We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the Best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel
Ranked #28 of 343 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best of the Best”
Reviewed 8 April 2009

From the moment we made our queries through emails to the hotel, Sebastien had helped us with our questions efficiently had never once failed to reply our mails. He had also helped to plan our itinerary as this was the 1st time we visit Siem Reap. We knew by then that our choice of our hotel and advices given by other travelers in TA were not wrong.

When we arrived at the hotel, we were greeted with polite staff and were given cold tea and towels to freshen up. Staff paid detailed attention to your needs and greeted every guests politely.

The Room – The room and bathroom were big and roomy. Room was neat and clean and there was a mini safe in the room. Complimentary bottled water was provided everyday and fresh towels were sufficient. Complimentary fresh fruits were given everyday in the room as well. We were able to connect to the internet in our room through WIFI though Sebastien did mention that we might not be able to get the signal because the area of the WIFI is around the reception area. There were also 2 computers in the reception area for guests use. Our room overlooks the pool area and it was nice. We did not use the pool because we were too tired at the end of day. But we saw that the staff cleaned the pool every morning without fail even when it rains.

The service – The service provided by the tuk tuk driver and the hotel staff were beyond expectations. We had Mr Peoh (not sure if I have his name spelled correctly) as our tuk tuk driver and he was a very very nice man. He was a quiet guy but he was always punctual and extremely patient. Although we had some kinda language barrier but that was not an issue. He would send us to anywhere we want and never had us go somewhere we never want to go. At the end of the day, he would also send us safely back to the hotel. The restaurant staff paid detailed attention to dinning guests as well. Breakfast was fine and their lunch and dinner menu was good also. We had dined at the restaurant a few times and their food is good! Environment was quiet and peaceful and it was very comfortable dining at the restaurant.

The Spa- We tried the spa twice and it was good too. Spa was simple and had two massage beds. It was clean and the staff was experience too. We prefer the aromatherapy massage to the Khmer massage though, because the latter was a bit painful at times. 

Overall, we were very pleased with our selection of this hotel. We were not once disappointed at all and were very glad that the staff had sincerely had us stayed with them. At the end of our stay, we were surprised by their additional little gifts. My husband had accidentally wore their slippers to the airport and thought he was wearing his own, we quickly made a call back to the hotel and they had their staff delivered his slippers to the airport to us within 20 minutes. We were so apologetic that we had to trouble them to bring us back the slippers but we really appreciate their kindness. Thank you so much Pavillon D’Orient’s staff and Sebastien. Keep it up!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snoopy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,034 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,795
    213
    18
    6
    2
See reviews for
471
1,096
117
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2009

Spent one night here to visit the temples and surrounding area. Hotel is a little far out of town, but with the free tuk-tuk and driver available for your stay, that's no problem at all. Service was outstanding, always willing to help with whatever you needed or suggestions. Rooms were large and comfortable. Pool was relaxing and nice.

Temple area is impressive and I'd recommend you use their guide services. It's only $15 for half day or $25 for full day. Guide was full of knowledge and enthusiasm and flexible to what we wanted to do. Also massages are a steal at only $14 for an hour and with well trained individuals. Could have stayed there relaxing all day.

We enjoyed the bars and restuarant area and found the Cambodian people exceptional. I hope that things will continue to improve from the past problems and they can move forward as a country. Would love to go back and explore more of the country as it was one of the highlights of our trip to Thailand and Vietnam.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chikind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2009

We had a fantastic stay at Pavillion d'Orient. The rooms and grounds are really beautiful and the staff are all truly lovely. LOVED the pool after a very hot day travelling around the temples. The hotel provides a FANTASTIC transport service to all its guests that we utilised everyday and makes the stay and exploration at Angkor Wat so easy and stress free. Would recommend this to anyone going to Siem Reap.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goingplacesmelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2009

Sebastien and his crew at Pavillon D'Orient really do a fantastic job. We were extremely happy with the service.

Breakfast was ok, but a tad light when it came to 1 croissant PP. They also offered other food, but the option of a second croissant would be nice (they were tasty!). Lunch was just ok. Much better food in and around town.

The hotel itself is all we needed for our stay. Our driver was fantastic and acted as a partial guide. Very helpful! It was nice coming back to the hotel pool at it's refreshing temperature (not too hot, not too cold). Pool service would be nice, but wasn't expected by us.

The room was very clean and quiet.

The massages were very good (better than we expected and rivaling Toronto's good quality masseuses) and at a great price. Wish we would haev induldged further!

I highly reccomend this hotel to anyone looking for good value in Siem Reap.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cash_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2009

We booked this hotel last minute and I can't believe that they still had spaces. The main reason that we chose the hotel was because Sebastien answered our queries so quickly and because they offered airport collection and a tuk-tuk at our disposal all day. This saved a lot of stress with bargaining on a trip by trip basis. (Ask for Mr Sett as your driver if he is free.)

The gardens of the hotel were blissful after a hot day at the temples. The rooms were fantastic and very clean. However, the best aspect was the helpful and friendly staff. We left early to catch the riverboat and they waited up with us in reception and provided a free breakfast pic-nic for our trip.

The thing that made it special was all the little touches such as water in our room, bedtime stories, mosquito coils on the balcony and a sense that you as a guest mattered.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Schubert_Rd_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saigon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2009

From the fast response of the first email contact, Sebastien and staff demonstrated how they have earned the top slot in the Angkor area. From lemongrass tea upon arrival, fun and friendly tuk-tuk transporation, stylish accomodations, relaxing garden and pool, Khmer bedtime stories, to secret gifts upon checkout! We WILL be back to this charming hotel. They exceeded our expectations by paying attention to the small details that are appreciated rather than getting distracted by the big ones that don't really matter.
Thanks for a perfect weekend!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oildan20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2009

Historically, I have tended to take online hotel reviews with a pinch of salt as, in the most part, people make more of an effort to complain than congratulate and this can lead to unfair bias and often un-representative reviews. Likewise, any hotel that appears to have ridiculously high praise and limited apparent faults is also cause for scepticism.

The Pavillon D'Orient, on virtual paper at least, initially fell into the latter category for me (in fact, as far as tripadvisor reviews are concerned, it apparently had NO faults).

However, having just stayed at the Pavillon for 3-nights, I was very chuffed to discover that all the reviews on tripadvisor, to this point at least, were absolutely warranted. It is a gem and stands out, as quite simply, the best hotel experience I have ever had.

As previous reviewers have noted, the entrance is non-descript but once through the doors, a tranquil, charmingly decorated oasis awaits. However, it is not the quality of the decor, the bathrooms, TV's, gifts, fresh fruit , bedtime stories and food that inspired this review (albeit very welcome) but the unrelenting quality and friendliness of service from Sebastien and his team.

Nothing was too much trouble. Service above and beyond was always offered and more often that not, completed without request . For example, within 10-minutes of arriving, following a cold towel and refreshing drink, we had a bespoke itinerary discussed, prepared and printed (tuk tuk driver introduced and briefed) that would see us at the best temple locations, avoiding the crowds, at the best times of day for viewing.

During our stay they also packaged a painting I had bought ( I only asked to borrow some tape), offered to burn my photos to CD at a local shop, booked us a balloon ride and generally looked after us to such an extent, that I will genuinely miss it.

Our tuk-tuk driver for 3-days (included in the rate) was charm personified and gave us an insight into the country and its people, picking us up before dawn on one day and remaining available until 10pm (and doubtless beyond if required). He also ensured that we benefitted from his local knowledge and had access to local eating (on one day we bought freshly grilled fish, rice,sauces and drinks, then ate by a lake, far away from anyone else).

In summary, it was fantastic. ALL other hotels take note..as you are probably not as good as the Pavillon D'Orient..and you really ought to be. This was perfection and it was a pleasure to experience it first hand..for the first time.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IndietravellerUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.6 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#17 of 343 in Siem Reap
3,543 reviews
1.6 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#38 of 343 in Siem Reap
4,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Residence101
Residence101
#26 of 343 in Siem Reap
398 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
#59 of 343 in Siem Reap
549 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel

Property: Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel
Address: Road no 60 (rd to Angkor), after Psah Leu market, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#6 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#25 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#25 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavillon d`Orient Boutique Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing