We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable Stay”
Review of Home Sweet Home

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Home Sweet Home
Ranked #186 of 267 Speciality Lodging in Siem Reap
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Unforgettable Stay”
Reviewed 12 January 2012

My friend and I stayed in Vietnam at first and booked our Cambodia trip just the same day as we leave on the midnight. Home Sweet Home was not our first choice since we didn't know about it yet until a couple in the hostel we stayed in Vietnam told us about it. Since we didn't have time to contact and search other hostels, we just chose this. We tried to email them, however there was no response since we needed a confirmation from them right away.

Since the call from hostel phone in Vietnam to Cambodia is expensive for my friend and I, I was forced to ask my boyfriend who is in the Netherlands to call them. He had a hard time understanding them since he is not exposed to Southeast-asians trying to speak english.

However, I think he still made his message get across.

So after 12 or more than hours trip from Vietnam to Phnom Penh, we got to the central station and looked for a telephone. Home Sweet Home answered right away and I told them that we will be sleeping there that night and we need a room for 2 people and a person to pick us up from the bus station.

They just asked the time of our departure and which bus station.

After long hours of trip again, our tuk-tuk driver, Tiger, had a sign with my name on so we were relieved that our booking via phone last minute was good.

Anyway, the staff is great. VERY FRIENDLY AND ACCOMMODATING. They would love to talk to us Filipinos and chat with us every now and then. THE FOOD IS GREAT. Try BEEF LOK LAK, one of the best meals I tasted there.

I love it there and I am looking forward to stay at Home Sweet Home again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank innasantiago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    40
    31
    22
    30
See reviews for
10
51
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Horgen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

The rooms are clean, spacious and have balconies. The toilet is very clean and spacious.
Every day, clean rooms, changing bed sheets, pillow cases.
Only $ 6 for two persons, without breakfast but they have free internet, and speed is ok.
The only criticism is that oppress to eat at their restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 20Horgen15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Looking for a place to stay, We stayed here for 4 nights. Staff were friendly and helpful. there is plenty of places to eat near by.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CA_WPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoChiMinh city Vietnam
1 review
Reviewed 28 December 2011

I have booked 1 single room 04 USD at this Guesthouse ( GH) on Agoda.com
After that, I booked directly 3 other nights with this GH with the same price
When I came to this GH, its staff , in good mood , told me that my breakfasts when I was there would be free because there was a promotion from the GH, I thanked him so much!

When I intended to pay , this GH 's boss said that I had to pay 08 USD for 3 nights!.because that was the price for my room !
( Please be minded that he did not mention about the breakfast , that means:
- implicitly that whether the breakfast was included in the room charges as the 1-night room charge I paid via Agoda.com included the breakfast ,or
-that came from promotion I was told by his staff )

.I said that " all had been settled clearly between your staff and me by e.mail, I could prove that to you"

He let me use his computer, but after a while using, I told him that I could not use it, he was near me but did not do anything to help me. I had to go to an public Internet on the street to have my e.mail printed out to show him. He read the paper maybe in 3 minutes and told me:" Ok, you will pay this with my staff at 07pm"

07pm, and his staff told me that I would pay 08 USD /night for 3 nights! because of the breakfast charges!

I told him that right when I came, he did tell me that was free, he answered he just said about the one night I booked via Agoda.com and there is no mention about breakfast included in the room charges in our e.mails!!!

I intended to stay 1 more day to bring this problem to the local police, but my trip plan and my hotel booking were fixed, so I had to pay

So, who ever intend to book room of this GH must be extremely cautious ! One of this GH staff told me that I was not the first to get problem with this "no-smile" and "you- must- look- at- me- as-a -VIP" boss, and I think I will not be the last!

To the GH boss: when you do something illigitimately to someone, remember the " cause and effect " relation !

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Do D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

I paid 5 dollars a night for a clean room, with a roof fan, wooden furnitures and with TV. I couldn't get more for this price. During my 2 months backpacking trip in SEA, I couldn't help but sharing the tip with all the travelers I met. If you travel on a shoestring but still request comfort and cleanliness...that's the place to go in Siem Reap!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CicineM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2011

I would certainly recomend Home Sweet Home to anyone staying in Siem Riep.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, and spoke good english. They helped us to orgnaise a trip to Angkor Wat and our transport to our next destination.
The hotel also had a restaurant which was open at 4am to serve us breakfast before we went to Angkor Wat for sunrise.
Our room was spacious, with big comfy beds, wardrobe, tv etc. Bathroom was adequate. And it was all clean too.
They also had 2 computers (with internet) which were free to use!
And it was so cheap - we payed about $2 each per night. Brillaint value for money.

Good location aswell - it only took us about 10 minutes to walk along the riverbank into the centre of the city to the restuarants and markets.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newbie_traveller_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shisv, Manager at Home Sweet Home, responded to this review, 20 November 2011
Home Sweet Home is good hotel in SIem Reap
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We only stayed here for 2 nights but could have stayed for longer because it was so nice! The people at reception were very helpful and spoke good English and were nice! The place itself was very clean an quiet and the rooms spacious and comfortable. We stayed in a room of 4 which was hard to find and for only $2 a night it was by far the best place we stayed on the whole trip. It was about 15 minute walk from the centre but it was a nice walk along the river. A brilliant place!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellie_g3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel 20th Street
Hotel 20th Street
#132 of 342 in Siem Reap
231 reviews
0.0 mi away
Two Dragons Guesthouse
Two Dragons Guesthouse
#61 of 489 in Siem Reap
262 reviews
0.5 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#39 of 342 in Siem Reap
4,926 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
1.6 mi away
Lotus Blanc Resort
Lotus Blanc Resort
#31 of 342 in Siem Reap
2,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home Sweet Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Sweet Home

Property: Home Sweet Home
Address: 0111 Wat Bo Rd | Salakamroek Village, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #186 of 267 Speciality Lodging in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Home Sweet Home 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether on business or holiday, property are designed help guests relax in comfort and style. Some of the features you'll enjoy are non smoking rooms, air conditioning, desk, internet access (wireless), internet access, in room safe, television, bathtub. Featuring 24hr room service, coffee shop, bar/pub, laundry service/dry cleaning, restaurant, room service, safety deposit boxes, hotel/airport transfer, this Siem Reap hotel is sure to make each guest's trip an enjoyable one. After a day of work or exploring, massage, garden are some of the ways to unwind. Convenient location, a dedicated staff and first-rate facilities make this hotel a favorite among travelers. Home Sweet Home Hotel can be easily booked with our secure online booking form. Simply enter your dates and click to proceed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Home Sweet Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Home Sweet Home Hotel Siem Reap
Home Sweet Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing