We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palm Garden Lodge
Ranked #113 of 310 Speciality Lodging in Siem Reap
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We paid $8 a night for the room, including breakfast. The room was quite large, clean, mosquito screen over window, good sized bed, wall fall, small fridge, tv and ensuite.
The breakfast was fine - bread and fried eggs. We also booked the tuktuk driver there to take us around the temples which was a great experience, he was always smiling and friendly.
All staff were polite and friendly, particularly the manager/owner who was always willing to answer our questions.
We found it to be great value for money and in a quieter part of town, although still within easy walking distance to the main areas.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ebony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

114 - 120 of 375 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2013

A decent sized double room with a breakfast for $9,a large T.V.with cable channels,ceiling fan
en suite bathroom.
I found it to be a easy walk to the Night Market and the Old Market,which is the center of the town.
To their credit they did not raise the prices due to it being the High Season,as others had done.. To be fair any criticism has been curtailed by the low tariff

Room Tip: rooms closest to the entrance are cooler
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ron b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

For 7 USD for a single room with breakfast, it is good value for money, no doubt about that.

The room was of decent size, clean, with Fan, fridge, TV and a night stand to put some stuff.
It had a big window, with mosquito screens, so they could be kept open at night.
The bathroom was clean and decently sized.
The staff friendly.
Location was fine for me, less than 10 minutes to walk to the centre, with some cheap places to eat 3 minutes walking away and a small store for water etc. just opposite.

What I did not like:
WIFI was very, very slow, especially in the room
The bed linen were not of cotton, but some polyester mix, which was very hot and an uncomfortable feeling to lie on them
the toilet seat was missing from the toilet (I guess only in my room, 309)
There were no towels provided

Breakfast was not impressive, just fried eggs and two sliced of toast & coffee & tea

Overall its not bad value for money, but I moved after one night to Oral'd Angkor guesthouse, just oposite the street, which offered a breakfast buffet, nicer rooms and fast WIFI for 1USD more.

Room Tip: Don' take 309, no toilet seat. Building only has one floor, Fan rooms face the garden, AC room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MySunnyDays1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

...find another place to stay. Very stressful and took up a lot of our time! The manager tried to call a couple places to find a place for us to stay but did not put in a lot of effort to fix the problem. We ended up staying in a really gross place because it was chinese new year and everything was booked. VERY hard day!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank julieta k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angkorsolida, Owner at Palm Garden Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2013

Dear julieta k,

Now we would like to say sorry for you, that we made you to be unhappy and bad experience in here. After we got your review, we asked all our staffs, why made this problem to you? Because in that time, in our lodge had 2 guests had some problem with passport and camera while they had drink beers at the Pub Street, so they're waiting for the result and confirm from police and they made extend day in that time. About your reservation from Agoda, we had cancellation for you, mean that, we nothing to charge, and the company agree as well. However we really sorry for you. We'll keep this thing for our experience as well.

All the best to you,

Palm Garden Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Easy to find this hotel, staffs very friendly and helpfull. just walk 10 minutes going to night market or Mosque in seam reap. room was clean and nice breakfast for your price. I would love to come back this hotel when visiting seam reap again. I stayed here for two night.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wardi_rahmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

You get what you pay for here - reasonable price for a fan room with breakfast included in Siem Reap.

The owner was helpful throughout and they offer a free tuk tuk ride into town from 18.00-22.00 which is worth taking advantage of if you've been on foot all day exploring the temples.

It's not the Ritz, but it's reasonably clean and good value for money I thought. Surprised at all the bad reviews - it's roughly same price to get a room to yourself here as a night in a hostel so although it was basic, it worked out fine for me.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in March 2013 and were disappointed by our experience. On arrival, before we had even made it to the reception desk, we were harassed by a tuk-tuk driver who seems to be associated to the property (he sure hangs around it a lot) to use him for a tour to Angkor Wat, Angkor Thom etc. The manager / owner? at reception was not that friendly either (at all during our stay - a welcome and smile doesn't cost anything, right? Nor would looking smart when guests arrive, as opposed to an untucked football top). Then once we had checked in and were shown to our room we were again told about the tours the guesthouse could provide. Now I appreciate that in some places guesthouses and hostels need / like to supplement their income, but these guys were far too pushy about it for our liking ("yes thanks, I'm more than aware the weather in Cambodia is hot but we're still going to hire a bike"). We had the same offers in the morning too, despite all our previous rejections. We also asked for a map, although they wouldn't provide one, and when we asked for some advice where to go to find a camera shop they wouldn't tell us specifically but of course the tuk-tuk driver would be happy to take us to one he knew. As for the property, on their own website, the twin room with fan was advertised as having hot water but it certainly didn't (ditto the traditional Khmer picture and slippers - why is that even advertised?). The manager confirmed that none of the rooms at PGL have hot water so there was no chance of being moved rooms. The room we had was clean enough for a budget property, although the mosquito net had a few larger holes which we had to plug with tissue and tape. The television had a very fuzzy picture and no remote control, but the WiFi worked in our room although was not strong / consistent enough to use Skype. The free breakfast of fried egg on toast or fried egg on noodle soup was ok. There is one member of staff (the taller guy of the two who work reception) who was friendly, helpful and nice, its just a shame we didn't deal directly with him so much. On check out, the not so nice manager / owner? then cheekily tried to charge us the full rate even though a 10% deposit had been paid when we booked. We pointed out that there was no hot water etc and he said we should've complained previously, which we did to another member of staff so they obviously don't talk to each other, but we managed to get a reduced rate of $7 per night. He seems to care only about getting our money, which is a shame because on our current trip we've stayed at so many budget places with are friendly, welcoming and manage expectations so much better (honesty and manners don't cost anything!). This property is another example of somewhere which overpromises and underdelivers. Had it not been for the rude manager and irritating tuk-tuk driver, as well as advertising hot water but having none, I imagine we would have been content with our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aldolara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.4 mi away
Boutique Dormitory Kochi-ke
Boutique Dormitory Kochi-ke
#57 of 310 in Siem Reap
99 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adan World
Adan World
#28 of 310 in Siem Reap
204 reviews
1 mi away
Lotus Blanc Resort
Lotus Blanc Resort
#35 of 372 in Siem Reap
2,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
1.2 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#40 of 372 in Siem Reap
5,388 reviews
0.8 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#22 of 372 in Siem Reap
3,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Garden Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Garden Lodge

Address: La Pax Hotel Street, No.132, St. Tepvong | Next to Phsar Gné,Ta Poul Village, Svaydan kum, Siem Reap 855, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 310 Speciality Lodging in Siem Reap
Price Range: £7 - £13 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Palm Garden Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Garden Lodge & Siem Reap Tours is tropical garden in downtown of Siem Reap with Khmer style furniture, just a simple and peaceful place for your holiday. Closed to Market, Restaurant and Pub Street Area. 10 minutes to Central Market, 15 minutes walking to Old Market, Pub Street, Night Market, Siem Reap River and Artisan D' Angkor. You will enjoy staying in Our Lodge! Free WiFi & Internet 24 Hours Free Pick up Free Breakfast Free Tea & Coffee 24 Hours Free Picnic Box (Minimum 2 Nights Stay). Best regards, Leng Dein ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Palm Garden Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Garden Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing