We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff, perfect location, great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Soria Moria Boutique Hotel
Ranked #137 of 356 Hotels in Siem Reap
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely staff, perfect location, great value”
Reviewed 2 January 2011

Soria Moria is the perfect place to be based for your Angkor trip. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable (plus, this was the only hotel in our 2 week trip where we had proper water pressure and hot water that lasts through the entire shower). The staff is helpful and friendly - they arranged our tuk-tuk and/or tour guide each day, packed breakfast for us when we had an early departure, and had excellent English speaking skills to give tourism tips beyond temples. The buffet breakfast (included) has a good variety and changed daily. The hotel is a 5m walk from the center of town for restaurants, markets, etc. The hotel street itself is quiet (but safe to walk to/from town). Then there are little bonuses - like a cute little rooftop area for sunset drinks or snacks. Each night they have specials in either the rooftop area or ground floor restaurant - $1 drink/tapas menu on Wednesday was our favorite!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExplorerGirl00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    429
    208
    57
    14
    6
See reviews for
81
262
122
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2011

We stayed there for 3 nights. We booked the hotel via email and the response rate was quick. The location is good, across the river from the old town and the markets. What is impressive is the service from the hotel employees. We arranged all our tours with them and received good advice and a very good tour guide who took us to the temples. Please request for Serey, he was knowledgeable and pleasant. Made a good recommendation for our best meal in Siem Reap.

The hotel is good value spacious clean rooms. Our room was on the third floor and was quiet. Would stay there again to experience the smiles from everyone at Soria Moria.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tumesecha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2010

I had a great stay at the Soria Moria. It started just after I booked when I e-mailed them to confirm the free airport pick-up - I got a very fast response. When I landed there was indeed a tuk-tuk waiting for me, and my room was ready when I got to the hotel around 8.30am! The staff were really helpful and booked a tour guide for me for two days, and also recommended that I get my temple pass that evening as you can get a free sunset. The hotel location was perfect - just across the river from the old market - 5-10 minutes' walk - so it was easy to get around Siem Reap without being in all the hustle and bustle. It is a much better area to stay in than the Airport Road if you want to be able to get into the the centre of Siem Reap easily. I treated myself to a superior room which was nice - plenty of space and the bed itself was very comortable. One niggle was that there were no blackout curtains so it was hard to sleep past 7am - although I was getting up early most days anyway! The food was also good - normally I do not eat in hotels where I am staying, but I had two lunches and one dinner there as the menu was good - a mix of local and European. Breakfast was included in the price and was also good - slightly different every day. One slight negative was that the bar shut at 10pm which seemed a bit early - it would have been nice to get a nightcap! Overall no complaints though - and the fact that they are working with the local community made the stay feel even more worthwhile. The staff made me feel very welcome throughout and addressed me by name - they really were great and I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alis0nR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2010

We were searching for accommodation from Tripadvisor.com in Siem Reap for 4 months before the actual date of stay. Budget were one of the main considerations but the reputation of the hotel was also important. We read many good reviews about Soria Moria and decided to give it a try. The hotel is not located near to Pub Street but it is a comfortable 5 to 10 minutes walking distance away, and this was pretty ideal for us because it was located not too near or far from the crowd. Security of the hotel is excellent too as we noticed that there was a security guard stationed outside the hotel in the evening. The room is spacious and basic amenities were provided. The room as well as facilities within the hotel were clean and well maintained. What I must say about this hotel is that all the staff provide excellent service and were very friendly towards us. We had many questions about getting guides and transport for the days spent and the staff were very patient and gave us recommendations and good advice. We left Soria Moria feeling warm in our hearts and remembering the staff who were always full of smiles and this indeed made our stay in Siem Reap a very memorable one.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Immaculate12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 27 December 2010

We travelled directly from Oslo, Norway to Bangkok, then to Siam Reap.
From the moment we stepped into the hotel lounge we felt welcome and relaxed. The staff were very service minded, and the rooms comfortable with aircon.
The roof top bar offered a nice view, the prices were very competitive and the food was actually among the best I ate in Siam Reap during our stay. The Jacuzzi on the roof top was a lifesaver after a long day of sightseeing the temples.
Furthermore the staff arranged guided tours for a very nice price, tours where you get to see more thay you expect : )
We think Soria Moria delivered more than its international 3 stars rating, and we can definitely recommend it !

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcusRii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2010

To be honest, if all you want is a plain, clean hotel that is well situated in Siem Reap, then this is a pretty good hotel. However, if you're looking for a stylish, trendy, scando-asian decor, good food and something "boutique", then this will disappoint. There's not a lot to complain about - it's clean, large, the staff are excellent and friendly, it's really well located - but it lacks style. I was simply expecting more.

Food was poor and the curtains were so light that come sunrise it was hard to tell if there was anything covering the windows at all!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyWrenSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama, Bahrain
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2010

A walking distance from everything. Clean. I wish there was a pool, but other than that, cozy little place.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fay_fay4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Hollywood Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Villa Siem Reap
The Villa Siem Reap
#87 of 356 in Siem Reap
860 reviews
0.1 mi away
Karavansara Retreat & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
City River Hotel
City River Hotel
#93 of 356 in Siem Reap
859 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
#119 of 356 in Siem Reap
550 reviews
0.8 mi away
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
#41 of 356 in Siem Reap
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soria Moria Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soria Moria Boutique Hotel

Property: Soria Moria Boutique Hotel
Address: Wat Bo Road | Salakamraok, Siem Reap 063, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Best Value Hotel in Siem Reap
#28 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#37 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#56 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Soria Moria Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soria Moria is a small cheerful hotel in the center of Siem Reap, with 38 bright and spacious rooms, establish by a Norwegian couple. Being a small intimate hotel, the Soria Moria Team is able to provide its guests with personalized service. It’s a 15 minute drive to Angkor Wat, and walking distance to the old market & the hustle and bustle of town. The hotel as an international restaurant and a Rooftop bar with great views, and there is also an open-sky Jacuzzi and a sundeck available. The initial idea behind Soria Moria was to combine a business opportunity with a strong focus on helping the community in which we work through various means. Through Soria Moria Educational Development Program the local employees have recently become majority owners of the business – an initiative to empower locals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Soria Moria Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Soria Moria Boutique
Soria Moria Boutique Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing