We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem - Wonderful Hotel, great staff & complimentary tuk tuk driver”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel
Ranked #31 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 December 2010

We booked Pavillon d'Orient after reading all the great reviews and we were not disapointed, Sebastien and his staff made us very welcome and we were sad when it was time to leave. A perfect Hotel for our 4 day stay before our Pandaw Mekong cruise and although a little bit out of town it's not an issue with your own tuk tuk driver. Mr Sao was great and always waiting with a smile when we returned from shopping, temples, sightseeing or dining in town. Well worth booking a guide for a full day to the various temple sites in the tuk tuk and ours was loads of fun with great knowledge. We just went with Sao for the sunrise and sunset views of Angkor Wat and other places of interest and he was very helpful. Hotel was relaxing and quiet with a lovely pool, great outdoor restaurant for daily breakfasts whatever the time and for dinner when we didn't wish to go into town, nice menu and inexpensive. Would love to go back to Siem Reap and stay again at this charming Hotel, great value - highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbelle030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,084)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,431 - 1,437 of 2,084 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2010

Bar none; The Pavillon d'Orient hotel is the best hotel experience I've ever had. Their advertised attention to detail is an understatement. Their attention to detail goes FAR beyond the extra mile, including delightful little surprises like simple Christmas gifts in tiny, homemade gift boxes or nightly 'bedtime stories' of Cambodian folklore left on the bed for you to find after your hot day at the temples.

Travelling with small children (ages, 4, 2 1/2, and 1) and arriving late, Danny showed us right to the room and left check-in for the following morning. Not only were they very tolerant of the children, they all behaved as happy and willing aunts and uncles to them, prioritizing only the comfort and service of other guests above attention to the children (exactly as it should be).

The rooms were spacious, comfortable, and (in our case, at least) quiet. The only noise was muffled (re: reasonable) from a nearby gathering point for locals. Mosquito netting (which we did not need) was available both on the queen-size bed and the baby crib that they brought in extra. The room had all the basic amenities including shower stall, bathtub, hair dryer, in-room safe, spa robes, extra flip-flops, extra towels and wash cloths, a/c, flat-screen tv mounted to the wall, and a lovely balcony with wicker furniture.

The swimming pool is of the salt-water variety, and poolside service is available for drinks, food, etc.

The grounds were beautifully landscaped, with a variety of tropical plants -- and animals -- foot paths, and ponds, all designed to blend in to the local surroundings, and the colonial-style buildings were the foundation for the perfect ambiance.

Dining was available all day until 10pm, starting with breakfast, which was comprised of fresh fruits, eggs, pastries, juices, etc, and offering homemade dishes of both western and Cambodian varieties. Must try Kimloe's peanuts mixture and the fresh yogurt. The dining area is open-air, but covered and having ceiling fans over each table to keep you cool while discreetly keeping any flying insects at bay.

Hotel transportation could not have been better. "Tom" met us late at the airport and entertained us with anecdotes of his youth, his country, and current events. Sao (our tuk-tuk driver) was also polite, easy-going, and determined to serve. We also used a car for 1/2 day, and Sin was likewise a pleasure to be with.

The hotel offers a variety of spa services, which were also very pleasant -- but don't book last minute; afternoons fill up quickly. As daughter of a massage therapist, I'm a tough customer, but left refreshed and (admittedly) bemused at the massage style (it was more like having yoga DONE to you).

Lest you think that the praise is exaggerated, there were some 'downs' to be mentioned. First, we did find a large garden cockroach drowned in the loo of our room on the second day. Given the tropical setting, however, we were not greatly distressed and did not see any other sign of roaches for the rest of the stay. Also, the location is not ideal for walking around outside the hotel; it is somewhat removed from the city center (15-20 minutes by tuk-tuk), and is in more rural-type surroundings (re: dusty and underdeveloped). If you are a seasoned traveller to the third world, however, you will find this to be part of the charm, as the people in the environs were extremely friendly but not encroaching. Also, the underdevelopment can readily be seen from the hotel, but only if you are looking for it, as the hotel has cleverly erected wooden screens that add ambiance while masking, but not denying, the state of the surroundings.

Our expectations were FAR exceeded.

If you're looking for a hotel somewhat removed from the beaten path, where you can enjoy some interaction with locals while being able to retreat to a comfortable jungle oasis, look no further.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cupcacious1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2010

We have just stayed in this hotel for 3 nights (26-29 Dec) and to be honest there is not much more I can say about the Pavillon d'Orient that has not been said before, as long as they are positive!
Our 1st floor room (17) was lovely and spacious with views of the pool (as all have) and a large bathroom with all the amenities you could need.

The breakfast is wide and varied and the hotel will pack you a box of goodies if you are out all day 'doing' the Temples. Although the hotel provides a tuk-tuk as part of your package I took the car upgrade for an extra $15 a day. This I totally recommend as AC, cold drinks and comfortable seats are all included. The car is available from sunrise until sunset and our driver Mr Samreth was a absolute 'top man'. We also took the $25 a day guide, these are absolutely necessary not only to understand the temples of which there are many but to ensure that you do not miss the best places to stand for sun set/rise and other 'local' only knowledge. Why travel all the way to Angkor Wat and not appreciate all it has to offer?

If you do not fancy journeying into seam reap for dinner the hotel has an excellent lunch and dinner (the same) menu, the food was some of the best we had on our travels around Vietnam and Cambodia and all priced at about $4-$6 a course. The bar is the comfortably seated reception area where a large 660ml beer is about $3.50 and a bottle of Chilean house wine is I think $18 and drinkable.

They also have a spa where a 1 hour Kymer massage was $10, good value and not a bad 'rub down' after a days temple climbing!

However, what stands the Pavillon d'Orient out is the Fantastically friendly, efficient staff. There is never anything that appears to be too much trouble for them and it is always carried out with a smile.

Do not hesitate about going here you will have a fantastic time.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antipest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2010

We just returned from four nights at the Pavillon at the end of a three week trip to SE Asia. Initially the location of the hotel may put off guests a little, as it is located on a fairly non-descript stretch of road several kilometers outside the downtown area of Siem Reap. Not to worry--it is actually a blessing to be outside the town center, and the owners/managers of Pavillon d"orient have created a wonderful oasis inside its walls.

The hotel is simply wonderful on all counts. The staff are solicitous almost to a fault--no, really I can carry the ice bucket up to my room, thanks! Danny at the front desk deserves special recognition, both for his service, and for his interest in talking with us--it was very interesting to hear his life story and aspirations. He could not have been more helpful, kind, and attentive. But this was true of all the front desk staff.

And the waitresses and restaurant manager were amazing. They immediately remembered our breakfast preferences and details without us ever repeating them again. The breakfast was very good quality and is apparently available all day starting at 6:30 am, though we never availed ourselves of it after "normal" breakfast time.

The rooms themselves are very good--comfortable bed with mosquito netting (which didnt' seem necessary), spacious veranda/balcony, great amenities like fruit, hot water maker, etc, big closet with lots of space. The only two faults we found, which others have also mentioned, were that the shower inevitably tended to swamp the entire bathroom floor with water, no matter what we did; and the sink faucet in the bathroom splattered water no matter how little volume of water you used.

But the grounds are immaculate, the pool area very pleasant though we didn't use it much, and the hotel has a tuk tuk driver available at night to take guests into town. We went into town every night for dinner, and found the tuk tuk service, of which we were a little dubious initially, to be very reliable and pleasant. We had our own guide and driver arranged through our travel agent, so didn't use the hotel's services for that. I should also add that I besieged the manager, Sebastien, with questions before our arrival--he was always prompt and helpful in replying, and it was a pleasure to meet him in person.

All in all, an enthusiastic recommendation--it was simply a terrific place to end our vacation.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boston_MARambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2010

Loved the hotel but the best thing about this hotel is the staff - they are all amazing and could not be more helpful. It is great to have a tuk-tuk as part of the price as the location is a little out of town. It was my friends birthday while we there and the staff surprised us with a personalised cake! Great place I couldn't recommend enough.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caoimhinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2010

I chose Pavillon D'Orient after reading trip advisor and we were not disappointed.
The hotel is charming with large well appointed bedrooms. There is a fruit bowl, bottled water, tea/coffee making facilities, safe, etc. We had problems in our bathroom with the tap over the basin, but this was fixed immediately we complained. The shower is large and the water inclined to splash out over the floor. The bath was not used by us. Everything supplied in the bathroom and of high quality.
The pool is lovely and the lobby and breakfast area very good. A couple of computers are available for use - free.
The hotel provides free rickshaw drivers during ones stay and they are available from very early morning (for visits to see sunrise at the temples) until late at night. Our driver did not have wonderful command of English which was a shame for us. Others in our group had drivers with better English language skills and so they were able to act as a guide as well.
The only minus I had with the hotel is its location. One does wonder on arrival if you are at the right place.
However, once inside it is a peaceful place.
Try a massage - many different choices and a great experience.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liztait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2010

A most excellent stay for 5 days in Dec.Rooms were the best we had in a month in Cambodia(thanks for the free bottle of wine).Pool perfect when you are all templed out,and some excellent massages.Restaurant was very good for breakfast and we had some very good dinners also.The free tuk tuk driver was excellent and nothing was to much trouble for him.The service in the hotel was special and so personal,the staff know your names and your room numbers and nothing was too much trouble

Highly recommended

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garywilcock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
3.6 mi away
Sojourn Boutique Villas
Sojourn Boutique Villas
#28 of 361 in Siem Reap
872 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sokkhak Boutique Resort
Sokkhak Boutique Resort
#9 of 361 in Siem Reap
585 reviews
1.6 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#21 of 361 in Siem Reap
3,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
#40 of 361 in Siem Reap
500 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Moon Boutique Hotel
The Moon Boutique Hotel
#49 of 361 in Siem Reap
900 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel

Address: Road no 60 , after Psah Leu market, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#6 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#25 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#27 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: £41 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavillon d`Orient Boutique Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing