We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff; a decent choice if you don't believe all the hype”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Soria Moria Boutique Hotel
Ranked #144 of 365 Hotels in Siem Reap
Reviewed 21 May 2010

I chose this hotel based on the reviews on this website. I stayed in a deluxe room for 4 nights. Since it is the low season, I got the 4th night free. I chose the deluxe room mainly because the other rooms do not have safes in the room. There are some lockers on the ground floor, but this is supposed to be a boutique hotel, not a hostel. From what I could tell, the difference between deluxe and regular is (1) a larger bed, (2) a sunny room, and (3) the safe. So if you don't care about those things, the regular rooms are a much better value.

The room appears to be very clean because the floors have shiny tiles and the room is sparsely furnished. On a sunny day, it just gleams. However, I was very disappointed to find that my tub mat had large brown stains on it (it was folded so I did not notice until the morning) and the bed sheets seemed to have some old stains as well. I asked for both to be changed. Otherwise, I would say the place is adequately clean but hardly spotless. One night I ordered room service. The next day, my room was made up, but the dirty plate remained. Also, the cleaners always draped the hand towel over the sink. I found this unsanitary and hardly conducive to encouraging people to reuse towels.

The breakfast was pretty good. On two mornings there was a buffet, and on two mornings I ordered from a list since there were not enough guests to warrant a buffet. I had dinner at the restaurant, which was good. There is also a reasonable Burmese restaurant just up the street.

There is a booklet of suggested tours in the room, which I found helpful. Unfortunately the booklet does not contain any prices so you don't know what it's going to cost until you've pretty much decided on what to do. The staff is helpful with arranging these tours and activities.

A couple of things that bothered me (but I did not read in other reviews):
(1) The room is large with high celings, but the lighting is very dim. During the day, the room was sunny and cheerful. At night, I found it a bit depressing.
(2) The furniture was not very functional. There is a wardrobe and a few hangers, but it would have been more useful to have some drawers. Reviewers on this site say they lived there for weeks. I think that would be difficult.

The bottom line is that this place is definitely a step up from a hostel and many guesthouses, but it is not the place where you splurge. At a lower price, it is a reasonable option.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fiddleleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sreytin, Manager at Soria Moria Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2010

Thanks for your valuable feedback. I hope it will be useful for other guests planning their trip to Siem Reap.

I’d like to expand on a few things you have written about in your review, which hopefully will be clarifying for others.

The travelers guide you are mentioning has been compiled in order to make it easy for our guests to find out about activities and sights of interest in Siem Reap and Cambodia, as well as giving helpful tips and advise in how to get there, distance, how to dress/behave, to be a responsible tourist and other information.. Cambodia is a wonderful country with a lot to offer and we would like our guests to experience that. We are passionate about Cambodia, and in the booklet we have written about our favorite things, many of which are free activities that can be reached either by walking or bicycle. Others are further away and can be reached by moto, tuk-tuk, car or 4WD. It is meant to be informative reading for our guests to get ideas and inspiration to see and experience more than just the temples. There are no prices in the guidebook, as entrance tickets or fees are subject to change on short notice, especially depending on the seasons in Cambodia, and we don't want to display wrong prices/information. Instead we have updated price lists in our front office, and also our information boards on the ground floor that you can take to the room to study if you wish. It is possible to combine many activities that are in the same direction in one day tour, to make the most out of the time in Siem Reap (this is suggested in the booklet). Locations are marked on the map in the back of the book to make it easier to get a picture/overview of where everything is located etc. The transportation pricelist is also available on our website, for guests who would like to do planning prior to their arrival. Or front office staff are more than happy to call and inquire/book activities for you at no charge

Regarding to our room categories. We have 3 categories, standard, superior and deluxe. Although the deluxe rooms are similar to our other rooms they are the corner rooms and are slightly bigger (32-36 m2) and have more windows (2 sides of the room) so they are very light and bright, and 3 of them have a small private balcony. Additional amenities in deluxe rooms are king size bed, in room safety boxes, DVD player, and free rental from DVD library downstairs. Before only deluxe rooms had coffee & tea making facilities, but we now keep that inn all rooms. As you say, if those things are not important, the superior rooms (30-32 m2) area cheaper. The standard rooms are also similar (around 30m2), but are located either in the ground floor or 4rth floor. They are our cheapest alternative.

We apologize for the stained bath mat, this is not acceptable and we have had meetings with housekeeping/laundry about this issue. I am happy to let you know that our old bath mats have now been exchanged for new ones.

Regarding lighting in our rooms. We usually get comments that the rooms are very light and bright. However, as we, for environmental reasons, use eco friendly light bulbs, rooms can appear less bright than with the use of conventional light bulbs. In addition to the spotlights in the roof and the desk light, there are dimmers on the bedside lights so you can decide the level of light.

I am glad you enjoyed the breakfast, both buffet and breakfast to order. We usually have buffet, but on days with few guests (such as just after the volcano eruption on Iceland that resulted in flights from Europe cancelled/delayed for weeks, or with the recent situation in Thailand where tourism numbers dropped) we offer breakfast to order as an alternative, to ensure the food is freshly cooked to our guests

I appreciate the comment about drawers; it is a good suggestion for us. Regarding to the comment about guests staying with us for weeks; It is correct that we have many people staying with us long term; often 1-3 months or longer, if they are here for business, projects and volunteer work. We are happy to provide extra hangers for the closet and we also have extra shelves we can put into rooms on guests request. It’s always good to ask if you have an inquiry or feel something is missing in the rooms. Most things are easily fixed, and a small thing as an extra shelf could be provided on very short notice should that be needed.

I hope this is helpful information. For special enquiries or questions about our rooms, I would encourage everyone email us in advance or contact or front office staff during your stay. We would like our guests to have a memorable stay with us and are happy to get feedback and suggestions to improve.


Happy travels!!


Kristin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (724)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

524 - 530 of 724 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2010

I had a wonderful experience at this small boutique hotel. As a woman traveling alone I was so happy with the staff, especially the day staff, they made me feel at home and so very comfortable. They assisted me with the things I wanted to see and do, I do not like touristy bus tours, I don't think you can get a feel for a place through tinted windows. They had suggestions off the beaten path and it was fabulous. They also have the best tuk tuk driver by the name of Vutah (sp). Also the guide I hired for the day, they arranged for me, was wonderful, a wealth of knowledge and he spoke English very well. My room was the deluxe single, and was amazing. I was very pleased with the air conditioning in my room, I had heard some of the hotels have black out times, so I was pleased it worked well all the time I was in my room. The restaurant in the hotel had wonderful food. I can't say enough good things about my stay there.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carihappytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2010

I was working as a volunteer in Siem Reap in February/March 2010. First I stayed in a private accomadation, then I moved to Soria Moria Hotel thinking I would just stay there for a weekend...that never happened and I stayed there for the rest of my trip, 1 month exactly!

The location is perfect and it feels safe to walk alone to the center. As a single woman, that feels important.
The rooms are very comfortable, clean and nicely decorated. The rooftop-bar is the perfect place to watch the beautiful sunset and the friendly bartender will make sure get a good drink to go with it. The food is great and the prices are surprisingly comfortable too. I almost ate dinner at the hotel every day for a month.
The staff will help and guide you and do everything they can to make sure you'll have a pleasent stay. It's like a big family and they even arranged a "goodbye-party" when we left!!
I really recommand Soria Moria Hotel and I am sure you will be satisfied!!

Nina
Oslo, NORWAY

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2010

Just returned from Cambodia and a couple nights at the Soria Moria. This hotel is average at best and is certainly not a boutique hotel. Stayed at the Pavilion in Phnom Penh, a wonderful colonial building with loads of quirkiness, the Soria Moria has none of this; it is a modern, plain and characterless place.

The best thing was the staff, very friendly, polite and ready to help at any moment. Breakfast was a joke, the restaurant featureless. I was faced with pre-cooked poached eggs in a heater which were like rubber bullets, no problem when I asked for fresh ones however.

There is a PC terminal in the foyer which is so slow the trees at Angkor grow faster, the first 15 minutes are free but each time I used it I wasn't able to get beyond a hanging screen in that time.

The room was fine bit one boggle was no safe, some other rooms do have safes but these were all doubles and we required a twin. We were also told the place was full but I dint see evidence of this.

Location is fine, a 10 minute walk from the centre.

Would I stay again? No, for the money there are other more quirky hotels that really are boutiques I would explore first or even pay the extra for a top hotel.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daddymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2010

This hotel lingers in my mind. It really sums up the Cambodian spirit and was just the beginning of my love for this country and hotel. We only were able to stay for 3 days, which was definitely not enough to explore Siem Reap.

At the airport we took a prepaid taxi (unaffiliated with the hotel) in torrential rain and our driver was really laying it on thick to get us to take his tours, including claiming he didn't know where our hotel was and offering to take us to another or drop us in the rain.

We were adamant and finally arrived after I spotted it in passing, absolutely soaking wet. Everything from there on out was outstanding. They gave us a welcome drink, offered to carry our bags, and upgraded our room for the entire stay, since ours wasn't ready yet. They also remembered our names the entire time.

The restaurant areas (upstairs and downstairs) are both great. Many options, which are very inexpensive, yet delicious.

We took multiple tours with the hotel and their excellent tuktuk driver, Mr. Roth. They had a large variety of options, which makes deciding difficult.

The hotel is run by Norwegians, who are very helpful and socially aware. It was nice to find literature in our rooms about how to help the street children. This is an honest and upstanding place with high standards and a large social awareness. We're already planning to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duellema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2010

Great hotel spotlessly clean and close to the town centre albeit a tuk tuk is probably required but not expensive.The room we had on the first floor was large and every time we came back to the hotel after sight seeing an ice cold towel was given to us.A nice touch.Breakfast was good and although they had evening meals we ate in town at Indochina which was very good and the following evening at the Kymer kitchen which too was good and cheap..The hotel has a jacuzzi on the roof which is a pleasant way to relax with a beer after a day at Ankor Wat which is a must and indiscribeable.The taxi driver who collected us from the airport offered his services for a full day for 30USD plus 5USD for sunrise visit to Ankor Wat.This was my favourite place during my trip to SE Asia .Lastly hotel had free internet at reception.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottie012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2010

We stayed there for four nights and had a great time. The staff is incredibly nice and helpful, giving you a feeling of being at home instantly and making your stay very easy. Even for the high Cambodian hospitality standards, the Soria Moria staff definitely stands out. The rooms were very clean, nicely furnished and spacious. We simply enjoyed being there.

The only (slight) disappointment was the restaurant which had rather small portions and was not amazing, even though the breakfast was good. But since the hotel is only a 2 minute walk to all the Siem Reap restaurants that is no problem at all.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WLSMKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
City River Hotel
City River Hotel
#94 of 365 in Siem Reap
870 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel 20th Street
Hotel 20th Street
#121 of 365 in Siem Reap
252 reviews
1.6 mi away
Gloria Angkor Hotel
Gloria Angkor Hotel
#136 of 365 in Siem Reap
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hollywood Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
#40 of 365 in Siem Reap
510 reviews
0.1 mi away
Angkor Safari Hotel
Angkor Safari Hotel
#174 of 365 in Siem Reap
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soria Moria Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soria Moria Boutique Hotel

Address: Wat Bo Road | Salakamraok, Siem Reap 063, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#36 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#55 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: £29 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Soria Moria Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soria Moria is a small cheerful hotel in the center of Siem Reap, with 38 bright and spacious rooms, establish by a Norwegian couple. Being a small intimate hotel, the Soria Moria Team is able to provide its guests with personalized service. It’s a 15 minute drive to Angkor Wat, and walking distance to the old market & the hustle and bustle of town. The hotel as an international restaurant and a Rooftop bar with great views, and there is also an open-sky Jacuzzi and a sundeck available. The initial idea behind Soria Moria was to combine a business opportunity with a strong focus on helping the community in which we work through various means. Through Soria Moria Educational Development Program the local employees have recently become majority owners of the business – an initiative to empower locals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Soria Moria Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Soria Moria Boutique
Soria Moria Boutique Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing