We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, but service has a long way to go”
Review of Lucky Angkor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lucky Angkor Hotel
Ranked #207 of 342 Hotels in Siem Reap
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but service has a long way to go”
Reviewed 12 February 2013

I bought a Groupon for this place with massage and tour packaged together. The hotel is well worth the money in terms of room facilities, but the staff need some serious training. Honestly, alot of my greivances came with communication problems with the staff, and i was shocked that even my tuktuk driver could speak better english than most of them.

GOOD
Affordable
Room is clean and tidy
Packaged massage from nearby parlour, Healthy Hands, was one of the best i've ever received.
Staff do seem like they're trying

BAD
Shower goes from lukewarm to scalding hot randomly
Staff can barely speak English and Manager seems very mercenary (e.g. my Groupon was for two, but cos i travelled alone, he made it very difficult to get two massages, two meals... etc).
Is about 5km away from city and Angkor Wat. There are nearer by hotels.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChakOnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ratana5793, Manager at Lucky Angkor Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear Mr. Chakonn,

Warmest greetings from Lucky Angkor Hotel,
Thank you very much for your feedback on Tripadvisor.com

To Clear up any misunderstanding about your Groupon’s voucher. Your package is for 2 persons and actually you come alone and Its mean 1 person is no show, but suddenly you requested to our front office to combine your package with your friend so it out of our policy.

Otherwise our hotel and hospitalities provided massage 2 hours for you and we reserved 2 hours more for your friend ( Your package offered 1 hour per person) but your friend doesn’t take it because he said he busy.
We offered the best price for you and we charge only 15$ more for the tour because you have 2 persons more to combined with your package but actually you said you don’t need to pay extra on your package
( Tour offers: 1 day tour within Angkor Wat complex in Private car for 2 persons and English Speaking Guide).

With respect to the capabilities of our staff, I am sorry that you did not appreciate their efforts, and felt that even your tuk tuk driver could speak better English than most of them. We usually take pride in the quality and consistency of our staff. Especially seeing that 90% of the employees in Lucky Angkor come from disadvantaged families living below the poverty line with very limited future outlooks, we are very proud of their performance and continuous development. As you mentioned, we are concerned about the local community, and have a strong focus on training and development of the local staff .
Anyway your comment did leave me a little concerned and all statement is valued for us to prove our standard of service.

On behalf of Management and team at Lucky Angkor Hotel , we are sorry that we did not meet your expectations, but we hope you accept our sincere apologies and we hope you give us an opportunity to host you again.

Very best regards,
Lucky Angkor Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    44
    17
    10
    2
See reviews for
18
29
22
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Checked in last Jan20-24,2013, its a very good and nice hotel. deluxe room is great. food is great. service is very excellent, very friendly and accommodating staff. location is bit far to pub street but no worries its so easy to get a tuk tuk ride. Just a piece of advice, Pls have some mosquito repellant especially at the hotel lobby (i guess must be the plants), but aside from that all is good. 2 thumbs up! :) :) :)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marry Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ratana5793, Manager at Lucky Angkor Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Dear Valued guest,

we are very happy to learn that you're enjoyed and most satisfied with our facilities and services provided, all comment are valued to bring up for improving our service. We apologize for inconvenience which caused you during stay .
Once again,Thank you for your time and look forward to see you here again.

Best regards
Lucky Angkor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 December 2012

I had a large, pleasant room in old wing. It overlooked the pool and was far enough away from Route 6 to be quiet. Staff were invariably friendly and helpful. Not sure how the new wing compares but old wing had comfortable bed, good, clean bathroom. Had use of bike so getting to Old Market area was quick if a bit challenging with bikes, motorbikes and cars coming in all directions.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EricJ j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Nice rooms (stayed in a deluxe room) and very nice pool. Breakfast very much Asian food but okay. Would never consider staying again due to strange service. We arrived to be put in a suite with no explanation of how long for, then at 9pm asked to change rooms to a deluxe room. After explaining that we had booked a tour for the next day under the previous room number we were assured it would be okay. The next day our tour guide was turned away and was told that there was no one staying in that room. Previously we had read the book in the room and it said to go to the tour desk to arrange tours. There is no tour desk, and the reception staff weren’t capable of handling the enquiry. Then there was the time they told us we had 20% off food and drink then when we got the bill they had no idea what I was talking about and made me walk from building to building attempting to settle the bill rather than sorting it themselves. We stayed 4 nights and they not once changed the sheets and they weren’t overly clean to start with so it was easy to tell. Then there was the day housekeeping never came at all. We got back to the hotel at 9pm to find they just never bothered to come to our room with water or towels. To make it worse the ‘please make up our room’ sign was on most of the day. In response they sent someone with clean towels. The stay was all made more difficult than it needed to be and by the time I left I was exhausted from the daily struggle just to have a normal experience! Hotel also hosts large tour groups so at 9 – 10 pm pool is full of people but empty all day.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kiwitraveller98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middle England
Level Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

There are two hotels to the Lucky Angkor hotel, the one at the back and the one at the side. Unfortunatley our tour booked the one at the side which was like a down market travel lodge.
The room was clean as was the bed linen but the food was basic bland and not what we expected. Indeed in general Cambodian food was well cooked and prepared by interesting people. The staff were pleasant and assisted where they could but I would not stay there by choice.
The pool and grounds were well maintained and pool towels were provided.

I would go back to cambodia but stay in a better hotel

Room Tip: Choose elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cartman173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012 via mobile

We booked 3 nights and with arrival they gave us a room in the old wing which are small rooms. It took a lot of talking to get at least 2 nights in the new wing with nice rooms I hope we will have the last night also in the new wing then it is ok with me.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank nghijsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012 via mobile

I book a ground package inclusive of tours n hotel rooms in March 2012 for 5 pax ( 3 male+2 female) and we given the top floor .. Excellent view n the rooms are clean . . Both rooms are facing the swimming pool... Good breakfast spread. A warm reception given upon checkin n staff were very friendly and helpful.. Distance from town within 15mins walk.. Tuk tuk ( a must try) for USD2/pax get you anywhere within the town and always standby outside the lobby..( almost 24hours).. Excellent choice for this price.. % caution...there was a BIG lizard 7 inches always along the corridor on the top floor..Dont worry they wont bite.. Sleep was excellent with good A/C... Definitely return to this hotel if i come to Siem Reap..

Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Arazcaliph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.9 mi away
Reveal Angkor Boutique Hotel
Reveal Angkor Boutique Hotel
#77 of 342 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
2.0 mi away
Angkor Davann Hotel
Angkor Davann Hotel
#287 of 342 in Siem Reap
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
4.3 mi away
Angkor Elysium Suite
Angkor Elysium Suite
#111 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Model Residence and Spa
Model Residence and Spa
#139 of 342 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
1.5 mi away
Angkor Sayana Hotel & Spa
Angkor Sayana Hotel & Spa
#97 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.5 mi away
Paradise Angkor Villa Hotel
Paradise Angkor Villa Hotel
#235 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lucky Angkor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucky Angkor Hotel

Property: Lucky Angkor Hotel
Address: National Road No 6 | Choung Kaosu Sangkat Slorkram, Siem Reap 2000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #207 of 342 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lucky Angkor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on national road #6 and only 5 minutes' walk to the lovely Phsa Leu Market, Lucky Angkor Hotel & Spa is conveniently access to sightseeing and culture hub of Siem Reap city. The hotel just 2 kilometers away from the Royal Residence Park and Museums, 15 minutes' drive from Siem Reap International Airport and 10 minutes to the fame of UNESCO famous Angkor Archeological Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Lucky Angkor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing