We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Mom & Pop place, with good food.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Calabria Pizza & Italian Grill

Calabria Pizza & Italian Grill
Ranked #13 of 54 Restaurants in Absecon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
58 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice Mom & Pop place, with good food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

Had the Vodka Penne with chicken. The pasta was hard--like you couldn't skewer it with a fork and had to scoop it up; not sure what that was about, so was turned off by the texture to start. The vodka sauce is top notch...I enjoyed this immensely.
The chicken (separate and extra) was tough as shoe leather, tasteless, and inedible. I ate part of it then finally slid it off my plate. Very disappointed there.
I give the food a healthy 3.

The service was nice with classic Italian staff (some of them anyway, especially the older guy). Service was attentive and friendly which would put the overall review into a '4' category, but with the chicken and pasta from above weighing it down, I've got to leave it at 3.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank fastfxr101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    16
    7
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Metuchen, New Jersey
Level Contributor
95 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Average Pizza”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

We got a couple pizzas for a group and they were just OK. The poeple there were very nice, but the pizza didnt have much taste.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pitman, New Jersey
Level Contributor
78 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Best Spaghetti Bolognese!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

I come to Calabria a lot. Great Pizza, Calzone and Stromboli. I stepped it up this time and ordered the Spaghetti Bolognese, it was great. If you ask, they will make it with the Bucatini Pasta. Highly recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Love2EatGood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Wonderful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

We celebrated our twin daughters 50th BD here with 13 people. It's kind of small but the owner gave us a semi-private room. The food and service were really great and the owner even arranged for a cake to be brought in.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dtruax59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
112 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“It is a taste of Italy!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013 via mobile

Nothing my wife and I would rather do than spend an early evening with some great Italian food on a sidewalk in Absecon with a BYOB bottle of red wine and watch the wheels go round and round. Cozy inside wonderful food and the old world charm of Frankie!!!!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Calabria Pizza & Italian Grill also viewed

Absecon, Jersey Shore
Absecon, Jersey Shore
 
Absecon, Jersey Shore
Absecon, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Calabria Pizza & Italian Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing