We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best and most friendly hotel I've ever stayed in.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Soria Moria Boutique Hotel
Ranked #135 of 356 Hotels in Siem Reap
Stavanger, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best and most friendly hotel I've ever stayed in.”
Reviewed 4 November 2010

This hotel has the most amazing staff ever! One of the first things you notice is how happy they are and how much they love their jobs. David the bartender is one of the cutest guys I ever met! The hotel staff is so organized, welcoming and polite. They helped us to organize trips to Angkor Wat, the floating village and a silk farm. In few words, I do not have a single complaint about this hotel! The location is amazing, the staff is the most friendly hotel staff I've ever met , the food was a magical culinary experience and this hotel made my trip to Cambodia complete! I would recommend this hotel to everyone I know!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarthaJohanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    208
    57
    14
    6
See reviews for
81
262
122
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trysil Municipality, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 November 2010

Walking distance to shopping, markets and restaurants
Local food around the corner
All the information you need in the lobby
Very good restauant
Roof top bar have better view than top of Angkor Wat.
Frindly staff, we had 10 nannies for the children.
Kids love the jaquzzi.
No problem with children in the temples but take only half days.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trysilknut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york, ny
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2010

I spent several lovely nights in Soria Moria and had a great time. the food was excellent and the staff extremely helpful. Highly recommended! Would definitely visit again!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

Although this is a hotel with good locations, and friendly staff (actually only 2 of the staffs are friendly and know what they were doing), although this hotel do good things to help the local communities, but I will NOT recommend this hotel to my friends. Firstly, I had requested for a smoking room and was allocated to a non-smoking room on a non-smoking floor. Upon checking with the staff, she had mentioned that all the smoking rooms are double rooms, and did offer to swap me to the other room. But what would I wanna do to the other bed since I am traveling alone? In the end I had to suffer the inconvenience of smoking outside the hotel. Not too good. Secondly, during my first night stay, the water from the hot water tap looked rusty and was not hot! I called up the front desk and the lady on night shift mentioned that I should leave it on for 5 mins. I left the water running for 10 mins and it is still rusty! I had to go down to the front desk and ask for a change of room. When I arrived at my new room (by the way I had to drag all my belongings with me, no help of shifting was rendered whatsoever!), the first thing i did was to check out the hot water tap. It was working fine with no rusty looking water, this is when i realise i had been taken for a ride! Thirdly, the EXTREMELY UNFRIENDLY owners just won't try to hold a conversation when I tried to initiate one. The lady own (some blonde lady) just gave me the impression that she is extremely uninterested in the conversation and kinda shoo'ed me away. Throughout the hotel, only 1 of the staff knew what she was doing. When she is away from the front desk, GOOD LUCK to whoever approached them! OVERALL EXPERIENCE IN THIS HOTEL, BAD!! oh yeah they seemed to be extremely friendly with Caucasians , if you are an Asian, good luck, the owners of this hotel simply wouldn't give a damn about you!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diviva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sreytin, Owner at Soria Moria Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2010
Dear Divivi,

Thank you for your feedback from your stay in Soria Moria. I am very sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay in our hotel. I am the owner and manager of Soria Moria, and unfortunately I never had the chance to meet you in person. As I spent the whole month of October in Bangkok attending a course in Southeast Asian Development studies, accompanied by one of our key front office staff and only returned this weekend, we were not in Siem Reap during your stay in Soria Moria.

To clear up any misunderstandings there might have been with regards to the smoking policy in Soria Moria. As you wrote, you were given the opportunity upon check-in to choose a smoking room, but were correctly informed that smoking rooms have two beds rather than one, and you chose the non-smoking room with one bed only. As you were informed, all our smoking rooms are twin rooms (charged at single occupancy for single travelers) located on the top floor. This is to avoid the smell of the smoke spreading to the non-smoking rooms. There are three designated smoking areas in our hotel; in the outdoor seating of our restaurant and outside the hotel building at the ground floor, and the Rooftop Bar on the 4th floor. I believe this is common practice in most hotels these days, and the majority of our guests seem to appreciate and respect this policy. Thanks anyway for giving us your feedback.

With respect to the broken hot water tank in your room, this is unacceptable and we are very sorry for the inconvenience it caused you. This is clearly a bad oversight from our housekeeping and maintenance department which should not have happened, and we will revise our routines on room checks after each checkout to prevent this from happening. I am however glad to hear you received a new room without problems immediately.


I must admit that I am a little unsure how to act in response to the comment about the lady owner "some blond lady" being extremely unfriendly and extremely uninterested in holding a conversation with you. We do appreciate constructive feedback, but the fact that I was not in Cambodia during your stay and never actually had the chance to meet you or talk to you, makes me feel this comment is somewhat unfair. I believe there must have been a misunderstanding somewhere along the way causing you to write it. To give you a little clarification; In Soria Moria we have only 3 staff that are not Cambodians. Myself and our trainee from a Hotel school in Holland who are from Norway, and my husband who is half Japanese. It could be that you are referring to our trainee, but although she is western she is not blond like you describe (and I would think too young to be mistaken as an owner). I can only guess, but I suspect that you might have mistaken one of our long term guests you would have seen around; wearing smart casual / business attire, doing work on laptops in the common areas and sometimes having small informal meetings in the lobby, feeling homely and often talking with other guests, might have given you the impression that they are to be associated with the hotel ownership, and not giving you the service and conversation you were expecting?

Regarding the statement that the owners of this hotel wouldn't give a damn about Asian guests, we are sorry that you have felt that way. I can, however, assure you that all nationalities are most welcome in Soria Moria, and we do not intentionally differentiate between the services provided according to race or different nationalities. Although I am from Norway and we welcome many Scandinavian, American, Australian and other European guests, I have spent most of the last ten years in Asia and very much enjoy the company of Asian guests. A large part of our guests (both short- and long-term guests) come from Asian countries including China, Japan, Singapore, Malaysia, Philippines, Thailand, Laos, Vietnam and India, as well as many local Cambodians guests. As I mentioned, my husband who was is in charge of the hotel operation during our absence is half Japanese himself, and certainly enjoys talking the Asian tourists staying with us. We keep in touch with many guests that have stayed with us, and as you can see from our facebook page and other online reviews, there is a good mix of nationalities - including many Asians.

With respect to the capabilities of our staff, I am sorry that you did not appreciate their efforts, and felt that only 2 of the staff know what they were doing. We usually take pride in the quality and consistency of our staff. Especially seeing that 95% of the employees in Soria Moria come from disadvantaged families living below the poverty line with very limited future outlooks, we are very proud of their performance and continuous development. As you mentioned, we are concerned about the local community, and have a strong focus on training and development of the local staff , hoping to create a win-win situation where both the guests and the locals can benefit from the interaction. To better cater for our Asian guests, all our staff recently received 3 months of Japanese language and culture lessons from a Japanese professor who stayed with us long term, and two of our receptionists have been on training trips in Thailand. They are also given onsite language lessons in English and Norwegian language. In addition to onsite training, we offer a higher education program where currently 11 staff are being sponsored through university, we conduct yearly all-staff training trips to other parts of the country where our local staff can learn about other destinations in the country and experience first-hand how it is to be a tourist. The intention is to create a deeper understanding of the dynamics of tourism and, thus, be able to better serve visitors to Soria Moria, Siem Reap and Cambodia. One of the main things learned on these trips is the importance of providing the same level of service to all guests regardless of their race or nationality and I feel sorry that your experience in Soria Moria has been perceived otherwise. I can ensure you that we will take your comments to our hearts and do our best to avoid anyone else having a similar experience in the future.

On behalf of myself and the staff in Soria Moria, we are sorry that we did not meet your expectations, but we hope you accept our sincere apologies and that you still enjoyed some of the magnificent sights of Siem Reap, and the friendliness of the Cambodians you may have met along the way during your sightseeing.

Kristin Hansen,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong kong
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2010

Nice little hotel. Nothing fancy, but great service. Staff tried their best to help out with any questions. It was very quiet. The tuk tuk drivers they have outside are varied. Go for the quiet guy with the big smile. He never tried to rip us off. Very nice.
B'fast was satisfactory. Not a huge choice, but lots of fresh fruit.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Netster11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballan, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

This was my third trip to Siem Reap and first time staying at The Soria Moria Hotel. As a solo traveller, I was so glad to stay here as I felt very comfortable and totally safe. The staff were genuinely warm and friendly, very knowledgable about the Siem Reap and outer areas, and I could sleep well knowing my money spent at Soria Moria was going to good causes in the local area in terms of community development.

The Fushion Kitchen is a must, even if you don't stay here. I loved being able to have a wonderful traditional Fish Amok with a serve of wedges! The roof top bar was my favourite place at the end of the day to wind-down with a mohito in the jacuzzi or chat to the lovely bar staff, watch the sun set over the city, and download my photos onto Facebook using the free wifi found throughout the hotel.

I'm not sure how many rooms are there, but I certainly got that boutique feel - not too busy, not too quiet. Small, but with first-class service. It's an easy walk into town so you don't always have to use tuk-tuks. One block from the river also makes a nice opportunity for a stroll if you like.

I got really sick on the last day (after eating out of town and making a slightly dodgy choice for lunch) and the staff were so brilliant and looked after me so well. I was so close to just cancelling my flight but they helped me get myself together and provided me with paracetamol and Immodium and a Vitamin C drink, and helped me with my bags and all my stuff. By the time I arrived at the airport I was feeling ready to fly. I can't thank them enough.

Finally, this was the first time I've stayed in a developing country and not had anything stolen! I think its credit to the hotel that the staff are obviously very well looked after.

Anyway, it's quite clear from my review that I absolutely recommend this hotel and will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clair3J0n3s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2010

The staff at Soria Moria went above-and-beyond to make my stay with them as enjoyable as possible. Room decor was simple, but very clean and spacious with well-appointed bathrooms. Rooftop bar and jacuzzi were nice touches. The location is excellent. A little tough to find for someone new to Siem Reap, but that's actually a good thing: it's a very quiet environment despite being only a 5 minute walk to Pub Street.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HongyKongkMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Hollywood Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Villa Siem Reap
The Villa Siem Reap
#87 of 356 in Siem Reap
860 reviews
0.1 mi away
Karavansara Retreat & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
City River Hotel
City River Hotel
#94 of 356 in Siem Reap
860 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
#119 of 356 in Siem Reap
550 reviews
0.8 mi away
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
#41 of 356 in Siem Reap
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soria Moria Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soria Moria Boutique Hotel

Property: Soria Moria Boutique Hotel
Address: Wat Bo Road | Salakamraok, Siem Reap 063, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#29 Best Value Hotel in Siem Reap
#37 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#56 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Soria Moria Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soria Moria is a small cheerful hotel in the center of Siem Reap, with 38 bright and spacious rooms, establish by a Norwegian couple. Being a small intimate hotel, the Soria Moria Team is able to provide its guests with personalized service. It’s a 15 minute drive to Angkor Wat, and walking distance to the old market & the hustle and bustle of town. The hotel as an international restaurant and a Rooftop bar with great views, and there is also an open-sky Jacuzzi and a sundeck available. The initial idea behind Soria Moria was to combine a business opportunity with a strong focus on helping the community in which we work through various means. Through Soria Moria Educational Development Program the local employees have recently become majority owners of the business – an initiative to empower locals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Soria Moria Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Soria Moria Boutique
Soria Moria Boutique Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing