We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Powerful experience”

Cambodia War Remnant Museum
Ranked #50 of 199 things to do in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The War Remnant Museum is a museum and a center that provides education/training and support for dozens of at-risk people and landmine survivors. The War Remnant Museum was created so that it might serve as a place of healing for bodies, hearts and minds. We believe that love, support and education and teaching new skills will help secure a better opportunity in life.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is an incredible museum built on top of a killing field from the Khmer Rouge regime. We got a personal tour from an ex-child soldier, and the highlight of the experience was talking to him and learning about his past. While the museum is humble in its artifacts, it is hard not to feel the emotion and trauma of this site’s terrible past.

Thank Tasha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraveltoWonder, Public Relations Manager at Cambodia War Remnant Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for such a wonderful and thoughtful review. It is indeed a special place. It is a reminder of a difficult past and yet we believe is evidence of a hopeful, peaceful future - healing through history. We're so thrilled you found Suon's story so interesting, compelling and powerful. Thanks again for taking the time to visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"child soldier"
in 10 reviews
"khmer rouge"
in 11 reviews
"social enterprise"
in 6 reviews
"first hand"
in 7 reviews
"local children"
in 6 reviews
"land mines"
in 7 reviews
"personal stories"
in 5 reviews
"stories told"
in 3 reviews
"english classes"
in 3 reviews
"pol pot regime"
in 3 reviews
"entrance fee"
in 6 reviews
"touching experience"
in 2 reviews
"amazing project"
in 2 reviews
"true story"
in 2 reviews
"great chance"
in 2 reviews
"life story"
in 2 reviews
"recent history"
in 4 reviews
Filter

4 - 8 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2018 via mobile

It is a small museum to display 40's to 60's machine gun, land mines and artillery , to be honest, the display are not special at all, you can see more and bigger guns and weapons in other war museum.

However , this is the only place that you can directly talk to a veteran who was a solider for 14 years.

Also , there are a lot of similar museum in Siem Reap please clearly tell you tuk tuk driver or your guide about the location. Otherwise they my bring you to another place

Thank Joe Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraveltoWonder, Public Relations Manager at Cambodia War Remnant Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Thanks for your review and for coming to visit our museum. And yes there are similar museums with more guns and displays, but you will be hard pressed to find anyone in Siem Reap with a more compelling and important history who is so open about their experience and past. Suon's story will make you think about war, peace and reconciliation in new ways. This is a special place. And thanks for the good advice on finding your way to the museum. Please come and visit again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2018 via mobile

I visited the Cambodia War Remnant Museum with my friend because I wanted to learn a bit more about Cambodia's history, politics and the conflicts.

Amm Sam Suon's (the creator of the museum and on-site guide) story is very moving and sad. But his openness and willingness to share his life and experiences to educate visitors and contribute to the future of Cambodia is touching and inspiring.

He has created an interesting and educational showcase of Cambodia's war-torn history, including artillery and land mines used in the conflicts and accompanied by information signs hand written by Amm Sam himself.

The entrance fee is US$5 and the money goes towards educating the local children. We also made an extra donation towards this because we enjoyed our experience so much.

It is less than 10mins from the centre of Siem Reap by tuktuk. We got a driver to take us there and wait for us and bring us back for US$12.

I think that place is well worth a visit if you are in Siem Reap.

Thank T6594IZlaurah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraveltoWonder, Public Relations Manager at Cambodia War Remnant Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Amazing. Thank you for your thoughtful review! We're so thrilled you were moved by Suon's story. He is only too willing to share. And it's the best deal in town for a 5$ entry fee and a life changing experience to be sure. Thanks again and please do help us spread the word.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018 via mobile

Its run by a veteran, a heart felt little museum. He runs a little school on the premises which we taught as volunteers, that was one of the most amazing experiences we had in Cambodia.

Thank Danny_Kim_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraveltoWonder, Public Relations Manager at Cambodia War Remnant Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

So sorry you had to "dig" to find us! We're working on making that a little easier for our guests. But thank you so much for coming out and making the trip either way! We too feel it is a "heartfelt" museum. So thrilled you were able to take part in a local and meaningful Cambodian experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2018

Don't miss the opportunity to talk to people who were in the war and can give you first-hand details. The museum shows weapons, mines, some pictures... but the most interesting part is to meet the ex-soldiers. Apart from that, there is an amazing educational project run in the museum helping children from the nearby neighborhood.

Thank keltikee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraveltoWonder, Public Relations Manager at Cambodia War Remnant Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Thank you so much for your visit and your thoughtful review. So glad you dropped by to the see the museum, the guides, hear their remarkable stories and check out the project as well. We couldn't agree more - "Don't miss the opportunity." Enjoy your trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cambodia War Remnant Museum also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Cambodia War Remnant Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;