We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem in Siem Reap”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel
Ranked #31 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2009

Would have to agree with 99% of all previous reviews.

My 3 friends and I were all delighted and surprisingly impressed with this boutique hotel 10mins outside Siem Reap town.

It may not look like much from the outside, but the Pavilion is a small boutique hotel, brilliantly run by Frenchman Sebastien and his team of discreet, fun and very friendly staff. With only 18 or so rooms, the hotel service is very personal and the rooms are all really lovely and charming.

Overall great value for money. Why pay 3 or 4 times the price when you can have 5 star quality and luxury here? they have set a very high standard and I hope they continue to surprise and impress in future and dont lose the momentum they have achieved so far.

The Head Chef at Hotel de la Paix's restaurant "Meric" wondered to us how they managed to get to No.1 on Trip Advisor. I suggest he stays here to find out! (By the way, the food at Meric is really good, so do try to squeeze in a meal here if you're a foodie.)

The little touches such as the gifts on leaving and the bedtime stories in your room each night, alongside the weather forecast and highlights on TV are all practical and thoughtful. The pool is small but great for cooling off after a day temple visiting.

The food in their "Le Planteur" restaurant is good value - try the Chicken Amok - as was breakfast, and the tour package including airport transfers and free car/tuk-tuk is well worth it.

Tip: Do get a guide before visiting the temples (arrange with Sebastien or someone else) but dont try to save money here. a good guide is well worth it to understand the temple ruins.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GerardWh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,086)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,639 - 1,645 of 2,086 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2009

I chose Pavillon d'Orient for the convenience of an upscale boutique hotel with the driver and the guide, so that I wouldn't need to spend time and energy procuring all the pieces to make my stay and exploration of the Angkor area smooth and easy.

To be honest, my 3 day/3 night stay was smooth and easy. Exploring Angkor is strenuous, and doing so without an car with A/C and a guide is even more grueling. If you are going for a guide, Vanny is great, ask for him, and the hotel concierge will arrange it. He takes pride in showing you all the finer details that other guides overlook and patiently explains all the Hindu and Khmer legends, so the pediments and the bas-relief truly come alive. The hotel is near the temples, and the car and guide are at the ready when you want them.

The hotel is small and charming. The staff is friendly and accommodating, however the staff's English proficiency varies. The restaurant is quite good and the prices are not terribly high. The rooms are spacious and the beds comfortable.

The negatives, and for me pretty major ones, are the horribly slow internet, the constant battle to keep the A/C and the power on in the room, the pool is as warm as a bath tub and non chlorinated, the spa is a joke and the distance from Siem Reap town is significant enough to be an obstacle.

The internet is horrid, whether in your room with WiFi or in the common area. I want to attribute this to the lack of internet infrastructure in the country, but this is not so. Internet places in town are super fast. The hotel has an unsecured network which is probably drained by all who surround it. I realize that coming to Siem Reap, one doesn't really need internet, but as I travel solo, I like internet availability at night to connect with my friends and family and just in general for surfing and work related needs.

Siem Reap is excruciatingly hot and humid. The room's A/C is weak and the doors have cracks so the room is not really every cold. Also, the hotel fixes an electric switch to your keys, which must be turned in at the front desk when one is out exploring. Therefore, when you are out exploring, it is impossible to keep the A/C on; when you return to the room it is consequently sweltering, and you just badly crave for some relief from the heat. This also means that you can't leave your camera battery or laptop on to charge while you are out, a major frustration. I actually took the plastic switch off my key ring and left it stuck in the room to keep the A/C and power on, but the maids always pulled it out. This was a daily frustration which made me infuriated. I understand that one needs to save power, but after dripping with sweat for 8 hours as one explores the temples, a cool room is an absolute must.

On that note, the hotel's pool is a terrible disappointment as well. It is the same temperature as the air, which is 30C or more. My first day there, I couldn't wait to jump into what I thought was a cool, refreshing pool after a long sweaty day. You can imagine how disappointed I was to jump into the pool which was as warm as a bathtub. I understand it is always hot there, but there could be a way to cycle the water so that it could be kept cool. Also, the water was not chlorinated, and tasted salty on the lips as if I were tasting the perspiration of everyone who has bathed in it before to wash the sweat away.

The spa services are affordable but the quality is amateurish, especially in comparison to what one can get in nearby Thailand, as most people come to Cambodia through Bangkok. The massage beds are not comfortable; I got a back spasm after the massage from the bed. My masseuse simply applied oil to my skin and gently rubbed it around. There was no kneading or muscle tension relief. Although the foot massage was decent.

Lastly, the hotel is close to the temples, but not to the town. After a long day, one simply wants to stroll down the street and pop into an enticing restaurant and maybe hit a market. You can take the hotel's tuk tuk, but it's a long, dusty and hot ride. Consequently, if you are exhausted, you aren't leaving the hotel period. Feeling trapped sucks.

If money is an issue, do stay at Pavillon d'Orient. It's a good value for the dollar and is definitely comfortable. But it has much room to grow.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brooklynite_Abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
POManager, Manager at Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2009

First of all, we are very sorry to hear that you have not fully enjoyed your stay with us. Our objective is to provide unforgettable stay to all of our clients and we are always sad when we fail to do so. Regarding the power in the room, it is true that we do have a procedure to save energy. However, if one of our client ask us to keep the power key card in the room for some reasons (make the room cool all day, charging of battery and so on...), we do it. For the WiFi , we know that we do not have the highest connection speed in town and this is also one of the reason this service is free of charge. For the others comments such as pool temperature and hotel location, the satisfaction depends also on our client's expectation from the beginning. It is a big challenge for us to reach a 100% total guests satisfaction but as a small boutique-hotel, we have the chance to be able when our clients ask us to personalize the service.
Once again we apology for the inconveniences cause and wish to have the pleasure to welcoming you again in order to erase your unfortunate experience.

Warm regards,

Sébastien
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2009

This hotel was the perfect place for us to stay. The staff goes out of their way to accommodate you. We enjoyed having a Tuk Tuk driver of our own to go out to eat and take last minute trips to the temples. We did hire a driver and guide for 2 days and would advise doing that. The a/c and English speaking guide are priceless. Our guide took us to a school and through the Tonle Sap lake area on our second day. His view of Angkor Wat was fabulous. The staff even went to the pharmacy and bought us Tylenol and delivered to our room on our last morning to curb a headache. They charged us only .75 cents! Don't forget to get a Khmer Massage - worth the $10.00 fee. You will really enjoy this place.

Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank Karen U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2009

We cannot say enough good things about this hotel. Yes, it's not the cheapest hotel in the world (certainly not in S. E. Asia) but you certainly get your value for money. Airport transfers both ways, and a tuk-tuk at your disposal from check-in to check-out.
The rooms were fabulous, and there were some really nice touches - fruit, cambodian stories, and details of the movies on TV that evening. There are obviously some people in this world for whom '5*' means impersonal tower-block gold-plated mass-produced horrors. For us, though, the friendliness and individuality of this hotel could not be beaten. As another commenter wrote, it felt like you were an honoured guest in someone else's home.
Also, though the hotel is quite far from the main town centre, your tuk-tuk driver is more than happy to drive you anywhere you want to go. We found eating out very easy and pleasurable, but we would like to say that the food we had at the hotel was also very nice (fabulous pastries at breakfast, though disappointingly the croissants were rationed to one each).
The staff were wonderful, always smiling and very attentive without being overbearing.
The pool was lovely: private and very relaxed, with double-loungers.
The attention to details was what marked out this hotel from so many others we have stayed in.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Londonexile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2009

We felt in love with this part of Cambodia so we decided to stay in the same place as the first visit 8 months before. The staff, the service , the food an the overall atmosphere at the Pavillion were great once more . The addition of the SPA made our stay even more enjoyable , surely more relaxing.
It was a pleasure to find the same enthusiastic team welcoming us at 12.00 am like we were part of their family.
We cant wait to make our 3d visit in October, we are maniacs!!!
Whateve reason brings you in Siem Reap ,make the Pavillion your home and you ll love it!!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twinnies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2009

We were a little reluctant to stay at the Pavillion as it is a little way out of the centre of town and we generally like to be able to walk to restaurants and shops etc. However, we were very pleasantly surprised to find that the distance didn’t matter. Every room has its own tuk tuk appointed to it by the hotel for use between sunrise and 10pm. At first this was strange for us to have a driver waiting on us, but we quickly became used to it!

The ride into the centre took around 10 minutes and we could organise the time to be picked up either directly with the driver or with the reception staff. We’re not sure if each driver does this, but ours generally took us on a slightly different route each time so we saw different parts of the city - which we thought was a nice touch.

In fact, the staff at the hotel were always very thoughtful and considerate. They were some of the most happy and helpful staff we’ve encountered at a hotel. Nothing was ever a problem and always promptly attended to.

The pool is not massive, but really very lovely. We enjoyed having a refreshing dip after long and hot tours around the temples.

Our room was comfortable and a good size with many (again) thoughtful features, such as a list of recommended restaurants even though there is a (very good) restaurant on site.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whatcouldtopthis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2009

I booked this hotel based on the strength of the other tripadvisor reviews and was not disappointed. We were met at the airport by an incredibly friendly driver with his immaculate car. He described to us what we passed on the drive to the hotel, which was a nice introduction to Siem Reap. We had a wonderful welcome from the receptionist, who let us into our room well before check in time (around 9 am). The property is lovely -- beautiful gardens and a relaxing small pool area. The western-style breakfast is delicious, which seems to be rare in this part of the world. Having a tuk-tuk driver assigned to us all day everyday (5 am to 10 pm) was key as we did not have to negotiate a ride with sometimes aggressive drivers everytime we wanted to visit a new Wat. And for a final great touch, we got some surprise and very sweet parting gifts on our way out.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nm556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
3.6 mi away
Sojourn Boutique Villas
Sojourn Boutique Villas
#27 of 361 in Siem Reap
872 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sokkhak Boutique Resort
Sokkhak Boutique Resort
#8 of 361 in Siem Reap
591 reviews
1.6 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#22 of 361 in Siem Reap
3,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
#40 of 361 in Siem Reap
500 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Moon Boutique Hotel
The Moon Boutique Hotel
#49 of 361 in Siem Reap
901 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel

Address: Road no 60 , after Psah Leu market, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#6 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#25 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#27 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: £42 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavillon d`Orient Boutique Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing