We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than lived up to expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Soria Moria Boutique Hotel
Ranked #122 of 353 Hotels in Siem Reap
geelong
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“More than lived up to expectations”
Reviewed 27 February 2011

The hotel was recommended by a friend who stays there regularly. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will happily recommend to any friends. The Staff,accommodation and advice/help was exceptional. A small disappointment was dinner one night which did not meet expectations/recommendation/reputation. But that is a comment not a complaint as any restaurant can have an off night.

We would very happily stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wandererhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    429
    208
    54
    13
    6
See reviews for
80
260
122
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2011

Although we were impressed with the front desk service and the owners' community-building efforts, poor housekeeping and excessive mold in the bathrooms made us want to flee to a better hotel, which we did after two nights. That being said, I have made my concerns known to the owners, who seem really nice, in a comment form and hope that they respond with improvements. With those changes, I could recommend this hotel, especially for families with small children. The owners' treatment of staff seems really suberb. Every year they take all of the staff to a seaside retreat by the Cambodian seaside.

Our concerns:
The mold-- the Lonely Planet described the bathroom fixtures of this hotel as impressive, but the deluxe double we stayed in featured an older tub and sink. There was extensive mold all over the shower, most likely due to the poor ventilation in a humid climate. As the electricity for the room is controlled by the key, it is impossible to keep a fan running during the day if guests are outside of the room.

The poor housekeeping:
When we first arrived to our room, there was a roll of toilet paper strewn on the floor along with some dust. The front guest profusely apologized for this. However, throughout our stay we continued to see signs of haphazard cleaning and forgetfulness that led us to think that the housekeeping was poorly managed/supervised. When we arrrived back to the room after the first night, the housekeeper had forgotten to put the pillows on the bed and had left them on the side table. The bed runner was sitting on the TV, and she had forgotten to restock our water. When we walked through the halls, we saw a group of housekeepers sitting on the floor and chatting. When they saw us, they immediately got up and started to look busy, obviously feeling guilty. In our comment form to the hotel we suggested that they follow a checklist system.

Overall, we applaud the hotel's community efforts. However, they need to go ahead and supervise their house cleaning staff and remodel bathrooms.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diplogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, TN
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2011

You can find cheaper rooms in Siem Reap but this one had a very helpful staff, very clean rooms (no bedbugs) and walking distance to city center.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TNCloud9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2011

A fantastic hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. The room (superior) was big, bright, wonderfully decorated with fabrics and wood from local artisans. Room service available and internet free of charge. The breakfast was great with different hot dishes every day. On the roof there is a bar and a jaccuzzi. There is also a gym and spa room on the top floor. The location is perfect: a few steps from the city centre, still calm without too much noise from the surrounding streets. The hotel offers fixed trips incl hotel stay and guided tours. We were very pleased with this arrangement.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stinan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Cruces
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2011

This hotel has a very warm and friendly staff. The room was large, clean, and well-equipped. After a day of climbing pyramids, the rooftop jacuzzi was just what was needed - and the bar provided welcome libations! Breakfasts were fine, and dinner at the restaurant served us delicious fish amok and chicken curry. Location great, out of the busy center, but a short walk to the restaurants and taverns downtown. Loved it!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2011

We were a family of four with 2 kids visiting over the Chinese New Year. Nice hotel with friendly staff and moderate prices for reasonable sized rooms. Location is excellent : only 5-7 min walk from the center of town. Rooms were clean and Wifi (free) available everywhere. Breakfast is western/continental and decent but not exceptional. We didnt use the rooftop jacuzzi or get time to go to their bar. The hotel helped us book a car for our local sightseeing at reasonable rates. As such, good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sridhar_srin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akureyri, Iceland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2011

This is such a great hotel!
I am so pleased I found it after some searching on the web!
It is very good value with very clean big light rooms and the staff are very friendly and helpful including the owner!

The location couldn´t be better - only about 5 minutes walk from the night market. Breakfast, which is included in the price, is also very good and very generous.
Outside the hotel you will always find Tuc Tucs which is good.

The thing which also makes this hotel so special is that they have thought about the little things like slippers in the room, free water in the room which is renewd every day. 15min free internet which is great if you don´t want to sit long but maybe just want to check a booking or check your e-mail.
They also have "small events" in the restaurant which is very nice!
This hotel really cares about their guests! So if you don´t know where to stay in Siem Reap go for Soria Moria Hotel, you will not regret it!

PS! When you have had enough of temples please go and visit the silk farm - very interesting and fascinating!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globetrotter189852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
City River Hotel
City River Hotel
#92 of 353 in Siem Reap
857 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Villa Siem Reap
The Villa Siem Reap
#86 of 353 in Siem Reap
856 reviews
0.1 mi away
Karavansara Retreat & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hollywood Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort
0.4 mi away
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
#114 of 353 in Siem Reap
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soria Moria Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soria Moria Boutique Hotel

Property: Soria Moria Boutique Hotel
Address: Wat Bo Road | Salakamraok, Siem Reap 063, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#37 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#56 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Soria Moria Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soria Moria is a small cheerful hotel in the center of Siem Reap, with 38 bright and spacious rooms, establish by a Norwegian couple. Being a small intimate hotel, the Soria Moria Team is able to provide its guests with personalized service. It’s a 15 minute drive to Angkor Wat, and walking distance to the old market & the hustle and bustle of town. The hotel as an international restaurant and a Rooftop bar with great views, and there is also an open-sky Jacuzzi and a sundeck available. The initial idea behind Soria Moria was to combine a business opportunity with a strong focus on helping the community in which we work through various means. Through Soria Moria Educational Development Program the local employees have recently become majority owners of the business – an initiative to empower locals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Soria Moria Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Soria Moria Boutique
Soria Moria Boutique Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing