We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“French run with French flair”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel
Ranked #31 of 356 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Essex UK
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“French run with French flair”
Reviewed 16 April 2009

We were really surprised to find this Oasis. Is 10 minutes out of town on a fairly uninhabited bit of road. But as long as yt'ou use the free tuk-tuk its not a problem. Indeed we were allocated a driver when we arrived and he was with us wherever we went. Having taken us to every Temple we asked from the crack of dawn, he was there in the evening to take us to the restaurants or the amazing Swiss cellist - you will know what I mean if you go there. This is a very luxurious hotel for the price, with a wonderful pool.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rarereviewerEssexUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,065 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,825
    213
    18
    6
    3
See reviews for
485
1,106
119
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2009

Pavillon d'Orient is one of the best boutique hotels I have ever staid in. Of course I will give it 5 stars as the rest of the comments on tripadvisor.com. The rooms are excellent. the furnishing is rustic and gives you a warm and welcome feeling. The setting is beautiful. You might feel like in the old colonial days with a nice and relaxing environment but once you step out of the gate the dust and the hectic of daily life in Cambodia hits you. That brings me to location: you might not believe it but you step from a normal busy Cambodian street into paradise. it's a bit far off but since the hotel offers tuk tuk service included in your room rate, this is not an issue. the service is excellent. the staff is helpful and knowledgeable. Breakfast is semi-buffet and you can add some items like eggs and porridge. it's nothing fancy but sufficient to get you through your morning. The pool area is integrated in the nice tropical garden. A sufficiently sized pool and half a dozen of beds let you relax and cool down after a day of sightseeing. The tuk tuk drives the hotel hires are reliable and don't try to push for extra business. They don't even try to get you into grandmother's store or the cousins restaurant. All together that was my 3rd time in visiting Angkor Wat and I was pleasantly surprised about the hotel. The concept of a small luxury hotel which is not cookie cutter works for me.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IjonTichy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2009

This hotel is amazing, if a litle out of the way. You come down a side road in Siem Reap town and are dropped off at a 'complex' wall and front gate. And then walk in to an amazing hotel/compound.... that in time time, you see is a total zen oasis.

The staff are just incredible; so gentle and kind. Most mornings... we would have breakfast and wave over to Sebastien (Manager) or Sophath (assistant) on the front desk. And they would just stand there grinning manicly from ear to ear back, and waving at us. Yeah!

Siem Reap is amazing. It takes time to get your head around the scale of things. While Angkor Tom had a population of 1,000,000 in the middle of the jungle a thousand years ago, London had just 50,000. Sebastien and Sophath will sort out exactly what you want to see and in what order (according to how much you are into temples!), transport everything, every day...

When you get get tired (and you will get templed out) , go for a feet massage at $5 an hour in town (at Dr Feet). The hotel also does treatments in it's spa for something like $8 an hour which is insanely cheap for the quality of the facilities....

The food was amazing. In the restaurant and also in town. Ok look, cut a long story short; I have reviewed many hotels on TA.... This place is like 20 rooms, colonial, boutique, bit on the fringe of town (but charming transport is provided free)... an exceptional place to stay... mostly down to the rooms and staff.

Hello to Mr. Boren (badge #4722), the tuk-tuk driver that was provided and included in our room-rate during our stay... what a lovely chap...

Amazing trip... I would visit Siem Reap again at the drop of a hat, and if I did, I cannot imagione staying anywhere else.

Jon
Singapore (ex-London)

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonGenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2009

I tried this hotel because it was rated # 1 on TripAdvisor and was not disappointed. It is a fabulous boutique hotel that does everything right. Some visitors may prefer a location in the center of Siem Reap, but frankly, Siem Reap is turning into an unattractive small city. Better to have a free tuktuk at your disposal.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFtraveler21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2009

This nice 19 rooms boutique hotel is certainly one of my "Coup de coeur" since I am in Asia. For the price, you get free breakfast, free tuk-tuk, free pick-up at the airport (My wife, my 2 kids and I + my parents). They supplied an extra bed + baby cot at no charge. The hotel is well located between the temples and the city. They also offer cheap and good massages and they have a nice pool. The staff is very nice also!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank expatsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2009

My wife and I chose the Pavillon d'Orient from the tripadvisor reviews and while I assumed it would be good, nothing prepared me for just how lovely an experience it would be. The rooms are incredibly luxurious - not in a bling bling OTT way but in being very romantic, having lots of nice little touches, a beautiful bed and a huge plasma tv. The whole atmosphere of the hotel is so calming and the swimming pool is stunning. We stayed for 4 nights and had Mr Peoh as a driver for the whole time. He was so friendly and helpful and we'd definitely recommend him. The hotel also arranged for us to go on a boat trip to a village on the Tonle Sap which was an amazing experience. The staff as a whole were simply wonderful. Incredibly, genuinely friendly yet in a totally unobtrusive way. We never ate at the hotel (except for lunch) as we always got a tuk tuk to town where we had stunning meals in the FCC, Madame Butterfly and AHA - but at the end of the night it was always nice to go back our oasis. As you can tell, we absolutely loved everything about this hotel and just thinking about it now makes me want to go back!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank libero7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2009

From the moment we made our queries through emails to the hotel, Sebastien had helped us with our questions efficiently had never once failed to reply our mails. He had also helped to plan our itinerary as this was the 1st time we visit Siem Reap. We knew by then that our choice of our hotel and advices given by other travelers in TA were not wrong.

When we arrived at the hotel, we were greeted with polite staff and were given cold tea and towels to freshen up. Staff paid detailed attention to your needs and greeted every guests politely.

The Room – The room and bathroom were big and roomy. Room was neat and clean and there was a mini safe in the room. Complimentary bottled water was provided everyday and fresh towels were sufficient. Complimentary fresh fruits were given everyday in the room as well. We were able to connect to the internet in our room through WIFI though Sebastien did mention that we might not be able to get the signal because the area of the WIFI is around the reception area. There were also 2 computers in the reception area for guests use. Our room overlooks the pool area and it was nice. We did not use the pool because we were too tired at the end of day. But we saw that the staff cleaned the pool every morning without fail even when it rains.

The service – The service provided by the tuk tuk driver and the hotel staff were beyond expectations. We had Mr Peoh (not sure if I have his name spelled correctly) as our tuk tuk driver and he was a very very nice man. He was a quiet guy but he was always punctual and extremely patient. Although we had some kinda language barrier but that was not an issue. He would send us to anywhere we want and never had us go somewhere we never want to go. At the end of the day, he would also send us safely back to the hotel. The restaurant staff paid detailed attention to dinning guests as well. Breakfast was fine and their lunch and dinner menu was good also. We had dined at the restaurant a few times and their food is good! Environment was quiet and peaceful and it was very comfortable dining at the restaurant.

The Spa- We tried the spa twice and it was good too. Spa was simple and had two massage beds. It was clean and the staff was experience too. We prefer the aromatherapy massage to the Khmer massage though, because the latter was a bit painful at times. 

Overall, we were very pleased with our selection of this hotel. We were not once disappointed at all and were very glad that the staff had sincerely had us stayed with them. At the end of our stay, we were surprised by their additional little gifts. My husband had accidentally wore their slippers to the airport and thought he was wearing his own, we quickly made a call back to the hotel and they had their staff delivered his slippers to the airport to us within 20 minutes. We were so apologetic that we had to trouble them to bring us back the slippers but we really appreciate their kindness. Thank you so much Pavillon D’Orient’s staff and Sebastien. Keep it up!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snoopy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.6 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#20 of 356 in Siem Reap
3,636 reviews
1.6 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#42 of 356 in Siem Reap
5,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
3.6 mi away
Sojourn Boutique Villas
Sojourn Boutique Villas
#27 of 356 in Siem Reap
863 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Moon Boutique Hotel
The Moon Boutique Hotel
#48 of 356 in Siem Reap
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel

Property: Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel
Address: Road no 60 (rd to Angkor), after Psah Leu market, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#6 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#25 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#27 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavillon d`Orient Boutique Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing