We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful breakfast experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Denny's

Denny's
Ranked #7 of 54 Restaurants in Absecon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful breakfast experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Well, it's Denny's after all, so you know what to expect pretty much in the food department. But we had sworn off Denny's years ago because of crummy service and bad attitudes. This seemed to be the only breakfast place in the immediate area, so we took our chances and were amazed by the friendly staff, quick service, and overall cheery atmosphere. Thanks, Denny's, for a "pick-me-up" breakfast experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Louise2900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    32
    17
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, GA
Level Contributor
140 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A rather pleasant surprise from one who had his mind changed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

This restaurant chain has provided at least two of a double handful of terrible restaurant experiences, so, we (self and spouse) were hesitant to go there again. It was close by the hotel and, what the heck, TripAdvisor contributors had collectively rated it pretty high (and I have come to rely on their judgement). We did, indeed, break down and gave it another chance.

The interior was clean, neat and - believe it or not - cheerful with about 35% occupancy on the night we visited.

Our waitperson was the typical local who works because she had to, but that attitude did not come out. She was most pleasant, talkative and interesting to talk with. It's wait staff like this that supplement a good meal, which, by the way, was what we had.

Ample servings, well-cooked (steak) and inexpensive yet delicious dessert. Nice and relatively quiet surroundings in spite of it being Kids Eat Free night.

This visit, tho not completely changing my mind did allow me to rethink this chain and give them one more chance.

Try it - I believe you'll agree. Food pricing was about $$ and not expensive.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GwinnettTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, PA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Would not go again.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

We like Denny's for their breakfast varieties, but this location wasn't so hot! Dehumidifier and fishy smell in entranceway should have been a warning. We sat at a booth w/ ripped cushions, tables dirty. Food was good, service was good. Just the restaurant itself was in poor condition.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Momoffivegirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lovely service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

We used this Denny's for one dinner and a breakfast and enjoyed it both times. While the food was good (standard Denny's fare), the value for money is excellent, and the service was great. We are from the UK but lived in the USA for five years and since returning to the UK twelve years ago, we have visited different parts of the USA seven times and have experienced many restaurants in various states. During this recent visit to New York, Philadelphia and New Jersey, the service has generally been efficient, but without the warmth we have experienced in the South, Midwest or California. This Denny's was a great reminder of places where we have gone in the past with the waitresses going over and above what they were required to do in making us feel welcome and to ensure that our meal was as good as it could be. It was no surprise to us that when we went for breakfast, there was a queue of people waiting for a table.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chungsongyau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
860 reviews
420 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 644 helpful votes
“I wish we had Denny's in NYC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

My husband and I love Denny's. Sincewe go to AC every 6 weeks, this has become our favorite Denny's. The staff is sooo friendly. I love that they remember us. The food and service is excellent. The place can use a face lift but I don't care. It's clean, food is delish and the staff is great.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Denny's also viewed

Absecon, Jersey Shore
Galloway, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Denny's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing