We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a truly wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Soria Moria Boutique Hotel
Ranked #119 of 343 Hotels in Siem Reap
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This is a truly wonderful hotel”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

this is a truly wonderful hotel, older and without some of the facilities common in newer places, the rooms aren't the best i've ever been in, but they are more than adiquate, and totally in keeping with this wonderful area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    429
    207
    54
    13
    6
See reviews for
80
260
122
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denmark
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

This hotel has kept it's charm since we visited it 4 years ago even though al things in Siem Reap has changed towards a much more touristic atmosphere. The one thing, that have changed to the worse is the quality of the guide, the helpful staff provided us. But I guess its a question of the demand of guides in the booming Angkor Tourist Industry which means that anyone who can speak a little english an can afford at short guide course works as tourist guides.
Enjoy the rooftop bar - its a very nice place to sit in the evening an enjoy a drink just outside the the buzz of central Siem Reap with its Pup street and Night Market.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janboegh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easthampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

A midsize place in a quiet section of a busy city. The atmosphere was casual, the staff pleasant, and the food okay. Our room was basic, but clean and simple. The hotel staff were very helpful and responsive to requests. We enjoyed returning to our quiet AC'ed room after hot treks around the city and to cultural places. The bar and restaurant on the roof was fun. Loved the coop concept of shared ownership and the various programs run at the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ardnek88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonia, New Jersey
Level Contributor
105 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Must echo previous reviwer in that I heard about this hotel on NPR and they take seriously being socially responsible. The rooms were large. There is an elevator. The breakfast is extensive. They were able to help us with all activities that we were interested in: tuk tuk and guide one, car driver and guide the next and viewing apsara dancing one evening. We were given a welcome drink at the roof-top bar and enjoyed the jacuzzi there. The small pool was a good place to cool off.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MWG12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed here for a week in February and opted for the 5 days / 4 nights at $199 per person plus an additional 2 days at $55 (double occupancy). There offered a small buffet breakfast every morning and to our relief changed breakfast items every so often so you wouldn't be eating the same things every day. The hotel was clean and airy, which is a nice retreat. You could hang out at the rooftop bar or at the pool lounge by the lobby.

The staff were all friendly save one...the one who broke the news that our tour guide called in sick and would not be able to take us to Angkor the next day. It's like they taking candy away from a baby (me). Imagine getting really excited to see something and turns out you can't. I expect stuff like that to happen during backpacking but not during a package tour at a reputable hotel. But in all honesty, this happens all the time in Asia, so I had to remind myself that. It's just the way it works. Our guide we did get the following day, was only borderline okay. He didn't seem very enthusiastic about what he was doing and we got the sense he just wanted to leave as soon as possible. Either that, or he's racist and thought we wouldn't tip him cause we were yellow, can't blame him either. Towards the end, he found out I live in Canada and his attitude changed. Hahahahaha, the social experiments I play.

Otherwise, no complaints. We would like to point out that Sokha was super sweet and she was by far our favourite face to see in the hotel. Always smiling and courteous. She even knew how to say Terima Kasih (Thank You) in Malay. Our driver Sopha was a real decent guy too. I only remember the names of the people I like.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EvelynLoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Heard about this hotel on NPR. Norwegian founders have made the local staff majority owners and provide training for them as well. But the hotel is more than a training ground. It is well run, comfortable, convenient, and clean. The restaurant is adequate, not the best food I've ever had, but the choice is sufficient. The rooms are quite comfortable and quiet. Laundry service is available for a very reasonable price. There is a full concierge service, and the staff are knowledgable and helpful. It is well located, within walking distance to Pub Street. The hotel has its own staff of tuk-tuk drivers (ask for Samrach - really wonderful!). In short, it is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcvoyagerThailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Ridge
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

My friend and I stayed 3 nights at the Soria Moria.
The whole concept of the hotel sharing in a cooperative with the employees attracted us to this hotel.
The staff was very helpful and friendly, the hotel was spotlessly clean. They also do staff exchanges with their hotel in Scandinavia and we had a wonderful talk with one of the young women who was now living in Cambodia for 6 months.
The hotel is well located and offers a special of some kind every day: two for one drinks, appetizers for $1 a piece or even two for one meals.
We felt very safe and well taken care off. I can wholeheartedly recommend theh Soria Moria especially since it also cares for the Cambodian people by supporting them in work and other good causes which they sponsor

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MARIA R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Karavansara Retreat & Residences
0.5 mi away
The Villa Siem Reap
The Villa Siem Reap
#85 of 343 in Siem Reap
848 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hollywood Angkor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
City River Hotel
City River Hotel
#91 of 343 in Siem Reap
853 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sidewalk Never Die Hotel Siem Reap
0.2 mi away
Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soria Moria Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soria Moria Boutique Hotel

Property: Soria Moria Boutique Hotel
Address: Wat Bo Road | Salakamraok, Siem Reap 063, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#37 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#56 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Soria Moria Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soria Moria is a small cheerful hotel in the center of Siem Reap, with 38 bright and spacious rooms, establish by a Norwegian couple. Being a small intimate hotel, the Soria Moria Team is able to provide its guests with personalized service. It’s a 15 minute drive to Angkor Wat, and walking distance to the old market & the hustle and bustle of town. The hotel as an international restaurant and a Rooftop bar with great views, and there is also an open-sky Jacuzzi and a sundeck available. The initial idea behind Soria Moria was to combine a business opportunity with a strong focus on helping the community in which we work through various means. Through Soria Moria Educational Development Program the local employees have recently become majority owners of the business – an initiative to empower locals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Soria Moria Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Soria Moria Boutique
Soria Moria Boutique Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing