We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never stay there again”
Review of Home Sweet Home

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Home Sweet Home
Ranked #216 of 325 Speciality Lodging in Siem Reap
Reviewed 30 April 2013

The room is so bad and dirty. The bathroom has a strange smell that I could not stand. I booked an A/C double room, but the A/C looks like a model in 1970s (see picture). The hotel is located on a village, so boring.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trangltx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

77 - 83 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2013

We got sick just after arriving in Siem Reap, so we ended up staying here at Home Sweet Home for almost two weeks. Other than a couple short city-wide black outs, this was a great place to stay. Hot water, A/C, plus a sturdily-mounted ceiling fan a very reasonable price. The front desk offers help with trips and tours, but was never pushy. We had a guide arranged for us by reception for one of our days at the Angkor Wat, and he was very cheerful and knowledgable with good English skills. The adjoining restaurant offered fine western breakfasts, though we never tried the rest of the menu as eating in town was our preferance. Town is about a 12 minute walk, but most of it is along the canal and rather peaceful. There are some good BBQ restaurants along Wat Bo as well which are MUCH cheaper than the BBQ in town.

One tip: Do your laundry through the hotel, and not with the woman across the street. Her rates are a little cheaper than the hotels, but when my laundry was returned with items missing, she smiled and said to "check back tomorrow," which is exactly what she said the next day and the day after that as well. When we did our laundry through the hotel, one item went missing as well, but I told reception and the missing item was delivered to the hotel in just a couple hours.

Room Tip: Kindly ask to inspect the room first as the mattresses are of varying qualities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarnivoreOnTheRun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

This is a good little hotel but definitely room for improvement. They picked us up by tuk tuk from the airport and the ride was awesome. Its little too far from the airport and most of the shopping areas but nice little place. They have a restaurant in the same complex. They do have Wi-Fi but not strong enough to reach the rooms(We stayed in Rm 215 and 217). Rooms are ok. It took a while for the rooms to get cold but still not cool enough for us. Not sure whether the issue is with the A/C or not. And they didn't have a separate place for shower. So basically the shower is on top of the toilet. And I don't remember seeing any fridge in the room either.

But the staff were nice, they have currency exchange. So we were able to exchange some of our Vietnamese Dong. I was actually surprised to hear that the airport drop-off in their tuk tuk isn't free. Only the pickup from the airport is free. But it's not expensive. I think it's like $5. Tuk tuk driver was so nice. He really helped us to find a guide for Angkor Wat at the last minute. They also helped us with booking tickets to dinner with traditional Cambodian dance which I would recommend.

If you can overlook some of these issues, then its a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that's close by the lobby so you can get the Wi-Fi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

I spend about two weeks in home sweet home guest house, and about 10 months in cambodia, one of the nicest I found, and cheap.
The room was big and clean, and they clean it every time you ask for it (once a day). The food in their restaurant was nice and cheap, and they have wifi which was working good also from the room, laundry and they'll be happy to help you organize your trip to angkor, doesn't matter if you need a Tuk tuk or rent a bicicle and hire a guide in any language.

I'll recomend, and i did already, this guesthouse to anyone visiting siam reap. It's not in downtown, and I like this because was very quiet, and anyway siam reap is a very small city, and you can walk on the river side for 10 minutes to town.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Javi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

I was here for 2 nights, I enjoyed my stay here but I'll be honest this pace has a few faults, the water quality is one but I found out that this is a generic problem with all the hostels in Seam Reap, the owner is not so informative but his staffs are, got a bicycle for USD1 a day and went to Angkor everyday by peddle power, sleep quality was good but do bring a sleeping liner with you if you are the flashpacker sort that expect stainless sheets, it's close to food stalls and walking distance to all the markets overall I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I can't recommend this place. The boss is ignorent about everything but earning money. He treats his staff badly and doesn't care about maintainance. This shows in several things.
The internet connection is too small for all the guests in this g-h. The watersystem is terrible: the watercontainer is rosted and so the tap and shower water has an awful smell, who wants to shower in that?
All the laundry is done by hand, all the sheets and towels (!), how clean does this get? Besides the women doing this very hard work have realy bad facilities and a lot of water is wasted. Desk staff sleeps on the ground near the desk. These are only the main faults, there are lots of other small but irritating minors in this g-h due to ignorant and bad management.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

water smelled like iron and i think there was no hot water in our room. it was fine, siem reap is really hot.

other than that it was nice.
they sent someone to pick us up from the bus (altho we missed him and came on our own)
you can check out late and pay only half a day, which is really good.

oh also the wifi didn't work in our room.

Room Tip: maybe the wifi works better downstairs?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank possuriina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.2 mi away
Shinta Mani Shack
Shinta Mani Shack
#9 of 378 in Siem Reap
2,283 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lotus Blanc Resort
Lotus Blanc Resort
#38 of 378 in Siem Reap
2,587 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#43 of 378 in Siem Reap
5,459 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kiri Boutique Hotel
Kiri Boutique Hotel
#155 of 378 in Siem Reap
520 reviews
0.9 mi away
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
#60 of 378 in Siem Reap
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home Sweet Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Sweet Home

Address: 0111 Wat Bo Rd | Salakamroek Village, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #216 of 325 Speciality Lodging in Siem Reap
Price Range: £7 - £9 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Home Sweet Home 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether on business or holiday, property are designed help guests relax in comfort and style. Some of the features you'll enjoy are non smoking rooms, air conditioning, desk, internet access (wireless), internet access, in room safe, television, bathtub. Featuring 24hr room service, coffee shop, bar/pub, laundry service/dry cleaning, restaurant, room service, safety deposit boxes, hotel/airport transfer, this Siem Reap hotel is sure to make each guest's trip an enjoyable one. After a day of work or exploring, massage, garden are some of the ways to unwind. Convenient location, a dedicated staff and first-rate facilities make this hotel a favorite among travelers. Home Sweet Home Hotel can be easily booked with our secure online booking form. Simply enter your dates and click to proceed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Home Sweet Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Home Sweet Home Hotel Siem Reap
Home Sweet Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing