We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home Sweet Home - anything but”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Home Sweet Home

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Home Sweet Home
Ranked #187 of 253 Speciality Lodging in Siem Reap
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Home Sweet Home - anything but”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2011

This place wasn't our first choice - we made reservations at New Apsara down the road, but they double booked and moved us to the owner's sister's establishment: Home Sweet Home.

The room was spacious, but the amenities were substandard; there was dust and dirt everywhere, the bed sheets were disgustingly dirty, the bathroom was dirty and hot water didn't work. The air conditioning was good.

Some of staff were friendly, but others were very unprofessional. They also tried to charge us $15, when the website advertised the price as $12.

We ate there once, the food was pretty awful

Thankfully we moved back to Two Dragons the next day. We would not stay here again or recommend it to anyone, unless you're on a really tight budget and don't mind things that were originally white being brown.

Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank funkyrobot1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    39
    31
    22
    30
See reviews for
10
51
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2011

I stayed in this guesthouse for a few nights. It cost $6 per night, which I initially thought was a bit steep but I am on my own and I got a double room with ensuite shower. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. They can arrange anything for you from bus tickets to excursions. They have their own tuk-tuks that will take you pretty much anywhere for $1. They took me to the concert at Kantha Bopha hospital and waited for two hours to take me back all for $2!! They can also take you around the Angkor Wat site by Tuk-Tuk.

I would recommend this place. Rooms are comfortable with a huge ceiling fan or air con, TV and ensuite bath/shower/toilet. The restaurant is reasonably priced. They are only a 15 minute walk into bar street.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AA285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

We booked this hotel in Siem Reap very late and it was by far the cheapest place we stayed at, but definitely not the worst. Ok, for £4.50 one gets a room without airco (but with a fan), without hot water, and the room looks a bit run down, but it was still much better than what we'd expected for this price. There's free wireless too, though only on the patio (which is a nice place to hang out in the evenings), and the staff were very helpful. If you're on a budget, check this place out.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikeynl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kambodscha
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2011

We were really surprised when we arrived to this hotel.
It is quiet but close to the center. The rooms are very big for the price and have big single beds (pretty good ones) and include a table and chair. The fan was quiet. The staff is friendly, too. It's no luxury hotel but the most value I ever got for my money in Cambodia (I have been 1 month in the country).
The place in front of the hotel is "green" and makes a nice atmosphere.
You can reach several markets by tuktuk for $1 or $1,5 return.
At least there is always one tuk tuk in front of the hotel. They give informations to the tours to the Angkor temples.
Cheap massages available, too ($5 one hour)
We stayed there for 7 nights.
The Wi-Fi connection is not available in every room but for free. At least you can use the access at the big balcony.

I can defenetly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Durianlover84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quezon city
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2010

home sweet home has really been our home away from home. the staff are very warm and friendly. they are always ready to help you. they give very useful information. even gave us a free booklet with places to go, things to do, useful khmer phrases and more info. there's tuktuk service and they can even arrange tours for you. the rooms are clean and there are always fresh towels. the aircon wasn't as cold as i wanted it to be with the hot weather (april) outside. but it was ok. at least there were ceiling fans enough to cool you off. food is ok too. there's 24 hour free wifi and landlines to make overseas calls.

generally, its value for your money. it was a pleasant experience staying at home sweet home. will definitely recommend to friends and would love go back again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sprinkle_fairy_dust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2010

Cleanliness: The guesthouse was simple and had its basic amenities was not super clean (dusty, garbage from guests before, dirty towels etc etc) but what you would expect when you pay $3/person/night. No major complaints about the cleanliness but nothing to rave about.

Location: Extremely poor location. It was about 15-20 minutes walk from the city centre down this dusty, dark alley. After a long day of exploring, the last thing you would probably want is to walk this far to get some dinner, then have to walk back to get some sleep.

Rooms: Simple - nothing special. The bathrooms were kind of gross - there was somewhat of a stench to it. The door locks were kind of sketchy to us. We felt that it was not very secure and felt a little unsafe.

Service: By far the worst service we have had over the last 2 months traveling in SE Asia. Absolutely AWFUL staff. They were extremely lacking in compassion. Our friend got sick and had to cancel a trip we had tentatively booked with them (with no confirmation yet), but they insisted that we pay and go. They lied to us and gave us many reasons for why they couldn't cancel (1. tuk tuk driver was called and they can't call again because he is poor 2. tuk tuk driver does not have a cell phone 3. tuk tuk driver is sleeping so can't call) none of which made any sense. The service was the utmost factor that we moved out the next day and decided against staying for another night. We stayed for 2 nights instead of 4.

Sleep Quality: was poor, because every night there was some sort of issue with front desk that made us have to talk to them until very late.

Value: Due to the service, I would say this guesthouse is not worth its buck. The service is awful and I would pay a dollar or two more for many of the better people and location in Siem Reap.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtung65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Siem Reap hotels

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2010

We had an awful experience, so I will just lay out some things that happened and you can decide if you would enjoy this or not:

We arrived early before check-in and, after reserving and paying a deposit for our room on hostelworld, found they had given it away. They moved us to a cheaper room, without AC, and refused to lower our rate or move us to a room with AC.
There were bedbugs.
There was no hot water, despite that also being "included."
The internet did not work most of the time. I was electrocuted when I tried to reboot the computer by pushing the "POWER" button.
We were considering booking a tuk-tuk for Angkor Wat, but then decided were sick later in the day so asked to cancel and we were very apologetic. They refused to cancel it and yelled at us for almost an hour about how inconsiderate we are. They told us that we had to pay anyway.
In the end, they were so aggressive - yelling at us every time we came downstairs - that we left the money on the desk while they slept (paid in full) and had to sneak out at 4:45am.

... We did not think it was worth the cheap price.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csbauermeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel 20th Street
Hotel 20th Street
#139 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Happy Guest House
Happy Guest House
#26 of 485 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
0.0 mi away
Two Dragons Guesthouse
Two Dragons Guesthouse
#68 of 485 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Siem Reap Green Home Guesthouse
0.7 mi away
Tom & Jerry Guest House
Tom & Jerry Guest House
#182 of 253 in Siem Reap
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.7 mi away
Advisor Angkor Villa
Advisor Angkor Villa
#113 of 253 in Siem Reap
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home Sweet Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Sweet Home

Property: Home Sweet Home
Address: 0111 Wat Bo Rd | Salakamroek Village, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #187 of 253 Speciality Lodging in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Home Sweet Home 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether on business or holiday, property are designed help guests relax in comfort and style. Some of the features you'll enjoy are non smoking rooms, air conditioning, desk, internet access (wireless), internet access, in room safe, television, bathtub. Featuring 24hr room service, coffee shop, bar/pub, laundry service/dry cleaning, restaurant, room service, safety deposit boxes, hotel/airport transfer, this Siem Reap hotel is sure to make each guest's trip an enjoyable one. After a day of work or exploring, massage, garden are some of the ways to unwind. Convenient location, a dedicated staff and first-rate facilities make this hotel a favorite among travelers. Home Sweet Home Hotel can be easily booked with our secure online booking form. Simply enter your dates and click to proceed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Home Sweet Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Home Sweet Home Hotel Siem Reap
Home Sweet Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing