We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't book tours through this guesthouse” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Home Sweet Home

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Home Sweet Home
Ranked #197 of 248 Speciality Lodging in Siem Reap
Melbourne
1 review
“Don't book tours through this guesthouse”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

As a guesthouse overall it's not too bad.
The problem is that the manager puts a lot of pressure on you to book tours, bus tickets etc. with the guesthouse. There are no details or prices displayed anywhere, and you will be grossly overcharged for everything.
Even if you know local price structures and are a skilled bargainer it is just not worth the hassle.
Deal directly with tuktuk drivers or tour companies for your trips, and buy bus tickets elsewhere.

Room Tip: Most rooms are quiet but best to check first
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    39
    31
    22
    30
See reviews for
10
51
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

We moved there when our hotel was overbooked. Our hotel paid our visit at Home Sweet Home. But they charged 10$ extra over the original and already paid price. Then they tried to charge extra to give us the remote to the AC. When we booked transfer whit a van from the airport, they insisted on their van who was suppose to be bigger and better than the airport vans. That cost us 3$ more then the standard. Our friends arrived in two tuc-tucs. The story goes on like this, avoid this hostel at all cost if u dont wanna waist hours on bargain whit the manager.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Siem Reap hotels

Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

We were sent here after our original guest house "lost" our Agoda reservation. We were given a fan room, which was fine, but later found out fan rooms had no hot water. The room was large with high ceilings, but the bathroom was a hot mess- the flusher on the toilet was broke and the apparent solution was to take the lid off the tank and manually manipulate the mechanism. The towel tack was falling apart and the sink was not far behind. Also, the water reeked of sulfur!
But what really disappointed us was how unfriendly the staff was. There was rarely anyone at the front desk, and when they were around, there were no greetings or even polite smiles. When we asked a manager to help us coordinate a tuk tuk to Angkor Wat, you'd think we were asking her to carry us there herself, the amount of hemming and hawing she did. She ultimately told us to find someone ourselves after quoting an outrageous price.
It wasn't a place we would've chosen, and there are plenty of guest houses that are much friendlier and better quality for the price! Look elsewhere!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank EJAnderson00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

My friends and I originally booked in for 2 nights and Home Sweet Home but ended up staying 5. This all came down to the price. Its very budget friendly. However, there is no Wifi in the rooms only down in the small reception area which can get quite crowded. There was free breakfast but we seemed to miss it on most days and the one day we didnt it was pretty average. At the moment they are doing some major renovations to the front courtyard of the guesthouse so its really very noisy. Also its about a 10-15 min walk away from the town centre, markets etc but thats not neccesarily a con. The staff were friendly but did hassle you a bit to get their tuk tuks and tours but hey your in Asia that's how it goes. Overall, pretty average Id simply reccommend looking around if your in need of specifics like Wifi etc

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miss-n-Lola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed 1 night at a place called Smiley's and had to move. Found Home Sweet Home and stayed the rest of the time. Only $6 for a huge room, TV, fan only and cold water. For a few extra bucks you can have hot water, but it was so hot outside a cold shower was fine. The staff were really friendly and they cleaned the rooms everyday. The restaurant was good for value. Easy to have breakfast before heading to Angkor Wat and usual ate for dinner for convenience. The lok lak was nice and filled you up. About a 10 minute walk to the shopping area of Siem Reap, but closer to Angkor (We biked there everyday in about 15 minutes.)
Only downside would be that the wifi doesn't reach to the rooms but you have to go out in the balcony or down to the restaurant area.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Squnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed here in the 5 bed family room for 3 nights. We were dubious about staying at first as we had seen some bad reviews on trip advisor. They could not be more wrong. We arrived late after an extremely long day of travelling. When we arrived the owner took us straight to the room and told us not to worry about paying until we had rested. As we were all starving when we arrived, they reopened the kitten and cooked us anything off the menu we wanted. The room was incredibly spacious and clean. It had a very powerful fan and air con. Bathroom was also lovely with hot water. There isn't wifi in the rooms but it works well downstairs.
The laundry service is extremely cheap and quick. I think overall the service was the best part of our stay. The staff sorted out all our transfers and day trips to Angkor Wat for us and gave honest advice of what to do in the town without trying to sell us any extra trips. The staff could not do enough for us. We somehow managed to lock ourselves out of our room twice and both times they rifled through hundreds of keys to let us in with no trouble at all. We also accidentally turned our hot water off and the manager came straight up and sorted it. Location was very good too with a fantastic restaurant called Helen's Cafe opposite. We have since stayed in places at the same price but with half the facilities and service.
I would definitely stay again without hesitation!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosie123ghp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

We were staying in another guesthouse in Siem Reap paying $12 a night, and we found Home Sweet Home as we were walking by. They showed a room bigger and nicer than ours for $6, so we came next day and stayed for 3 nights.

We were a bit concerned about bad reviews on TA, but find out that the place is great value for your money. It is indeed a bit rundown, and water has a funny taste/smell, but otherwise it's ok.

Cons :
- water with funny taste/smell
- no wi-fi in the room (but ok in the terrace)

Pros :
- big room
- big confy bed (although I like hard mattresses, it might not suit everybody)
- very clean (they clean everyday)

In the same street you can find other similar priced guesthouses, so you can compare by yourself. For us it was a big improvement from our $12 a night guesthouse.

Room Tip: If you stay closer to the terrace you might get better wi-fi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jurdas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.7 mi away
Tom & Jerry Guest House
Tom & Jerry Guest House
#186 of 248 in Siem Reap
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.9 mi away
Garden Village Guesthouse
Garden Village Guesthouse
#65 of 499 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
0.0 mi away
Happy Guest House
Happy Guest House
#23 of 499 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Seven Candles Guest House
Seven Candles Guest House
#8 of 499 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.7 mi away
Advisor Angkor Villa
Advisor Angkor Villa
#109 of 248 in Siem Reap
3.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.1 mi away
Siem Reap Green Home Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home Sweet Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Sweet Home

Property: Home Sweet Home
Address: 0111 Wat Bo Rd | Salakamroek Village, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #197 of 248 Speciality Lodging in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Home Sweet Home 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether on business or holiday, property are designed help guests relax in comfort and style. Some of the features you'll enjoy are non smoking rooms, air conditioning, desk, internet access (wireless), internet access, in room safe, television, bathtub. Featuring 24hr room service, coffee shop, bar/pub, laundry service/dry cleaning, restaurant, room service, safety deposit boxes, hotel/airport transfer, this Siem Reap hotel is sure to make each guest's trip an enjoyable one. After a day of work or exploring, massage, garden are some of the ways to unwind. Convenient location, a dedicated staff and first-rate facilities make this hotel a favorite among travelers. Home Sweet Home Hotel can be easily booked with our secure online booking form. Simply enter your dates and click to proceed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and HostelWorld so you can book your Home Sweet Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Home Sweet Home Hotel Siem Reap
Home Sweet Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing