We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Reviews”
Review of Home Sweet Home

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Home Sweet Home
Ranked #189 of 279 Speciality Lodging in Siem Reap
Manila, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mixed Reviews”
Reviewed 28 January 2010

Food was good; Staff was generally ok (except for the owner who had some serious mood swings); Rooms were cleaned regularly although not as clean as I want them to be; Hallways, smoking area, internet area, & dining area could use some general cleaning as there was dust everywhere; A/C could use a little more power (trust me, you would want this too after a long day at the temples).

I guess my major issue would be the water -- you could smell & unfortunately, taste, the rust in it (ex. when brushing your teeth or taking a bath).

Overall, I still think that if you're on a budget, this is the place for you. At least, if you don't mind roughing it. However, if you have a little more budget, do go for other nearby establishments (see Two Dragons next door).

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNLgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    40
    31
    22
    30
See reviews for
10
51
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Malaga, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2010

We were actually in Siem Reap seeking work teaching English. The staff not only made our stay confortable but suggested schools where we might find work. We stayed 10 days before we departed to Thailand.

The staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The WiFi connection was always available and fast. The beer cold and the breakfasts good. I was always requesting hot water for my tea and it was never a problem.

Bike was available at $1 per day, good mountain style bikes too. It was a pleasant walk along the river to the Old market and Pub street so everything was walkable.

Wat Bo is a must see for local interest.

If I ever visit Siem Reap again the HSH is on my list.

Alan Wilson

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sootycat49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2010

But what should i expect for such a cheap place??
this really simple place in a bad location, on this ugly dust street.
But at least they have free internet computers!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thais M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Siem Reap hotels

CANADA!
1 review
Reviewed 15 December 2009

After spending 2 months traveling throughout thailand, cambodia, laos, and moving from plae to place, i truly can say this was the most 'bang for its buck'.... at 6$ a night, the staff were super super friendly, the rooms were weirdly clean (and cleaned each day, that doesnt happen at budget hotels!!).... the rooms were secure, the food was okay....

overall great experience... highly highly recomend this place to anyone coming to Siem Reap!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank backpacker1389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
1 review
Reviewed 2 December 2009

We stayed at home sweet home for two nights and on the first day I left down my laundry to reception. It was to be ready the next day same time.
The following day I went down to collect it and it wasnt ready, then I called again later on.
When I brought my washing upstairs they were literally covered in big white streaks of detergent. Clearly had been handwashed badly and what wasnt streaked in white was still wet. I brought them downstairs to reception and the guy was like no they arent dirty, they are fine. He then offered me 1usd even though I had paid 4usd. I wouldnt have minded so much if I was staying another day and could have got them to rewash them.
Finally after a big argument with us shouting at each other he agreed to give me 2.5usd but only if I didnt tell his boss. He annoyed me so much but I realised I wasnt going to get any further so I took the 2.5usd.
Apart from that incident it really is a nice place to stay but the restaurant is rubbish.
Nice big rooms, good shower ect. They even have some ancient computers upstairs where you can use the internet for free.
So basically its a decent place to stay but do not get your washing done there. He actually admitted to me that it has happened before and it was fairly obvious that it happened regularly...

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catcon283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
Reviewed 16 November 2009

The staff made us feel very welcome at this lovely guesthouse. The hotel has a great location for walking to the town centre. The staff were very used to organising trips to Angkor Wat complex and set us up with an excellent tuk tuk driver who waited outside every temple for us. The restaurant food is delicious and excellent value. I would definatley stay here again and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen43Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2009

We stayed at a Triple room for $15 a night . The staff were friendly and helpful .
We booked a room by sending them an email earlier .
The rooms were spacious , clean and aircon was good . They infact gave us a room with 4 beds on the second day since the water heater didn't work in our room for no extra charge .
The Old market area is about 10 -15 mins walk from the hotel and you can use their bicycle to reach there or you can get lot of tuk tuks around . A super market is avaiable just a stone throw away from the hotel .They even booked us a taxi till Poipet for $25 .
All in all a simple and neat hotel .

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronin85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel 20th Street
Hotel 20th Street
#139 of 353 in Siem Reap
234 reviews
0.0 mi away
Two Dragons Guesthouse
Two Dragons Guesthouse
#63 of 493 in Siem Reap
262 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#41 of 353 in Siem Reap
5,006 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lotus Blanc Resort
Lotus Blanc Resort
#35 of 353 in Siem Reap
2,184 reviews
0.5 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home Sweet Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Sweet Home

Property: Home Sweet Home
Address: 0111 Wat Bo Rd | Salakamroek Village, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #189 of 279 Speciality Lodging in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Home Sweet Home 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether on business or holiday, property are designed help guests relax in comfort and style. Some of the features you'll enjoy are non smoking rooms, air conditioning, desk, internet access (wireless), internet access, in room safe, television, bathtub. Featuring 24hr room service, coffee shop, bar/pub, laundry service/dry cleaning, restaurant, room service, safety deposit boxes, hotel/airport transfer, this Siem Reap hotel is sure to make each guest's trip an enjoyable one. After a day of work or exploring, massage, garden are some of the ways to unwind. Convenient location, a dedicated staff and first-rate facilities make this hotel a favorite among travelers. Home Sweet Home Hotel can be easily booked with our secure online booking form. Simply enter your dates and click to proceed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Home Sweet Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Home Sweet Home Hotel Siem Reap
Home Sweet Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing