We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced at any price”
Review of Royal Lodge

Royal Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Lodge
Ranked #21 of 25 Hotels in Absecon
Jamesburg, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Overpriced at any price”
Reviewed 27 January 2011

Crap motel. Owner claimed motel was booked except their "premium room", which was a dirty, cheap room with rotted bathroom walls, a dead bug on the floor, and a dirty tub which my GF wouldn't even take a shower in. Meanwhile their parking lot had the same 5 cars in it at 1 AM as it did at 9 AM, so unless their guests walked there, the owner's claim of full was a ploy to convince unwitting guests to rent their "$69 "Premium" room. And they have the nerve to offer AAA discounts, as if AAA would ever be associated with something like this motel.
Then there's the amenities. The shampoo and conditioner is in very small envelopes from a dollar store that wouldn't be enough to shampoo a bald head. And their "continental breakfast" is Tang breakfast drink and a dollar store pastry both of which you need to ask the owner for, which she needed to go to her kitchen in the back of the 6x8 office to retrieve.
I'm thinking that the value of this room even if it were New Year's Eve would be in the neighborhood of $39.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank goodguy099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    3
    0
    6
    33
See reviews for
14
10
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2010

After driving around Atlantic City and getting lost, it came down to this motel after frustratrion. My first mistake, i did not make reservations before hand. It did not appear bad when driving in, but then..... met the owners, bad english spoken. the room stank. was afraid to sleep in the bed, didn't know if i would catch anything. The continental brkft. was a danish wrapped in plastic brought out of the back room. Across from the motel was a sml. inlet, and it stank ,rotten fish smell. When the air-conditioner ran, it put out this musty smell. Noise from the highway and heavy drinking neighbors till 3a.m., well my best bet was to stay out of the room as much as possible. My advise- stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank redhead580s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2010

booked a room but tried to cancel, maybe a few hours past their cut off time. No one answers phones during the night so could not cancel before the time I called. POOR customer service. I was not coming to NJ so there was no need for the room and they would not cancel it and charged me for room I did not use. They could have cancelled but they are so hard up for cash and it seem because they have a nasty hotel from what I see the reviews. DO NOT STAY HERE. CAUTION!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank acureton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ticky468
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2009

on hotels.com they said there was breakfast and wireless internet, well when we got up we asked the desk where the breakfast served and she pointed to water for tea and coffee where and how is that considered breakfast? and the wireless internet only gets reception in one spot. also it took us like 10 mins to get into our room because of a backwards lock and the card slot didnt work and the ocean didnt help either because it has a beautiful view with a lovely breeze. and it kind of stinks in the daytime. there are two peopole in this room and they gave us three pillows so it was toss up between the third one. we got a non smoking room and it has cigarette burns in the table, counters, and bath tub so of course it stank all to be damned. only good thing is it is just minutes away from the casino.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ticky468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2008

Disgusting!!!!!!! I was horrified, when I woke up and discovered the blood-engorged insects crawling BED BUGS!!! I was infested by hundreds of bed bugs during a stay there.. Awful, Place… Please oh please do not stay there. No matter how cheep the room may be... I have over 20 bites all over my body. Royal Lodge is infested with bed bugs.!!!!!!!

  • Disliked — BITES ALL OVER MY BODY!!!!!!!!!
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank NewJerseyNymm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2007

We booked our hotel room straight through the individual hotel website and got a great deal on a King room with a jacuzzi for $99 a night which was the same price for a King room without the jacuzzi. The hotel looks nice from the outside, you can tell that since its remodel that it is being kept up. Our room was huge (at least twice the size of a normal hotel room) and was very clean.
All of the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful from the individual we spoke with on the phone a couple days before arriving to double confirm our reservation to all the staff we actually personally saw (front desk, housekeeping etc...).
The hotel is in a perfect location for those wanting to head to Atlantic City but who do not want to pay the high prices especially during the summer. It is the next to last hotel before crossing the bridge into AC so its a matter of 5-10 minutes to any of the casinos.
We would definitely stay at the Royal Lodge again if we are ever in the area because you cant beat the quality of services received for the price anywhere.

  • Liked — Value, Location, Service
  • Disliked — No pool
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank wingatecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2007

i booked the room the nite before ,my mother and i were on our way and we called to see if they had fridgerators. only to find out that they canceled our reservation with out telling us and then booked our room 2 someone else.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
Helpful?
2 Thank linztimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Absecon
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Absecon Atlantic City
2.9 mi away
Garden State Inn
Garden State Inn
#3 of 25 in Absecon
435 reviews
1.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Atlantic City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Absecon - Atlantic City Area
3.1 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites Atlantic City North
3.6 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#5 of 49 in Atlantic City
17,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lodge

Property: Royal Lodge
Address: 553 E Absecon Blvd, Absecon, NJ 08201-2244
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Absecon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 25 Hotels in Absecon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are in town on vacation or are stopping through for business, the Royal Lodge provides a friendly and inviting retreat for you and your family. We offer an affordable, pet-friendly and personalized alternative to larger chain hotels in the area. Situated near the Atlantic City Boardwalk Hall, the Convention Center, and the Steel Pier, as well as countless shops and restaurants, our location is hard to beat! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Absecon
Royal Lodge New Jersey/Absecon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing