We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel
Ranked #31 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 December 2008

Thanks to Trip Advisor, we discovered this gem of a boutique hotel in Siem Reap. I am very happy to see it progress to such a high rank in Trip Advisor, as it is truly deserved! Although we only had time to stay for one night, the beautiful hotel and its wonderful staff have left a very positive memory.

The hotel is quite new; when we stayed we took advantage of the low rates for its opening. Room is fabulous, vintage feel but with all the mod cons: flat-screen TV with the usual cable channels, tea and coffee making facilities, internet connection, work desk, wonderful bathroom with full amenities and rainforest shower. The room also featured a safe, mini bar (reasonably priced), plus a lovely verandah looking onto the pool. Speaking of the pool, it is lovely, as are the landscaped tropical gardens.

Staff are wonderful. We were greeted warmly on arrival and offered hand towels and cold tea. The manager, Sebastien, greeted us personally. Reception staff, although a little shy, went out of their way to help us and spoke good English.

Breakfast was fine. We also ate dinner at the lovely open-air restaurant; food was of a very high quality, though servings were a little small. Table service was excellent.

Another gem of this hotel is the English-speaking driver available to guests. I really wish I could remember how to spell his name (he drives a mid-90s Toyota Camry, with right-hand drive). So friendly, polite and knowledgeable, he made our trip to the temples a true highlight! Staff at the hotel mentioned he was very popular with the guests, and I can't praise him enough.

We were very sad to move on from this hotel. If ever back in Siem Reap, this is the only place I would consider staying.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank bimdonesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,076)
There are newer reviews for Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,687 - 1,693 of 2,076 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2008

Pavillion D'Órient is a wonderful place on the road to Angkor Wat. I found it on trip advisor--booked by email with the owner, Sebastian. Lovely personal service, beautiful setting in a hidden garden. You would have no idea from the road that such a place exists. There is a swimming pool and a lush garden. The dinner we had at the small dining room was perfect--so fresh and pleasing. Please come to Cambodia--the people are so sweet--the history is amazing.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JanetCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2008

We are not big fans of huge sprawling chain resorts and always preferred a slightly more local and intimate experience so finding Pavillon d'Orient was really our stroke of luck!

Everything about our stay was just perfect! While the grounds and rooms were colonial in style and brings back a touch of nostalgia for times gone by, the resort is delightfully equipped with modern amenities like flat screen TV and full WIFI. Even rainy weather didn't stop us from having a wonderful time as the staff provided umbrellas for our stay and ensured that our complimentary tuk tuk driver always arrived on time. Our sincere compliments to Sebastien and his dedicated team for their excellent service and attention to details.

It's not everyday that you find a hotel that makes one feel special and Pavillon d'Orient was one of rare ones for us in a long time.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank MissyPhow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2008

My friends and I had a wonderful time at the Pavillon d'Orient. We were the only guests at the hotel at the time, and received nothing but great service and attention to detail. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful with their suggestions for things to see and do. Also, we booked the 3-day package, which included our own personal driver. This made it so easy to get from place to place.

The hotel is a bit off the beaten path and away from all the glizty hotels in Siem Reap. However, all that is a short drive away. Also, the location of the hotel, in terms of distance to the temples cannot be beat!

The rooms are beautiful and rustic, very clean! The mosquito nets provided great comfort, although they were not needed. Breakfast was wonderful and filling. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank LJ230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2008

Pavillon d'Orient hotel has been a great great great experience. We booked our room there after viewing the excellent reviews in tripadvisor. We did not regret our choice. This hotel is beautiful and the staff amazing. We felt warmly welcome, everyone was willing to help us at anytime. The food is great, the room excellent and perfectly clean, the WiFi is available free of charge, and the transportation (tuk tuk) is even include in the room rate.

Certainly one of the best hotel we used to stay in Asia.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank James-kob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2008

This hotel is like a dream. After a long trip in SEA, it was the first time we really enjoyed our accomodation. Huge tropical garden, amazing room, great restaurant but cherry on the cake is the service!!! Unique. Sebastien, the manager is always here to help, to give advise and to chat a bit about the Khmer culture.
Many little things there make you feel in a 5 star hotel. Colonial style, ancient furniture all around. And did I told you about the pool? Unique. Perfect after a day exploring the temples.
Location is also great. Very quiet and close to market and temples.
We will be back for sure.
Thanks to you all to make our stay a wonderfull one.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank marcelpignon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2008

We just stayed 4 nights at this hotel and had a fabulous time. The hotel itself is new, and rooms are furnished in a colonial style each with their own balcony. Rooms are lovely, with efficient air-conditioning, plasma screen TV and bathroom with full size bath and separate shower. Nice cane chairs on the balcony - excellent for an evening drink overlooking the tropical gardens.

The al fresco style restaurant serves a light but sufficient breakfast of bread and croissants (choice of jams), fresh fruit, yoghurt and whatever style eggs you want with bacon.

It has a lovely swimming pool, very refreshing after a long day wandering round temples in the heat.

Pavillon is a little way out of town ($2 in a tuk-tuk) but is a perfect size with 18 rooms so it is never crowded and guests get great service from the helpful staff. The staff can also recommend good restaurants and places to go in town and can organise tours for you.

Would certainly recommend this hotel, and will stay there again if in Siem Reap.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank acehadventurers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.6 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#20 of 361 in Siem Reap
3,670 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sojourn Boutique Villas
Sojourn Boutique Villas
#28 of 361 in Siem Reap
869 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Moon Boutique Hotel
The Moon Boutique Hotel
#48 of 361 in Siem Reap
890 reviews
1.6 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
1.8 mi away
Sokkhak Boutique Resort
Sokkhak Boutique Resort
#9 of 361 in Siem Reap
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel

Address: Road no 60 , after Psah Leu market, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#6 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#25 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#27 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: £35 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavillon d`Orient Boutique Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing