We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AC Alternative”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Absecon - Atlantic City Area
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Absecon
Certificate of Excellence
Mountainside, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“AC Alternative”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Nice, well-kept hotel 10 minutes from Atlantic City. Room was as nice as most AC casinos. Indoor pool and exercise room. Towels provided in both. Friendly, helpful staff. Easy to use safe in room.
King bed was firm but comfortable. 4 pillows on bed (2 firm, 2 soft) plus extra pillow in closet. Over-sized shower, but no shower seat. Expanded continental breakfast with hot/cold cereals, fresh pancakes, yogurt, eggs, breakfast meat (sausage one day, ham the next), various breads/rolls/buns, biscuits and gravy.
Only caveat: immediately after a Best Western, and only entrance to hotel parking lot is from road between both. So once you see the Best Western, slow down and prepare to make a hard right turn or you'll miss the hotel and have to make about a 1 mile u-turn.
If you can't get a comped room in AC, this is a really good alternative. Would definitely stay there again.
Check out Smithville, about 10 minutes away on rte 9 north. Old-fashioned shopping center designed to look like a town from the 1800's. Beware the ducks! Great hand-made chocolates.

Room Tip: Near the AC airport, and planes come in low and loud, clearly seen and heard from the pool. Never he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ivorytower4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    116
    20
    9
    9
See reviews for
89
101
17
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed 4 nights. The room was clean. The other areas were well kept and clean as well. My son visited the workout room and mentioned that the weight machine didn't work well. The breakfast choices were good. Location was perfect The driving distance to Atlantic City, Ocean city and Wildwood was reasonable. We enjoyed visiting the different beaches every day.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANNA04210822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We reserved a junior suite for our week long vacation. From day one there were a lot of fruit flies, so many that they were hanging out on the mirrors and bathroom. The microwave in the kitchenette had food and grease in it, I called immediately and that issue was taken care of. We were optimistic about the fruit flies and thought they would go away on their own, not the case though! By day 2 they were worse, so much that we were walking through clusters of them. When searching for our child's toy we found a rotten banana peel behind the T.V. stand, there was the source! So we waited one more day, but the fruit fly problem persisted. We spoke to the manager who apologized and said they were going to spray the room and check behind all of the furniture (this should have been done before). We came back that day and it wasn't any better. This left us with 2 more nights to go, the hotel did not have another suite to accommodate us with so we had to move to a regular room for our family of 4. So in the middle of vacation for 2 hours we had to pack up our luggage and beach gear to move rooms. Ok, at least there were no fruit flies this time! Still trying to stay positive and not grossed out. The next night my family decided to stay at our family's beach house in Sea Isle. Friday evening we came back to our hotel room for our final night on vacation. Given the cleanliness issues we checked out the entire room, on one of the pillow cases there was an unwashed blood and bodily fluid stains. To think my daughter almost put her head on that pillow makes me upset. Immediately we took a picture and showed the manager the next morning when he came in. He then proceeded to tell us he couldn't believe that and that has never happened, basically doubting us and our proof. We received a very small credit for the fruit flies but nothing was done re: the pillow or our inconvenience caused by their lack of cleanliness. Long story, but out moral is we will never stay at this hotel when we take our annual vacation to the Jersey shore!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicciana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Stayed 2 nights with wife while visiting Atlantic City. Very nice place. Well managed with a caring and hard working staff. The property was very clean and well maintained. Above average accommodations. The room amenities were above average. Great indoor pool and very nice workout room. The free breakfast was one of the best I have experienced at a hotel. Great place to stay to save a few bucks compared to the shore properties.

PS. New Jersey is crazy place. I have traveled the entire country and abroad. New Jersey is the most complicated State I have ever visited. Full-service gas stations only? Self service pumps against the law? Most gas stations close at 11pm and all are owned by Middle Eastern individuals wearing long beards. No left turns due to concrete medians everywhere? If you aren't
driving 20 miles over speed limit you get engulfed by traffic. Casino self-parking that costs $5? Public beaches that aren't free (Ocean City $5 per person). Toll roads everywhere! You can't go anywhere without paying a toll or a tax or a fee. New Jersey is too complicated for me to return anytime soon.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alvito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We came for our anniversary and to start a trip of visiting family, lets face it, no one wants to spend their anniversary at grandmas house. I booked this hotel using a discount voucher from "ever save.com" so I was quite worried about what I was actually going to get. I had to change dates and the travel agency gave me a hard time, so I called the hotel directly and, date changed!! We called because our flight was delayed 4 hours, we got into Delaware at 3am, the desk employee pulled up everything we needed to make our checkin faster. the front desk attendants were very helpful with directions and information.

Room Tip: pretty close to the beach/boardwalk, but far enough to save money
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marabubbles121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

3rd floor windows don't open, and air conditioner is "high efficiency" which means it stays on for 2 minutes then shuts off for 1/2 hr. Called front desk, but nothing they can do. If your going in summer bring a fan. Rooms are clean and good sized, but means nothing when your hot and stuffy

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigDaddy4695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Absecon - Atlantic City Area, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear BigDaddy4695,

We certainly appreciate you taking the time to convey your thoughts regarding your stay with us. I am pleased to note that you found our rooms to be clean.

I am sorry to hear the troubles you had with our air conditioning system. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience this has caused you.

Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and guest services we offer to our guests. Rest assured that your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future upgrades. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again so we can show you what we have done.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manger
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freehold, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Hotel was nice, clean, breakfast was good as well. We stayed in room 226 and the noise from the highway kept me up all night as well as the air conditioning unit. I called the front desk to complain that the room wasn't really cool ( it wasn't hot outside) and the fan keep shutting off and kicking on, waking us. I was told it was an energy efficient unit and try raising the temperature to at least 75 degrees. Well that didn't work and 75 was too stuffy. It was a shame because the bed was comfortable. I'm sure we won't stay here again as I don't want to risk a bad nights sleep again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francescakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Absecon
0.1 mi away
Best Western Garden State Inn
0.3 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites Atlantic City North
1.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Atlantic City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Absecon Atlantic City
5.9 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#5 of 50 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16,191 reviews
1.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Galloway Atlantic City Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Absecon - Atlantic City Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Absecon - Atlantic City Area

Property: Holiday Inn Express Absecon - Atlantic City Area
Address: 655 White Horse Pike, Rt. 30, Absecon, NJ 08201-2301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Absecon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Absecon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Absecon - Atlantic City Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Atlantic City has to offer at the Holiday Inn Express Absecon-Atlantic City Area. The weather is getting warmer so you'd better get your swimsuit ready! Our Atlantic City hotel is located just outside of town in a quiet and safe area, yet you are only minutes away from all the fun and excitement. Atlantic City has something to offer for all ages. If music, entertainment, and shows bring you to Atlantic City, then The House of Blues is a must for you. The Borgata s Water Club is open and ready to relax your worries away or try Elizabeth s Arden Red Door Spa which is just around the corner. Party the night away at The Pool Night Club, Atlantic City s new hot spot. Other area attractions include gambling, wine tasting, beaches, golf, Stockton College, AC Medical Center and Historic Smithville.The Holiday Inn Express Absecon-Atlantic City Area features newly renovated guest rooms and suites with a modern touch and feel of elegance. Enjoy a romantic evening in one of our fully mirrored Jacuzzi Suites or make yourself at home in our spacious King Executive Suite. The experience of our rooms is comfortable and relaxing with 32 flat panel HD TVs in all rooms! It s New, it s Modern, it s HD and it s all waiting for you at our fabulous hotel. Our Atlantic City hotel is handicap accessible and ADA-approved. Let our friendly staff treat you like family and make your next trip to Atlantic City one you ll never forget! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Absecon - Atlantic City Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Absecon - Atlantic City Area Hotel Absecon
Holiday Inn Absecon
Absecon Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Absecon - Atlantic City Area New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing