset cruises are well organised and gives you maximum exposure to the wonderful Chobe area.
The spa and golf course are there for those who want to relax and is well equipped.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hendah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrestaHotels, General Manager at Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa.

Thank you for your recent post on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Cresta Mowana. We would like to thank you for staying with us and hope that we will see you again.

We are delighted that you had such an excellent experience with us at Cresta Mowana and that you were able to take advantage of all that we have on offer in the stunning Chobe area! We greatly appreciate your kind comments regarding our hardworking staff. Positive feedback from helpful customers like you is inspiring and encouraging to our whole team.

Thank you again for taking the time to write about Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa.

Yours sincerely,


Mr. John Gray
GM, Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kasane
1.9 mi away
Chobe Safari Lodge
Chobe Safari Lodge
#1 of 2 in Kasane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
2.4 mi away
Chobe Marina Lodge
Chobe Marina Lodge
#1 of 4 in Kasane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
84.3 mi away
The Big 5 Chobe Lodge
The Big 5 Chobe Lodge
#16 of 21 in Kasane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Old House
The Old House
#2 of 4 in Kasane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
4.1 mi away
Kwalape Safari Lodge
Kwalape Safari Lodge
#20 of 20 in Chobe National Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
4.9 mi away
River View Lodge
River View Lodge
#8 of 21 in Kasane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa

Property: Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
Address: Chobe River, Kasane, Botswana (Formerly Mowana Safari Lodge)
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Kasane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kasane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa situated on the banks of the mighty Chobe River in Botswana is one of southern Africa's sustainable tourism destinations where luxury exists in harmony with nature, providing a unique location from which to explore the magical wonders of untamed Africa. Game, including herds of elephant, antelope, giraffe, zebras, lions, leopard and many more, roam freely in the nearby Chobe Game Park. Sunrises and sunsets in this part of the world, with the Chobe River and Namibian flood plains as a backdrop are the substance of dreams. Birdlife is in abundance. Bird species unique to this part of southern Africa can be seen on the property as well as on the banks of the Mighty Chobe River. Facilities at Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa include 110 luxury air conditioned bedrooms and 4 suites all with river views, a 9 hole golf course and fully equipped spa. Each guest room has a private balcony. In these tranquil surroundings you will come to experience true comfort, superb accommodation, gourmet cuisine and African inspired menus and only the best in personalised 'African-style' service. Play a round of golf on the famous golf course or enjoy bird watching on the banks of the mighty Chobe River. Take time to interact with the un-spoilt natural and beautiful surroundings while enjoying a leisurely massage at the Mowana Spa. All 110 bedrooms and four suites boast spectacular river views and have been tastefully decorated in an ethnic style to compliment the natural ambiance. Both the Serondella Restaurant and Savuti cocktail bar overlook the Chobe River and Namibian flood plains, the ultimate place to watch the abundant wildlife gathering at twilight. The Spa at Cresta Mowana is beautifully designed, featuring natural textures and ethnic elements. It is in harmony with the surrounding Chobe National park, a serene space that offers sanctuary from the stresses of life. With four private treatment rooms complemented by a raised deck overlooking the mighty Chobe River on which open air pampering sessions are highly recommended, the Mowana Spa offers state of the art facilities and a range of Clarens treatments and therapies that will have you spoilt for choice. Life doesn't get much better than this. Day trips can be organized to Victoria Falls, just 80 kilometres away from Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mowana Safari Hotel Kasane
Mowana Safari Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing