We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Feeling at Home in Siem Reap” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Soria Moria Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Soria Moria Boutique Hotel
Ranked #117 of 339 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Aspen
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Feeling at Home in Siem Reap”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

Due to the warm and welcoming staff of the Soria Moria hotel I felt so comfortable and relaxed during my stay here. The rooms are clean and bright with many amenities. A quiet location, comfortable bed and lovely breakfast each morning allowed me to be rested and ready for yet another full day of fun and exploration in Siem Reap. The hotel is conveniently located but off a quiet side street. There is a wonderful atmosphere here that encourages me to return for another stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    201
    54
    13
    6
See reviews for
80
256
120
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

The title says it all! The staff is amazing and it is a true pleasure to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Staffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

Once again I'm staying at the wonderful Soria Moria in Siem Reap: perfectly clean, bright rooms, great A/C, roof top bar with a view over the skyline of central Siem Reap, great restaurant with daily promotions, and the staff is excellent - helpful, reliable and friendly. THis hotel is owned 51% by the Cambodian staff, so it is a great example of building the local economy. I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Try Room 105 - my favorite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SilkandStonesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Branch, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

Overall this is a good place to stay. Staff are friendly and helpful. Our airport pick-up, however, was messed-up; but that is the driver's fault who went to domestic terminal and left when he didn't find us, instead of the international (came in from Vietnam) as he was told to do. I called the hotel and they sent him back. Though this driver wanted to stay with us during our stay we instead employed one of their tuk-tuk drivers named Vurtha who we quite liked. He is knowledgeable and easy-going (I would recommend asking for him). We spent a week in Siem Reap visiting some of the temples multiple times. Went to Banteay Srey (aesthetically one of my favorites) and Roulus group. Vurtha took us everywhere including Silk farm (waste of time, don't bother going).
Soria Moria has good breakfast (rotate selections over 3 days) and in general good food. Very popular is their Wednesday night $1 dishes dinner, also Saturday night dinner discount.
I suppose the one downside is that it has no pool and after a hot day climbing around temples a swim would be nice. Location is good, an easy walk to 'Pub street' and all the bars/restaurants. A laundry place for drop-off is just around the corner on Wat Bo Rd.
BTW, if you are going by bus to or from Phnom Penh I suggest taking Giant Ibis, a new bus company, which is better (has free wireless too) and cleaner than Mekong Express (which we took from PP back to Saigon and wasn't as nice).
While visiting the temples you might get tired of the vendors, but stay relaxed and smile-- as they like to say "same, same, but different" -- Though Siem Reap is one of a kind and worth the visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
233 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

For the price, this is an excellent value. Spacious rooms, TV with cable, free wifi, safe, minibar and large bathroom with nicely packaged toiletries. It's also walkable (15-20min) to the main tourist haunt at Pub Street or just a couple of minutes if you opt for tuk-tuk. Importantly, it's fairly quiet in that area, so people who are inclined to turn in early will be able to.

The buffet breakfast has a small but adequate selection, which is subtley changed over the 4 days we were there. On our last day, there were not enough customers, so they cooked up ala carte for us. We received a voucher for free drinks at the rooftop bar which was nice and windy, but perhaps they should extend it's validity over the days we stayed there rather than just the first day.

My lasting impression of the hotel will be of the staff who never failed to be courteous and attentive, like greeting us each time we passed the reception to the restaurant. Even though the main lobby wasn't air-conditioned, someone inevitably placed a standing fan blowing in our direction each time we sat at the lobby. These are the small details that make for a delightful and memorable stay.

Sadly, there were some areas which will require more attention by the hotel management. Our washing basin was choked and required a few attempts over 2 days before the plumber managed to put it right. Our friend in another room had brownish water in his bath but got transferred to another room only after some firm protests. The first room we were allocated had a malfunctioning air-con.

Perhaps we were unlucky and I would like to think so, because otherwise, the hotel provided a great stay for us. So just one less star for the blemish mentioned.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tantiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

We stayed in Soria Moria when my friend and I decided to vacation in Siem Reap, Cambodia in late May. And boy, it was well worth it! We availed of their Angkor Wat package for our 5 days -4 nights stay and we never regretted a single moment. It was every bit value for your money and we will not hesitate to recommend this to anyone who wants to have a great Siem Reap experience.

Transport: From the time we arrived up to the time of our departure, everything was efficient. Our flight to Siem Reap was delayed for almost 2 hours so we touched down close to 12mn instead of our expected arrival of 2130H but our ever-patient driver (Tony) was still there, waiting for us when we arrived. He was also early to pick us up when we had to leave Siem Reap on our last day there. He was also assigned as our driver for the remainder of our stay there and I must say that he is quite an efficient driver/ semi –tour guide.

Tour package: We availed of their Angkor Wat package (5 days , 4 nights) at USD 199.00/person and I’d say this is really value for money. It includes the Angkor Wat tour for one day with an English speaking guide (ours was Sella, Hi Sella!) and we were able to explore the main temple, the Bayon temple and Ta Prohm; a half day tour with boat ride along the Tonle Sap Lake and we also get to visit the Silk Farm at Pouk District and their reservoir afterwards.

Location: The hotel is near most establishments like the Old Market, convenience stores, restaurants and walking distance to Pub Street (we were not keen on the night life so we weren’t able to explore this part of town, though). A tuktuk ride away also from the Lucky Mall.

Hotel: Rooms, Food and Staff Service
The room we had was spacious enough for two people, with a good enough bathroom with bath tub. The only thing I have noticed was the shower curtain which should be changed soon as this has become a bit yellowish with time. Also the sink had some problems during our stay although this was minimal during our stay. It would help if they could check on it though (Room 309, I have put it in the comment form so I hope they took time to check on it).

Air conditioning was very good as well as the daily turn down service. Very efficient, indeed! The hotel staff was very accommodating and go out of their way to assist us.
Restaurant service was also very good: the food they serve is varied with daily promos. When we were there, we were able to experience the Khmer traditional way of cooking and we enjoyed this a lot. Thanks Sopheak for the impromptu cooking tutorials!

We were also impressed with the management style that this Hotel has. The initial owners have turned over majority of the hotel ownership to its own staff which is a big motivator for the staff to excel in their craft. The Soria Moria also supports many community based programs so when we patronize this hotel, in a way, we take part in their projects as well.

Many thanks to Sinna, Sokha, Sochen, Sopheak, Tony and the rest of the owners-staff we have encountered during our stay at Soria Moria. We really hope that we can still return to Siem Reap and we will definitely stay with you again. (“,)

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd floor are quieter and the ones near the elevator are nice enough since they are not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jejebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

We stayed for three nights in May and we enjoyed our stay. We were picked up at the Bus station by a Tuk-tuk from the hotel. We also hired Tuk-tuk from the hotel to go to Angkor Wat, and it was great. Clean and spacious rooms, friendly and helpful staff and a relaxed atmosphere. There are several restaurants and bars nearby and the Pub street is only a short walk away. Nice view from the rooftop terrace. We also rented bicycles from the hotel and we had a great time in Siem Reap.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tokyotiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Karavansara Retreat & Residences
0.0 mi away
Reflections Art Boutique Hotel
Reflections Art Boutique Hotel
#116 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Frangipani Villa Hotel, Siem Reap
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hollywood Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
City River Hotel
City River Hotel
#86 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Um Theara
Villa Um Theara
#153 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soria Moria Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soria Moria Boutique Hotel

Property: Soria Moria Boutique Hotel
Address: Wat Bo Road | Salakamraok, Siem Reap 063, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#37 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#56 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Soria Moria Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soria Moria is a small cheerful hotel in the center of Siem Reap, with 38 bright and spacious rooms, establish by a Norwegian couple. Being a small intimate hotel, the Soria Moria Team is able to provide its guests with personalized service. It’s a 15 minute drive to Angkor Wat, and walking distance to the old market & the hustle and bustle of town. The hotel as an international restaurant and a Rooftop bar with great views, and there is also an open-sky Jacuzzi and a sundeck available. The initial idea behind Soria Moria was to combine a business opportunity with a strong focus on helping the community in which we work through various means. Through Soria Moria Educational Development Program the local employees have recently become majority owners of the business – an initiative to empower locals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotels.com so you can book your Soria Moria Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Soria Moria Boutique
Soria Moria Boutique Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing