We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Soria Moria Boutique Hotel
Ranked #153 of 374 Hotels in Siem Reap
Reviewed 5 August 2010

The Soria Moria is clean, comfortable and close to all of the major area sites. The staff of the hotel is incredibly friendly and helpful. There are also very five star hotel touches such as cold towels upon arrival back to the hotel in the Cambodian heat! We stayed there for over two weeks and it was a wonderful experience. I would definitely recommend this hotel for visitors to Siem Reap!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah44_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (724)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

517 - 523 of 724 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2010

The hotel staff were very accomodating for our group of NGO workers. The Soria Moria has friendly and always-helpful front desk staff (Sohka is the BEST!). We stayed two weeks and the hotel was always very clean. Our rooms were air conditioned, had WiFi, and were very comfortable. The old market and Pub street were within walking distance, and Ankor Wat was a short tuktuk drive away. The Soria Moria owners puts a lot of thought into the community as well. There are tuktuk drivers always at the front of the building, and the hotel insures the drivers, the hotel botique routinely has merchandise that benefits non-profits...etc. There are much more expensive and fancier hotels out there, but the Soria Moria has a beautiful, well-kept, comfortable at-home feel. I highly recommend the Soria Moria.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MangoSmoothie81615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

Each year a group of volunteer teachers from the US and Sweden spends two weeks in Siem Reap to conduct workshops with teachers from Siem Reap province. We stay at The Soria Moria Hotel and it is a wonderful, gracious lovely boutique hotel. THe location is perfect--close to the Old Market and Pub Street with a couple of reliable tuk-tuk drivers to take us around (ask for Vutha). The hotel rooms are spotless, quiet, large and bright. Wifi is available everywhere, and in the late afternoon the roof top bar overlooking the city is a wonderful place to prepare your work, enjoy their daily special and meet fellow travelers. I would give it SIX stars--the best experience for the best value.
Barbara

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SilkandStonesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2010

We stayed at the Soria Moria Boutique Hotel for 4 nights in July 2010 and felt we could not have made a better choice concerning quality/price. The service was excellent. We chose the hotel because it was listed as “our pick” in the Lonely Planet guidebook and we were not let down.

The room was spacious, clean, well laid out and well air-conditioned. The bed linens/decor were crisp, simple and attractive. When we arrived, we found that we had been given an upgraded room which we were very happy with except for the noise from the street. We asked for another room and were given one immediately. In fact, we were allowed to choose.

The breakfast buffet was certainly adequate with cereals, toasted bread, fruits, juices, and a few other hot items that don’t come to mind at the moment. We particularly liked the banana pancakes – yum!

We had an assigned tuk-tuk driver that was waiting for us at the airport and took us everywhere we wanted to go during our entire stay. Considering that drivers approached us every 2 meters in town offering a ride, it was a relief to be able to say we already had a driver waiting.

We booked an English-speaking guide through the hotel for visits to the Angkor Wat Temple complex. Our guide was very pleasant and we were pleased with our time with him.

The hotel is well located near the Old Market. It’s a short walk, but in the heat of the day we usually opted for the $1 tuk-tuk ride there. Ditto for the Night Market, which is just a bit further. A rooftop bar and hot tub are available, though we were too tired at the end of the day to try these out.

The staff was exceptionally helpful and friendly and we certainly appreciated every effort to make our stay so comfortable. If we return to Siem Reap in the future we will definitely return to the Soria Moria. We would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olitau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

For nine months during the period August 2009 through June 2010 the "Soria Moria Team" provided a consistently high level of service through all aspects of my stay in Siem Reap at a competitive group rate. I especially enjoyed the restaurant service, the variety of the menu and the weekly "special culinary events ". The houskeeping and laundry services fully support the needs of the long-term working guest. The sunset views from the rooftop were inspiring, Best of all the staff and management are working hard together to make the Soria Moria experience ever better.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lamalif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2010

My friend and I stayed at the Soria Moria during our trip to Siem Reap. We chose the 4N5D package they offered at only USD199 each. This was definitely a great deal because the package included: airport-hotel-airport transfers in an AC car with an English speaking driver, a tour guide during the one-day tour of the Angkor Temple Complex, visits to Tonle Sap, West Baray, Sangkheum Center, Angkor Silk Farm, breakfast everyday, a traditional Khmer dinner upon arrival, and a traditional Khmer massage. All entrance fees and driver + AC car were included in the package!

We got a deluxe double room which was very spacious. The room and the bathroom were exceptionally clean too! There was a complimentary fruit basket upon arrival and complimentary bottles of water, coffee and tea everyday! Also, during the tours there was an endless supply of water in the car to make sure you don't dehydrate in the heat! The bathroom also had nice clean towels and had the regular amenities (shampoo, soap, toothbrush, comb, etc.) and there was always a full stock of toilet paper!

Upon our arrival at Siem Reap airport we were greeted by our driver, Theara. He spoke English very well and I highly recommend this guy as he is very knowledgeable of his country and culture and is excited to meet new people and learn about different countries and cultures. The drive to the hotel from the airport was only about 15-20minutes. When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by the very friendly and heart warming staff. We had absolutely no problems with our booking and everything was in order. The receptionist, Sokha, made everything clear and told us about the hotel and a little bit of Siem Reap town. We were first booked for a room with a queen bed but Sokha asked if we preferred two single beds and allowed us to see the rooms and choose which one we wanted.

The hotel is only a 5 minute walk to the Pub Street area and Phsar Chas (Old Market). You can also take a tuk tuk for USD1 but we thought it was a bit silly to take when it wasn't raining since Pub St. was so close. Soria Moria is located on the corner of Wat Bo Road and Street 24. You can walk down Street 24 towards the Pub St. area but at night it is very dark. We were 2 girls and we walked this street at night and it was still relatively safe. I believe that the crime rate in Siem Reap is very low! But we were still very aware of our surroundings. Other times we take the next street down instead since it was more lighted. Down Wat Bo Road are other restaurants to check out such as Viroth's.

There is a rooftop bar and a jacuzzi for those who want to take a dip after a hot day at the temples. There is also a small workout area and spa on the 4th floor. The traditional Khmer massage that was included in the package is definitely worth it after all the walking and climbing at Angkor! The breakfast food was really good and they made some changes everyday so you won't really get sick of it. The traditional Khmer dinner was really good too!

I highly recommend this hotel because of its cleanliness, location and, most of all, its staff! They are all so friendly and always smiling and willing to help you the best way they can. The good thing about a smaller hotel is that the staff know your name and make you feel really welcome. Not only did we have a wonderful time seeing Angkor Wat and the other temples and other parts of Siem Reap, we also made friends with the people of Soria Moria! I will definitely stay here again the next time I am in town.

Forgot to mention, there's WIFI all throughout the hotel. I didn't bring a laptop but I was able to connect without any problems through my mobile phone. There is a computer downstairs for the guests to use although only the first 15 minutes are free.

By the way, I highly recommend Theara to be your driver if you decide to stay at the Soria Moria! Make sure you request for him!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jordynhmoreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2010

The staff at the front desk were so nice and helpful during my stay that I was a bit sad to say goodbye to them. Seriously. Extremely helpful with planning/scheduling tours for me.

PROS: The hotel was exceptionally clean. Laundry was very affordable and shows up same day. Staff is absolutely wonderful. Location is just a few blocks from the hustle and bustle, but nice and quiet. Room (Superior Single): roomy, very clean, marble floors, lock box, fridge, a/c.

CONS: Only one real complaint - the strength of the air conditioning. A/C turns off when you're not in the room. If you're looking for quick relief after a scorching hot day of touring temples, you won't get it. Not in a hurry anyway. The a/c was very slow to cool things off. The wireless reception was OK (laptop good, phone not so much). I liked the beds but I know many would call them too hard.

I would definitely consider going back despite my comments about the a/c. (In general, all of Siem Reap is very, very sparing in its use of air-con)

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markomatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel 20th Street
Hotel 20th Street
#128 of 374 in Siem Reap
259 reviews
0.1 mi away
City River Hotel
City River Hotel
#100 of 374 in Siem Reap
874 reviews
1.6 mi away
Gloria Angkor Hotel
Gloria Angkor Hotel
#147 of 374 in Siem Reap
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand River Angkor Hotel
Grand River Angkor Hotel
#90 of 374 in Siem Reap
298 reviews
0.3 mi away
Central Indochine D'angkor Hotel
0.7 mi away
Laysung Boutique
Laysung Boutique
#117 of 374 in Siem Reap
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soria Moria Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soria Moria Boutique Hotel

Address: Wat Bo Road | Salakamraok, Siem Reap 08368, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#34 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#55 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: £28 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Soria Moria Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soria Moria is a small cheerful hotel in the center of Siem Reap, with 38 bright and spacious rooms, establish by a Norwegian couple. Being a small intimate hotel, the Soria Moria Team is able to provide its guests with personalized service. It’s a 15 minute drive to Angkor Wat, and walking distance to the old market & the hustle and bustle of town. The hotel as an international restaurant and a Rooftop bar with great views, and there is also an open-sky Jacuzzi and a sundeck available. The initial idea behind Soria Moria was to combine a business opportunity with a strong focus on helping the community in which we work through various means. Through Soria Moria Educational Development Program the local employees have recently become majority owners of the business – an initiative to empower locals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Soria Moria Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Soria Moria Boutique
Soria Moria Boutique Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing