We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“impressive impressive impressive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel
Ranked #32 of 373 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2009

I stayed at this hotel for 4 days and 3 nights. I took the advise from tripadvisor.com to stay in this hotel. The hotel was impressive. We were greeted by the hotel reception and Sebastien warmly. The explanations and information given for our vacation were useful. The room was indeed 5-star standard. We were given fruits everyday and the room was tidied twice daily. Every hotel staffs we met were very friendly. The swimming pool was great for relaxation. We were given a driver, his name is Shukom. Shukom was extremely nice and friendly. He could speak good English and had been helping us to organize the trip. The hotel is actually not far from town, of course one could not walk there, but with a tuk-tuk it is very near. My wife and I were impressed by the restaurant staffs because after 1 day they could remember our eating habit, i.e. we need to have fresh cut chilly for our fried rice, and they automatically brought us the chilly without us asking again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hallothere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,638 - 1,644 of 2,101 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2009

Colonial charm, large rooms, very helpful staff, great value.
The price of the room - US $100 - includes the pick-up and drop-off at the airport and a tuk-tuk for the day. The hotel staff is incredibly helpful and efficient: we actually had our bed made twice in a day, after we took an afternoon nap.
Since others described the rooms, and you can see them on the hotel webpage, I'll only say that they are as good as all that. One important thing is that they are sprayed every morning, so we didn't have any mosquito or bug problem.
The pool area is wonderful - a blue water oasis in a lush tropical setting. The swimming pool is large and deep enough to swim in - a real pleasure after visiting Angkor.
The hotel restaurant is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruefulrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2009

We stayed at the Pavillon d'Orient Hotel for 4 nights while staying in Siem Reap. We had booked the $100/night package which included transfers and daily tuk-tuk use. I was a bit worried about not having to give any kind of credit card details etc to secure our booking, but Sebastien (the person who answers the emails) was very professional and I just had to confirm a couple of weeks before arriving. On arriving into Siem Reap, our evening flight was a delayed by about 1.5hrs and the driver waited for us, which I was very pleased about. We got a very warm welcome from the hotel and they explained (in good English) about the tuk-tuk use and that it extended to most of the closer temples, which saved us $25/day in driver charges.

On our first day we got a tuk-tuk into the town (about 15 mins) and arranged for the driver to pick us up a few hours later. He spoke good English. He seemed to be assigned to us for the rest of our stay, which I was happy with.

The breakfasts were adequate, although I wasn't too impressed with the sausage and eggs. On the other hand the chocolate brownie was amazing. The hotel said they serve breakfast all day for people who have got up early to view the temples, but we didn't use this facility. We didn't eat in the hotel in the evening, although the food appeared reasonably priced.

Our room was spacious and had a lovely colonial feel to it, with a large balcony. The bathroom looked very new and was cleaned to a high standard. The hotel provided fairly large bottles of drinking water free of charge in the room, which was very useful when visiting the temples.

The pool area is surrounded by tropical palms and provides a wonderful place to refresh yourself after a day at the dusty temples.

The hotel is situated about 15 minutes outside of the town, and I would say this is its only downside, but the free tuk-tuk service makes up for this. I would stay here again if I was re-visiting Siem Reap.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Picketty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2009

Given the reviews we had seen, this Hotel had a lot to live up to and it certainly didn't disappoint.
Sebastian and his staff are simply the Best.
We understand that The Hotel opened in February 2008 and whilst it has no street appeal, as soon as you step through the gates you forget the outside world and are taken away by the delightful ambience and the friendliness of all the staff who cannot do enough for you.
The service starts right from the airport where our driver (Mr Laurie) was waiting and then with very good english he pointed out places of interest as we travelled to the Hotel.
We had taken advantage of the 3 night package which included Driver each day and Tuk Tuk at our disposal at night.
On arrival at the Hotel the staff gave us a nice cold drink and then Sebastian (The Manager) came out and sat with us whilst we planned our short stay to get best advantage. Given our short time he suggested that we not take a guide as Mr Laurie had good English and with the help of Lonely Planet and an Ancient Angkor book which we bought we were able to get around the Temples a bit quicker. So much so that Mr Laurie was able to take us to a Fishing Village and also the floating Village (Extra boat charges but well worth it)
Room was simply lovely in a French style and mosquito draped bed. The pool is lovely and was a pleasant relief when we got back from the hot days (30-35 each day) walking around the temples.
At night we went by Tuk Tuk into Siem Reap and had Dinner at Amok Restaurant and also Angkor Palm - both were lovely with plenty of variety. You are spoilt for choice of restaurants in Siem Reap with 2 main lanes full of many styles of restaurant.
We spent a little time at the old market but typical usual market stuff and the night market was the same but we did get temped with the foot massages at only USD3 each.
We had one evening meal at the Hotel and it was excellent.
Breakfast at the Hotel was not the usual "Big Hotel Smorgasboard" but was very well presented and very nice, with enough variety. The home-made Yoghurt was lovely.
The extra touches - Bedtime stories,gifts, overall friendliness and not having to worry about transport made this a very relaxing and memorable time.
Free high-speed internet behind reception area was excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philandducks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2009

The hotel is out of the way from the centre but that is absolutely no problem.
The standard of room, staff, food is all very high. Free high speed internet access is available.

The welcome is wonderful and the genuine interest of the staff in trying to help you get whatever you wish out of your trip. So many times drivers or guides have said to me they have never met someone like me. This time was no different and the hotel arranged a driver for me who was excellent and who took me way off the beaten track and tracked down lots of really interesting things out in the country and in small villages and farms. This included a visit to the building of a new temple and also the crematorium nearby. Perfect.

The hotels recommendations were excellent. They recommended the roluos group of temples which was definitely our favourite in all of Siem Reap and they also recommended the silk factory. I really don't get to happy about organised tourist traps but I must admit that the silk factory/weaving visit was very relaxed and hugely informative with excellent guides. The staff and manager of the hotel are brilliant.

The tuk tuk driver was friendly and helpful. Having transport on call from very early morning to late night is a great luxury and no need to bargain etc.

My wife had a massage and was very pleased with it. What can one say our stay was faultless, beyond our expectations.

The hotel is near a local market which when I wandered through it was totally tourist free ( i know that sounds a bit crass). It was in every way a local market at fever pitch and at times angle deep in mud. All the senses are totally battered and not a sign of knick knacks. As different as you can possibly get from the market in the town centre.

We stayed in Siem Reap for 5 nights and I certainly could have stayed another 2 or 3 days.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripinfoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2009

This was the first hotel we stayed in on our 3 week holiday in Cambodia. The setting was wonderful, staff very friendly. good room and pool. Having a tuk tuk included was great too.Location not great though - just a bit far away from downtown for us. We were there in the wet season - can't imagine how hot and dusty it must be in the dry season :(
I feel that a low season price of US $100 makes it very overpriced - we thought $60 would be about right comparing it to other hotels we stayed in all over Cambodia. I guess when a hotel gets rave reviews on Trip Advisor they can charge what they like eh. We stayed at the Tara Angkor too for $60 and it was fabulous - a real gem at a great price. ( I have reviewed Tara also)

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MickiAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
POManager, Manager at Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2009

Good morning from Siem Reap-Angkor.

Thank for your review.

Our room rates include:
- Accommodation in a deluxe room with private balcony
- Breakfast and taxes
- Airport transfers (two ways)
- A private tuk tuk with driver for the all stay. Available from sunrise until 10pm

Low season in Siem Reap is from May to October but inside this period there are 2 peak season months (July and August). So our prices for July were the high season one. Our rates are calculated according to our budget forecast and services include and not according to our classification in tripadvisor :-)

Tara Angkor has 213 rooms and due to the high number of big hotels in Siem Reap, it is understandable for them to propose very special rates in order to fill their rooms (even if 60 US$ for a hotel of this standard mean to slash prices and does not help the market to be fair). Some hotels have closed due to the fact that they did not have the possibility to follow this movement. We wish that in the future the four and five stars hotels come back to a more realistic pricing standard to avoid this situation to happen again especially in a country like Cambodia where it is already difficult for the population to find a job.

Our hotel only has 18 rooms. The services propose can be more personalized and we are also able to be very flexible (reservation procedures, all day breakfast, swimming pool open 24 hours, free internet and so on...).

Anyway, we are conscious that unfortunately we cannot satisfy everybody but we will continue to try to do it and rely on our guest’s reviews to help us on this purpose.

We wish you all the bests.

Warm regards from Angkor,

Sébastien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2009

I cannot speak more highly of this Hotel and the staff that work there.
My wife and I went to Siem Reap for our honeymoon and loved our choice of Hotel, we chose it for the reviews we read about from Trip Advisor, we chose our guide because of the reviews from Trip Advisor and now we both swear by this site, It takes all of the worry out of making an uninformed decision.
The location of the Hotel is out of town however we liked that it was where it was and for a short ride into town by tuk tuk or car found no issue in its location. The pool was lovely and we would return each day from temple visiting and swim.
The food was lovely and the breakfasts were scrumptious.
What you can say about the staff, they were so friendly and helpful, and Sebastian made a point of introducing himself to us.
The rooms we found lovely and the little extra things the Hotel does to make for a memorable stay are great, alot of places could learn a thing or two from the Pavillion. If you want a Marriot or Langham experience you will not find it here what you do get is a personal and very friendly experience in an exceptionally comfortable environment.
If your coming to Siem Reap, just stay here you wont regret it.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwiflier23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
3.6 mi away
Sojourn Boutique Villas
Sojourn Boutique Villas
#31 of 373 in Siem Reap
884 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sokkhak Boutique Resort
Sokkhak Boutique Resort
#8 of 373 in Siem Reap
612 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#23 of 373 in Siem Reap
3,785 reviews
1.6 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
1.4 mi away
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel

Address: Road no 60 , after Psah Leu market, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#6 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#25 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#29 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: £59 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavillon d`Orient Boutique Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing