We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“rosted tapwater” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Home Sweet Home

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Home Sweet Home
Ranked #196 of 249 Speciality Lodging in Siem Reap
Pnom Penh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“rosted tapwater”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

I can't recommend this place. The boss is ignorent about everything but earning money. He treats his staff badly and doesn't care about maintainance. This shows in several things.
The internet connection is too small for all the guests in this g-h. The watersystem is terrible: the watercontainer is rosted and so the tap and shower water has an awful smell, who wants to shower in that?
All the laundry is done by hand, all the sheets and towels (!), how clean does this get? Besides the women doing this very hard work have realy bad facilities and a lot of water is wasted. Desk staff sleeps on the ground near the desk. These are only the main faults, there are lots of other small but irritating minors in this g-h due to ignorant and bad management.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    39
    31
    22
    30
See reviews for
10
51
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Porvoo, Finland
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

water smelled like iron and i think there was no hot water in our room. it was fine, siem reap is really hot.

other than that it was nice.
they sent someone to pick us up from the bus (altho we missed him and came on our own)
you can check out late and pay only half a day, which is really good.

oh also the wifi didn't work in our room.

Room Tip: maybe the wifi works better downstairs?
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank possuriina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2012 via mobile

We had an awful experience here really! We arrived at midnight after a long 16 hour bus from ho chi Minh city. We were greeted by the manager who informed us the hotel was booked Out and there was no room for us. Baring in mind we had booked our room and paid for it 3 months before we arrived!! So we were sent elsewhere to a hostel he owned! Breakfast was eggs and bread that's about it. The room was so hot it was unbearable as the fan really didn't help. We had no hot water so it was cold showers for 4 days, at breakfast they offer you more coffee and make it sound like its included in your breakfast but then charge you for it later! They forgot our breakfast orders 2-3 times. Worst of all when we left we realised we had approx 350-400 dollars stolen out of our currency wallet. When I contacted the hotel to question it they didn't even bother to respond to my emails. We are 99.9% sure the money had been taken by a maid as our eyes have been on our money like absolute hawks when we had been moving around. It's the only hotel we had stayed in to date where our room was cleaned during our stay. It's a very cheap hotel don't get me wrong we weren't expecting much but regardless that is no excuse for the poor service we received.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren_whiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Siem Reap hotels

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

Nice and quiet place, nice bedroom, nice staff even if they always try to have the best price for them, it's a sport here.

If i can give an advice, it is to go to the official bus station directly for the ticket if you don't want to have a 5$ tax from the hotel, and do the same for all your trips.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julien_biz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

We were excited at all the 'Free' things advertised on hostelbookers. But once we had got there we were told, literally 'we put that just for advertising, you don't get this unless you pay big room price,' and also 'all hotel say you get free things but they don't.' I told the staff they cannot advertise this unless it is given. They didn't care, the lady kept laughing and so we cancelled our stay bar the one night.

Our room was so hot and damp. The toilet, sink and shower water runs yellow, and there is also some sort of red liquid running down the bathroom walls.


AVOID at all costs.... please read the negatives about this place and see the repetition

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HimandHer s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

If I would go back to Cambodia again, Home sweet home will definitely my choice!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yowong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
110 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

I booked on Hostelbookers under King Angkor Villa. The name when i arrived was Home Swee Home. A tuk tuk driver met me at the airport with my name. What I later found out is that they own three hotels with 'Tom & Jerry' and move people around but use the nicer King Angkor photos for bookings.
Room was nice with a great tv package. I rented a bike for $1 to see all of ankor wat. Free cooked breakfast is provided. They sell large water bottles and drinks. Their english is not too good but they try to help. They arranged my bus ticket to phnom penh and had a tuk tuk driver take me to the bus station. I used the bike to go into Siem Reap town in the evening just across the river for a meal.
Hot water is not included but this seems normal in cambodia. Also the water had dirt in it and was yellow when I flushed the toilet so be careful

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonE7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.0 mi away
Two Dragons Guesthouse
Two Dragons Guesthouse
#75 of 500 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.0 mi away
Happy Guest House
Happy Guest House
#23 of 500 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seven Candles Guest House
Seven Candles Guest House
#8 of 500 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Garden Village Guesthouse
Garden Village Guesthouse
#65 of 500 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
0.1 mi away
Siem Reap Green Home Guesthouse
0.7 mi away
Advisor Angkor Villa
Advisor Angkor Villa
#109 of 249 in Siem Reap
3.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home Sweet Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Sweet Home

Property: Home Sweet Home
Address: 0111 Wat Bo Rd | Salakamroek Village, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #196 of 249 Speciality Lodging in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Home Sweet Home 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether on business or holiday, property are designed help guests relax in comfort and style. Some of the features you'll enjoy are non smoking rooms, air conditioning, desk, internet access (wireless), internet access, in room safe, television, bathtub. Featuring 24hr room service, coffee shop, bar/pub, laundry service/dry cleaning, restaurant, room service, safety deposit boxes, hotel/airport transfer, this Siem Reap hotel is sure to make each guest's trip an enjoyable one. After a day of work or exploring, massage, garden are some of the ways to unwind. Convenient location, a dedicated staff and first-rate facilities make this hotel a favorite among travelers. Home Sweet Home Hotel can be easily booked with our secure online booking form. Simply enter your dates and click to proceed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Home Sweet Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Home Sweet Home Hotel Siem Reap
Home Sweet Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing