We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food on hoof and plate.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kasane
Certificate of Excellence
Enfield, UK
Level Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Excellent food on hoof and plate.”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

My wife and I spent four nights here to relax after hectic visits to South Africa and Zimbabwe. It was ideal for the purpose. The rooms, admittedly, could do with some 'tarting up', but were very good. We had an excellent view of the Chobe River and Namibia from our balcony and birds flitting around most of the day in the gardens below. An excellent variety of teas and coffee available in the room. The mosquito nets were a little shabby and did not meet all round and needed Velcro or some other fastening, which defeated their object. The bathroom was excellent with a bath, large shower and permanent hot water.

The hotel itself was impressive with dark stained wood everywhere, plenty of space to sit and good size pool that was usually empty of swimmers and with loungers to spare. It may have been winter, but it was hot and relaxing. The central baobab tree with its tribe of mongooses was a great centrepiece. The staff were all very welcoming and friendly.

The pool bar was well stocked and the poolside restaurant and main restaurant excellent. The food was equally first class; large buffet breakfast with a wide variety of hot and cold dishes, juices etc. ; lunch to the same standard. Dinner was buffet, but a-la-carte was also available, although we prefer buffet so that you can have as much or as little of whatever you fancy. The choice of starters was very good, as were the meats, vegetables and desserts. The main courses catered for international and local tastes. The meat, always at least three options, was always cooked to perfection and we particularly liked the 'loin of kudu' and impala, but the warthog and crocodile were also very tasty, as was the excellent beef. It was interesting to go that distance and eat one of the best bread and butter puddings I have had!

There are plenty of activities; we did one morning and one afternoon game drives, with lionesses and cubs on our first outing. We also did a sunset cruise that enabled us to get up close to hippos and elephants and see much other wildlife. These were all included in our four day package. Just note that the open-top jeep rides over solid tyre tracks is hard on the back, though worth it if the pain subsides quickly!

My only real complaint was the unwillingness of the hotel to change currencies, even to break down the local one. It was only when I said that I would not be able to give any tips that I was able to do anything.

We would recommend this hotel to anyone who loves wildlife, the outdoors and relaxing - Ideal!!!

Room Tip: Room 207 has good view over the gardens and river .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrestaHotels, Manager at Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent post on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa. We would like to thank you for staying with us and hope that we will see you again.

We are particularly pleased that you enjoyed the location and all the amazing views and game experience that the Chobe has to offer as well as the dining experience. We have taken note of suggested areas of improvement.

Thank you again for taking the time to write about your experience during your stay at Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa.

Yours sincerely,

General Manager, Cresta Mowana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    201
    73
    24
    11
See reviews for
89
152
24
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
296 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Thank you Mowana! We had a wonderful time staying with you recently.

The service, staff, food and accommodation were of a very high standard, and we couldn't fault our stay there.

We took safaris from your establishment, both by truck and boat. Our guide, Chris, was excellent, as was the game viewing we witnessed. Such great photos, and such incredible memories! We were lucky enough to see a lion pride, a leopard, and the migration of buffalo. The elephants swimming in the Chobe River were magical, as were the hippos, crocs, giraffes, etc. on the banks.

Our room was HUGE, beautifully furnished, and well set out. Our verandah overlooking the river was lovely to sit on in the cool of the evening.

We had dinner in the restaurant, lunch near the pool, and breakfast in the dining room. All the food was wonderful, and such a great selection!! Tip and pay for bills in US$ (take some cash with you).

Congratulations on running a top rate establishment in an incredible part of your amazing country. We loved our stay - the highlight of our tour of Africa.

Hope Moses is enjoying his "kangaroo pin". X

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kid_U_Not58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrestaHotels, Manager at Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent post on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa. We would like to thank you for staying with us and hope that we will see you again.

We are very pleased that you had such a wonderful experience! We are delighted that you found our staff excellent. Such positive feedback is appreciated and encouraging to our staff.
Moses is indeed enjoying his "kangaroo pin"!

Thank you again for taking the time to write about your experience during your stay at Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa.

Yours sincerely

General Manager, Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaborone, Botswana
1 review
Reviewed 5 September 2013

lovely picturesque lodge on the bank of the Chobe river. the staff and food are amazing. and intimate village with shops and curio shops within a walking distance. awesome awesome lodge.
i especially love the breakfast spread!

Room Tip: ask for the rooms on the golf course( left hand)side of the hotel...they have a better view of the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mpho M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrestaHotels, Manager at Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent post on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa. We would like to thank you for staying with us and hope that we will see you again.

We are particularly pleased that you liked our location on the banks of the Chobe River and enjoyed the breakfast spread. Your feedback relating to our amazing staff is appreciated and encouraging.

Thank you again for taking the time to write about your experience during your stay at Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa.

Yours sincerely

General Manager, Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I lodged in Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa from 26th August 2013 to 28th August 2013 for a business trip. It was all good. The rooms were clean and spacious. The gymn was good, so was the swimming pool and jacuuzi. I had a wonderful boat cruise and saw all types of wild animals.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lerotsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrestaHotels, Manager at Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent post on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa. We would like to thank you for staying with us and hope that we will see you again.

We are pleased that you had a pleasant stay and our facilities were to your satisfaction. We are particularly pleased that you had a wonderful boat cruise and enjoyed the game experience.

Thank you again for taking the time to write about your experience during your stay at Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa.

Yours sincerely

General Manager, Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We have stayed many times in this hotel. Its the best value like for like, the rooms are spacious and food is excellent. Staff are friendly, including the security guards. They were able to book all our outings which made it much better, especially when we wanted a personal boat ride, when they went out of their way to assist.

Room Tip: All rooms are pretty good, you don't get noise from upstairs. They have a fridge and its worth g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrestaHotels, Manager at Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent post on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa. We were delighted to welcome you back and look forward to seeing you again.

We appreciate the positive feedback regarding our staff who always go the extra mile to make our guests stay memorable.

Thank you again for taking the time to write about your experience during your stay at Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa.

Yours sincerely

General Manager, Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Amazing place. Courteous staff right from kasane airport to the bell boy. Chobe river cruise was ultimate. The best part was hippos grazing outside the cottage in the night. A true wildlife experience. Not to forget the spa ! Would want to go again

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnilBholla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrestaHotels, Manager at Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent post on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa. We would like to thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

We are particularly pleased that you found the place amazing and all staff courteous. Your positive feedback is appreciated and encouraging to our staff. We are happy too that you had a true wildlife experience and enjoyed the spa.

Thank you again for taking the time to write about your experience during your stay at Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa.

Yours sincerely

General Manager, Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Cresta Mowana Safari Lodge.

The rooms were nice, but a bit dated. The meal buffets had good variety and the food was good quality.

The bar has a great view over the Chobe River and the sunsets are amazing.

Our game drives were very good, although 1/2 hour of the drives were spent getting to and getting back from the game preserve (15 minutes each way). The highlights of the game were seeing a leopard in a tree wating for the opportunity to hunt, the sable antelope and a herd of elephants make their way down to the river.

Cresta Mowana also has sunset game cruises. We moved in up-close to many different animals, hippos, buffalo, various other antelopes. the most amazing sight was watching another herd of elephants swim across the river to Namibia before sunset.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank morandanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrestaHotels, General Manager at Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent post on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa. We would like to thank you for staying with us and hope that we will see you again.

We are particularly pleased that you enjoyed the location and all the amazing views and game experience that the Chobe has to offer.

Thank you again for taking the time to write about your experience during your stay at Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa.

Yours sincerely,

General Manager, Cresta Mowana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kasane
1.9 mi away
Chobe Safari Lodge
Chobe Safari Lodge
#1 of 2 in Kasane
1,033 reviews
1.4 mi away
Chobe Marina Lodge
Chobe Marina Lodge
#1 of 6 in Kasane
408 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Old House
The Old House
#2 of 6 in Kasane
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
84.3 mi away
The Big 5 Chobe Lodge
The Big 5 Chobe Lodge
#15 of 24 in Kasane
21 reviews
4.0 mi away
Kwalape Safari Lodge
Kwalape Safari Lodge
#20 of 20 in Chobe National Park
107 reviews
7.5 mi away
Elephant Valley Lodge
Elephant Valley Lodge
#7 of 24 in Kasane
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa

Property: Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
Address: Chobe River, Kasane, Botswana (Formerly Mowana Safari Lodge)
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Kasane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kasane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa situated on the banks of the mighty Chobe River in Botswana is one of southern Africa's sustainable tourism destinations where luxury exists in harmony with nature, providing a unique location from which to explore the magical wonders of untamed Africa. Game, including herds of elephant, antelope, giraffe, zebras, lions, leopard and many more, roam freely in the nearby Chobe Game Park. Sunrises and sunsets in this part of the world, with the Chobe River and Namibian flood plains as a backdrop are the substance of dreams. Birdlife is in abundance. Bird species unique to this part of southern Africa can be seen on the property as well as on the banks of the Mighty Chobe River. Facilities at Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa include 110 luxury air conditioned bedrooms and 4 suites all with river views, a 9 hole golf course and fully equipped spa. Each guest room has a private balcony. In these tranquil surroundings you will come to experience true comfort, superb accommodation, gourmet cuisine and African inspired menus and only the best in personalised 'African-style' service. Play a round of golf on the famous golf course or enjoy bird watching on the banks of the mighty Chobe River. Take time to interact with the un-spoilt natural and beautiful surroundings while enjoying a leisurely massage at the Mowana Spa. All 110 bedrooms and four suites boast spectacular river views and have been tastefully decorated in an ethnic style to compliment the natural ambiance. Both the Serondella Restaurant and Savuti cocktail bar overlook the Chobe River and Namibian flood plains, the ultimate place to watch the abundant wildlife gathering at twilight. The Spa at Cresta Mowana is beautifully designed, featuring natural textures and ethnic elements. It is in harmony with the surrounding Chobe National park, a serene space that offers sanctuary from the stresses of life. With four private treatment rooms complemented by a raised deck overlooking the mighty Chobe River on which open air pampering sessions are highly recommended, the Mowana Spa offers state of the art facilities and a range of Clarens treatments and therapies that will have you spoilt for choice. Life doesn't get much better than this. Day trips can be organized to Victoria Falls, just 80 kilometres away from Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mowana Safari Hotel Kasane
Mowana Safari Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing