We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but not outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Soria Moria Boutique Hotel
Ranked #119 of 337 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Thailand
Level Contributor
303 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Good but not outstanding”
Reviewed 1 March 2011

The rooms are basic but of good size. Breakfast was also quite basic but adequate. Location is convenient -- walking distance to the old market area across the river. The main strength is the staff -- they are extremely nice and friendly, though some lacked basic knowledge. Be careful with the packages offered -- the tours, etc. and even the massage are not by the hotel staff but by outsourced parties -- and standards can vary. The rooftop jacuzzi was not clean.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    204
    54
    13
    6
See reviews for
80
257
121
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2011

Unpretentious hotel but one that has all the amenities that a visitor to Angkor could want. Sure you could get a hotel that has a fancier lobby, restaurant and bar-but if that is what you want why bother coming to Siem Reap. The hotel is clean, quiet and e staff very friendly.We had asked them to arrange a van and guide for us both of which they were able to do and at the guide Joe Top was very good. Soria Moria is walking distance from Pub street and the market.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crazyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
1 review
Reviewed 28 February 2011

We stayed 4 nights and were very happy with everything : nice room and amenities, very nice breakfast, quiet yet central location, and charming and very helpful staff. I would definitely come back !

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiksTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geelong
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2011

The hotel was recommended by a friend who stays there regularly. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will happily recommend to any friends. The Staff,accommodation and advice/help was exceptional. A small disappointment was dinner one night which did not meet expectations/recommendation/reputation. But that is a comment not a complaint as any restaurant can have an off night.

We would very happily stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wandererhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2011

Although we were impressed with the front desk service and the owners' community-building efforts, poor housekeeping and excessive mold in the bathrooms made us want to flee to a better hotel, which we did after two nights. That being said, I have made my concerns known to the owners, who seem really nice, in a comment form and hope that they respond with improvements. With those changes, I could recommend this hotel, especially for families with small children. The owners' treatment of staff seems really suberb. Every year they take all of the staff to a seaside retreat by the Cambodian seaside.

Our concerns:
The mold-- the Lonely Planet described the bathroom fixtures of this hotel as impressive, but the deluxe double we stayed in featured an older tub and sink. There was extensive mold all over the shower, most likely due to the poor ventilation in a humid climate. As the electricity for the room is controlled by the key, it is impossible to keep a fan running during the day if guests are outside of the room.

The poor housekeeping:
When we first arrived to our room, there was a roll of toilet paper strewn on the floor along with some dust. The front guest profusely apologized for this. However, throughout our stay we continued to see signs of haphazard cleaning and forgetfulness that led us to think that the housekeeping was poorly managed/supervised. When we arrrived back to the room after the first night, the housekeeper had forgotten to put the pillows on the bed and had left them on the side table. The bed runner was sitting on the TV, and she had forgotten to restock our water. When we walked through the halls, we saw a group of housekeepers sitting on the floor and chatting. When they saw us, they immediately got up and started to look busy, obviously feeling guilty. In our comment form to the hotel we suggested that they follow a checklist system.

Overall, we applaud the hotel's community efforts. However, they need to go ahead and supervise their house cleaning staff and remodel bathrooms.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diplogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2011

You can find cheaper rooms in Siem Reap but this one had a very helpful staff, very clean rooms (no bedbugs) and walking distance to city center.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TNCloud9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 February 2011

A fantastic hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. The room (superior) was big, bright, wonderfully decorated with fabrics and wood from local artisans. Room service available and internet free of charge. The breakfast was great with different hot dishes every day. On the roof there is a bar and a jaccuzzi. There is also a gym and spa room on the top floor. The location is perfect: a few steps from the city centre, still calm without too much noise from the surrounding streets. The hotel offers fixed trips incl hotel stay and guided tours. We were very pleased with this arrangement.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stinan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.0 mi away
Reflections Art Boutique Hotel
Reflections Art Boutique Hotel
#116 of 337 in Siem Reap
207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Karavansara Retreat & Residences
0.1 mi away
Hollywood Angkor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Frangipani Villa Hotel, Siem Reap
0.1 mi away
City River Hotel
City River Hotel
#87 of 337 in Siem Reap
838 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soria Moria Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soria Moria Boutique Hotel

Property: Soria Moria Boutique Hotel
Address: Wat Bo Road | Salakamraok, Siem Reap 063, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#37 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#56 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Soria Moria Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soria Moria is a small cheerful hotel in the center of Siem Reap, with 38 bright and spacious rooms, establish by a Norwegian couple. Being a small intimate hotel, the Soria Moria Team is able to provide its guests with personalized service. It’s a 15 minute drive to Angkor Wat, and walking distance to the old market & the hustle and bustle of town. The hotel as an international restaurant and a Rooftop bar with great views, and there is also an open-sky Jacuzzi and a sundeck available. The initial idea behind Soria Moria was to combine a business opportunity with a strong focus on helping the community in which we work through various means. Through Soria Moria Educational Development Program the local employees have recently become majority owners of the business – an initiative to empower locals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Soria Moria Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Soria Moria Boutique
Soria Moria Boutique Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing