We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$174
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$63
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$56
US$44
Priceline
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$71
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anantara Angkor Resort(Siem Reap)
US$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$35
US$29
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$44
US$43
Hotels.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$151
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,162)
Filter reviews
2,162 results
Traveller rating
1,917
218
18
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,917
218
18
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstuk tuk driverbedtime storiesangkor watrice soupyour disposalguide bookjunior suitelittle touchesan english speaking guideincluded in the room ratemosquito netalways on timeentire stayfresh fruitsmall hotelfree massagean oasis
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
765 - 770 of 2,162 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We have just spent four nights at this great hotel in Siem Reap. Arrived at 8.30am after a long trip from home and we were picked up as arranged from the airport and delivered to the front door, and that is what greeted us, a door in a busy main road, next to workshops and small stores. We were then engulfed by a group of young men and women who took our bags and gave us cold drinks and towels while leading us through the beautiful gardens to reception. Once we entered the grounds any view or sound of the outside stopped and we were totally relaxed. Fully expecting to be told that our rooms 'weren't ready yet' we were spoken to by young Mr Danny who explained everything that we needed to know about the hotel, including our benefits, all standard, a tuk tuk at our disposal throughout our stay, complimentary massages and breakfast available all day in the restaurant. We were then taken to our rooms without any of notion of 'we're doing you a favour by letting you check in early.'
This was our first hotel experience in Cambodia and I cannot see how staff could be more helpful, friendly and caring, all of our needs were met with transport and tours. I became ill on day three and any of the staff that became aware offered best wishes and even suggestions to get me back on my feet.
The grounds are a tropical garden with two beautiful pools. The restaurant setting was nice and breakfast was great, we even had it at 3pm on our temple visit day and 6pm in our room on my bedridden day! The geckos, frogs and fish ponds fitted in to the natural setting.
The two ladies in our group kept the spa ticking over every day and loved it.
In all of this bliss there is one negative comment, trivial though it may be, the pizza we ordered for dinner at the restaurant was not hot and we waited a fair while for it. I was told it was delivered from elsewhere and I think that there are quality issues which arise if this is the case. If pizza wasn't offered we would have ordered something else that no doubt would have been served fresh and appetising like all of the other food that we ordered.
I don't know how this hotel rates for value in Siem Reap and I really don't care because for us it was fantastic value and we would return and recommend every time.

Room Tip: We had a junior suite with balcony overlooking gardens and pool.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maggles_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Siem Reap has changed a lot since my last visit in 2001. Then there were few hotels and the workers cycled into town en masse from the villages every day to build more; now there are plenty of hotels and the workers come into town en masse on mopeds .... and while the temples are more crowded today than they were then they are still just as spectacular.

This is one of those new hotels; charmingly built in a location on the Angkor Wat side of town (next to a car repair workshop ... welcome to Siem Reap) but far enough from the town centre to need transport. So it's useful that in addition to car to and from the airport you get a tuk-tuk included for the entire duration of your stay (from 0500-2200 if you like). It's not only less hassle than getting your own tuk-tuk but safer too since the driver has long-term commitments to the hotel not just short-term ones to you. If you prefer to cycle everywhere (I did in 2001 but this time with temperatures over 35C every day it wouldn't have been much fun) or use car transport (a few of the more distant temples take over two hours to reach by tuk-tuk) then this advantage disappears.

Charming breakfast, two little pools, nice little spa (half hour massage thrown in for free). Friendly staff, very clean. Aircon and room safe. Balcony. Late checkout is fine if hotel is not full.

If you want to eat out simply nearby without going into town there's a tasty restaurant one minute walk right on leaving the hotel where we were the only non-Cambodian guests the evening we ate (there was an English menu).

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Judging from the ratings on Tripadvisor, we expected a lot. And...we got even more! From the outside the hotel looks kind of odd: an entrance that is hardly visible and surrounded by small warehouses/businesses. But inside you are greeted warmly and the atmosphere is excellent, with a small pond just inside, a covered lobby and super-friendly staff. Our room was located on the first floor overlooking one of the two (!) charming pools. We had a balcony with chairs and a table and between us and the pool a lot of luscious foliage. We spent a lot of time reading there. The room itself was charming, comfortable and spacious. The only criticism: the bathroom could use an update (but it was clean). Breakfast was in the covered restaurant and they served fresh eggs, waffles, pancakes, etc. We didn't have dinner there. With the room comes your own remork-moto with driver, available for your trips and your tours around Angkor. That is service, because of course Angkor is the real reason you're in Siem Reap. Included are also trips around Angkor and unless you're in a particular hurry, it is very comfortable to just drive around and see the surroundings. When you're visiting Siem Reap on your own, having your own transportation arranged by the hotel, so you don't have to hassle, is fantastic! The hotel is not located in the, very unappealing, city centre (as most top end hotels are not), but having your own ride, makes this unimportant. Oh, and don't forget to generously tip your driver! The hotel staff was helpful in arranging all sorts of things for us (reservations for restaurants, advising us on trips to take, arranging our trip to Phnom Penh). To top it all of, the price you paid for all of this was really good. So: go there!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaartenMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

From the moment I made our booking we received outstanding service from this hotel. I had several email conversations with the manager, Sebastien, and he was always so helpful and friendly that I had very high expectations for our stay. When we got there my expectations were actually exceeded. Every single staff member was amazing, they got to know us so quickly and we felt incredibly welcome. Our rooms were beautiful, we were on the upper level looking over the main pool, and we slept very soundly indeed. Breakfast was available at any time during the day, which is a brilliant idea because some people get up early to go to watch the sunrise at Angkor Wat and it means they can get breakfast when they come back. There are some self serve items and some you can choose from the menu. They also give you different juices, home made yoghurt and warmed croissants when you arrive for breakfast. The dinner we had there was also delicious and everything was served with beautiful smiles and warm wishes. I enjoyed a free massage and then decided to have a manicure and pedicure as the women in the spa treatment area were making me feel so comfortable, it was hard to leave! We definitely recommend staying here and would like to thank all the staff once again for looking after us so well.

Room Tip: Our rooms on the upper floor of the block over looking the main pool (206 and 207) were wonderful.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristchurchJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel is a nice hotel for sure: but does it deserve to be ranked as second in Siem Reap? I don't see why. I've just returned from four nights and thought:

Plus side:
- One of the pools is nice, the other dated. Could do with some more unbrellas though.
- Gardens are nicely done and the lobby is welcoming.
- Free tuk tuk and allocated driver for 12 hours a day: nice touch.
- Staff were friendly and reception staff helpful.
- Cleaning and housekeeping efficient and friendly.

Negatives:
- Rooms (not the suites which I didn't see) were dated: quite dark and bathrooms need renovation.
- Staff were very friendly, but lacked anticipation and pro-activity. No real sense of poolside "service" - you had to find them, not them encourage you to take that next drink.
- Breakfast was OK - poor quality sausage and a little lacklustre, omlettes very good though/
- No bar or real area to relax in the evening.
- Location quite far from town and thus a little isolated (overcome by the free tuk tuk).

In short a nice place, with good potential. But a little more encouragement needed service-wise (certainly poolside) and rooms and smaller pool could do with some renovation.

Could be excellent, but at the moment probably does not merit it's ranking on TA and needs some work to live up to this ranking.

Room Tip: Get an upper level room: ground level lacks privacy and would be dark.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
POManager, General Manager at Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Clients,

Thank for taking time to write a review about your stay with us. First of all we are glad to know you have enjoyed the service delivered by our receptionists and housekeeping team.

However we are very sorry that you did not fully enjoy your stay. Regarding our pool bar service we are in fact not pro-active on it by choice. If we asked our staff to go regularly around our pools and encourage our clients to get a drink or food some may feel we are too pushy and disturbing. The relaxation and peacefulness of our clients have always been our main objective and this is why we are not pushing to make extra dollars. Each pool seating area has a small wooden table where a drinks list is placed. Our restaurant employees only come to take and bring order and clear the empty glasses, plates, towels and so on (they also can be asked for another order at the same time). To call our waiter/ress from our older pool a service ring is available as our restaurant cannot be seen from there. For the other swimming pool we did not think it was necessary to have another ring as it is located just in front of our pool bar/restaurant (10 meters away). However after having read your comment we have decided to add one there too.

Regarding the others negatives points:
- Rooms (not the suites which I didn't see) were dated: quite dark and bathrooms need renovation.
Every year we are doing some renovations. Due to our high occupancy during the high season we did not have the opportunity to do it yet. However from the 8th May each room will be refurbished.

- Breakfast was OK - poor quality sausage and a little lacklustre, omlettes very good though/
We are ordering sausage from an Australian chef. Usually our clients like these sausages but we understand that some may not like them. I will pass your comment to our supplier accordingly and see what we can do about it.
- No bar or real area to relax in the evening.
Actually we do have a lounge available next to our reception where you can relax and have drink or even lunch and/or dinner.

We wish you all the bests and we hope to have the pleasure to hosting you again in the future.

Warm regards from Angkor,

Sebastien and Pavillon d’Orient team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews