We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUPER”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Soria Moria Boutique Hotel
Ranked #122 of 353 Hotels in Siem Reap
Oslo
1 review
“SUPER”
Reviewed 4 December 2009

This hotel had very friendly staff and good service. They were good at recommending sightseeing and places to go, and helpful with ordering transportation etc. Very nice food, good selection of dishes, and large portions! :) Rooms were comfortable, clean and tastefully decorated. I would absolutely recommend this hotel for a stay in Siem Rap.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTLande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    429
    208
    54
    13
    6
See reviews for
80
260
122
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2009

My friends and I stayed for a whirlwind tour of the temples. The hotel were very helpful orgnaising a tuk tuk driver for the day (cost USD 17). We're not hard core templetons so if you're not either don't worry a day is more than enough to cover the major sites.

The hotel was clean and the welcome was very warm. What I particulalrly liked about the hotel was their emphasis on helping the community. It is a rare thing to find commerce and charity so beautifully intertwined. To that effect I at no way during my stay felt pressured to donate to causes - don't panic!! It's not like that at all. Do however take advantage of the gift shop there.

The room was large, nicely decorated and had a teeny tiny balcony. Some nice touches included the complimentary toiletries, the enormous si-fi but ecologically friendly toilet and decor. There were three of us travelling so the hotel added an extra bed with no problem.

The room had the usual facilities including a fridge, safety deposit box, guide books, air con etc. Also included a complimentary bottle of water.

In terms of location the hotel is USD 1 tuk tuk ride or a pleasant 5 to 10 minute stroll into town. Around the hotel you must go to the butterfly gardens for food its a lovely experience.

Food at the hotel was good. Breakfast was included and is buffet style. nice breakfast but I would say get up early if you want a hot breakfast! On our day of departure we had to leave before breakfast started so the hotel kindly packed breakfast for us which I thought was a very nice touch.

The roof top bar at the hotel was very nice with lovely views. Also they screen a different film on the top terrace every nice which is quite a social thing. Ooh the room had a DVD player and hte hotel has a DVD library excellent if you're knackered after trekking round temples.

Can't faul the hotel a relaxed, friendly, charitable and hospitable find. I'm glad we chose to stay here.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiddleM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2009

Nice, clean spacious hotel. We weren't in the hotel much, but had all the necessities including lock box in the room and an elevator for those who have trouble with the stairs.

It wasn't too far from Angkor Wat, the city's center or the airport. I did wish it was a bit closer to Pub Street, but still not a bad location.

Definitely a good option when staying in Siem Reap.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VAF84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristiansand, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2009

I´ve stayed at this hotel several times, my latest trip I stayed there for two weeks. The hotel is well managed by scandinavians, and the khmer staff is helpful and well up to date with the latest attractions in Cambodia.
Food is exellent and the different khmer dishes are in my opinion better than alot of the more expensive restaurants. And the roomservice option is a good feature.
In my opinion the rooftop bar with jacuzzi is one of Soria´s best features. The sunset view is beautiful from there, and the athmosphere is relaxed. And it really doesn´t hurt to have a drink in the jacuzzi after a long day in the temples or out on the road.
I´ve stayed in sevral guesthouses and hotels in Cambodia, but none that offer this kind of value for money. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Insomnia4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2009

If you want a 5 star hotel at a 2 star price this is it. The service and the staff are incredible. The attention to detail and kindness are beyond what I have experienced. I have stayed at many 5 star hotels including the Ritz in Paris and coutless 4 season hotels as well as the Peninsula. This small hotel shines above all. The staff especially the manager; Milla are extra ordinary. Thank You for everything.
PS: Take there package tour of Siem Reap.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2009

Location: Hotel is located about 5 minutes walk away from main town and about 10 minutes walk from main street. You walk down street to reach river, cross bridge and then walk down to reach edge of town. The walk is short. However, after spending whole day walking /climbing the temples, recommend that chose a hotel closer to the town. If you have $$$, then location is not an issue as you can get a tuk tuk to town for USD1. Don’t forget that the seasons are wet / dry (hot) which may deter people from walking.

Room: Stayed in 107. Size of room was a lot bigger than expected. Was in a twin room and the beds were actually double beds. Even with all the furniture, there was a lot of space. The fridge in room was cold and large compared to standard hotel fridges. We were able to freeze bottled water to take with us when walking around Angkor Wat. It is faster to walk the stairs than to take the lift to get to room. Room size and furnishings were above expectations.

Cleanliness: Hotel has a policy of not changing sheets / washing towels unless requested or after 3 days of use. This is standard “green” policy in most hotels. On first night there, my friend noticed that had dirt stain on one of the pillows. Besides this, everything else appeared to be clean. Floor is mopped frequently. Recommend that check sheets and get these items cleaned if required.

Facilities: Despite staying 3 nights, did not check out gym / pool / restaurant so cannot comment on these items. Hotel provides 1 computer for internet use. First 15 minutes is free and then charge. Ate breakfast in the hotel. The food and drink is highly recommended. Our favourite items include a) fried noodles [had tasty flavor compared to the bland stuff served at Angkor Wat and in town] b) banana pancakes [light and fluffy compared to standard pancakes, with slight banana flavour so it is not overpowering] c) lime juice [their juices are not watered down compared to other hotels we have stayed at, and good lime juice is very hard to find compared to watermelon / pineapple juice etc]. The variety of food is not as large as other comparable hotels. They have chosen quality over quantity.

Service: Staff are well trained to provide good quality service. We noticed that the night front desk staff were less informed compared to the day front desk staff. For example, asked day staff if they could create a package for us if we want to hire guide / driver for different activities. Day staff said that it is possible. Night staff said that we must follow as per what is on list. All staff are friendly. My friend bought a doll and wanted to wrap it in tissues to prevent it from breaking. Staff at front desk gave us one bag of tissues. We ended up using these tissues throughout our trip.

Overall: The service, food and room size is first rate. I would try another hotel if I was to go back to Siem Reap as prefer hotel closer to town and then come here to eat at the restaurant. Would recommend this hotel as a place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2009

Everything about the hotel was great. The breakfast was simple but adequate however if you were expecting something with more Khmer flavour, this isn't it. The room I was given was huge and faced the road. The furnishings were clean and I loved the green consciousness of the management. The only reason I wouldn't stay here would be the beds which were really hard - maybe I'm just used to something a little less firm. The staff were friendly and it's really easy to organise excursions. Just make sure to compare prices with a transport guy of your own because it can get a little pricy. The air-condition too was geriatric. We were in sweatsville cos our room faced the afternoon sun - it can get hot in Cambodia! Also there's no pool - bummer if you have a kid like me - but there's a jacuzzi and spa though. Anyway, if you're looking for a great location and have steely bones and hips but on a mid-range budget - this might be the hotel for you.

Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank dowlefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
City River Hotel
City River Hotel
#92 of 353 in Siem Reap
858 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Villa Siem Reap
The Villa Siem Reap
#86 of 353 in Siem Reap
856 reviews
0.1 mi away
Karavansara Retreat & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hollywood Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort
0.4 mi away
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
#114 of 353 in Siem Reap
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soria Moria Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soria Moria Boutique Hotel

Property: Soria Moria Boutique Hotel
Address: Wat Bo Road | Salakamraok, Siem Reap 063, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#31 Best Value Hotel in Siem Reap
#37 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#56 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Soria Moria Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soria Moria is a small cheerful hotel in the center of Siem Reap, with 38 bright and spacious rooms, establish by a Norwegian couple. Being a small intimate hotel, the Soria Moria Team is able to provide its guests with personalized service. It’s a 15 minute drive to Angkor Wat, and walking distance to the old market & the hustle and bustle of town. The hotel as an international restaurant and a Rooftop bar with great views, and there is also an open-sky Jacuzzi and a sundeck available. The initial idea behind Soria Moria was to combine a business opportunity with a strong focus on helping the community in which we work through various means. Through Soria Moria Educational Development Program the local employees have recently become majority owners of the business – an initiative to empower locals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Soria Moria Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Soria Moria Boutique
Soria Moria Boutique Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing