We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is a taste of Italy!!!”

Calabria Pizza & Italian Grill
Ranked #13 of 54 Restaurants in Absecon
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“It is a taste of Italy!!!”
Reviewed 20 April 2013 via mobile

Nothing my wife and I would rather do than spend an early evening with some great Italian food on a sidewalk in Absecon with a BYOB bottle of red wine and watch the wheels go round and round. Cozy inside wonderful food and the old world charm of Frankie!!!!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    16
    7
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Galloway, New Jersey, United States
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice cacciatore”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We had minestrone soup and chicken cacciatore. Both were very good. There were other niceties. For example as you look at the menu they bring a bruschetta for each. The bread brought to the table was oven warm and the oil decanter on the table has delightfully peppery oil for dipping. This is a small place without a view of the outside - which adds to the "transporting" quality of the food and experience. I don't think you can go wrong here.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Josh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Really average pizza”
Reviewed 14 April 2013

I drive by this place almost every day. I would rather support local businesses than big chains, so we decided to try the pizza. I love pizza but I was underwhelmed by their pizza. Won't even try it again. Very sad because there are few choices in the area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kimmer1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly Springs, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Average Italian, cute restaurant”
Reviewed 16 February 2013 via mobile

I ate here with a colleague and had high expectations from her description. The food was average; not bad but certainly not memorable. The sandwiches were ok but the pasta soup was very bland. I would have liked to come back for a real Italitan dinner. FYI; I also saw the owner get nasty with an employee...it was a little uncomfortable.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Absecon, New Jersey, United States
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great place to wine (BYOB) and dine.”
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Calabria is a great place for pizza and subs but also a great place for a BYOB dinner. We dine there at least once a week, it is our go to place. The staff and owner are very friendly and accomodating. The food is old world delicious, (try the old world pizza "grandma pizza". The atmosphere is small but quaint. Definately a neighborhood favorite.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Calabria Pizza & Italian Grill also viewed

 
Absecon, Jersey Shore
 
Absecon, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Calabria Pizza & Italian Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing