We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great little place”
Review of Rosy Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rosy Guest House
Ranked #39 of 485 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A great little place”
Reviewed 24 May 2012

I would certainly recommend a stay here. I stayed three nights, one night in a double room and two nights in a single. The only reason for this was that they didn't have the single available for all three nights. Both rooms were imaculate and well presented with a TV, DVD player, good quality aircon and ceiling fans and fridge to keep you water (or beers) cool. The only comment I would make are that the bathrooms are getting tired and the first one had some mould that could easily be removed with a little bit of effort. There's a terrace at the mid level and downstairs a bar/resturant with pool table and an enormous DVD library. The food is good, not amazing but the prices match well and you can fill up for $2.50. Try the fresh spring rolls. The menu is balanced with Asian and Weastern favourites. The staff are extreamly pleasant, welcoming and helpful. A real joy.

My two negative but constructive comments? Do check with the tuk tuk driver exactly where he will take you and how much it will cost, even if you have arranged this with the guesthouse. The guys are nice but you pay them directly and of course they want to get as many bucks out of you as possible. There was some confusion on my trip to the temples that was a bit embarrassing. I paid $20 for a night bus to Sihanoukville through the guesthouse. This is too much and I can only presume 50% commission to Rosy. As the guesthouse is predominantly patronised by travellers (nice ones!), the commission should be a lot less.

The best bit? They arranged a tuk tuk driver to meet me at the bus station and he waited for one and a half hours for my delayed bus. That's worth a tip isn't it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    103
    23
    4
    4
See reviews for
15
155
97
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We stayed in the basic room with shared bathrooms, and it was exactly what we were after - good value, no frills, friendly, clean accommodation. Nice little touches like dvd players in the room and a huge store of movies to choose from. Host/owners really friendly and helpful. Probably only negative mark is one member of staff was a little pushy about which tuk tuk driver we should be using. Its further away from downtown which was great for us as we preferred a quieter location closer to the river (and a closer bike ride to Angkor sites), and we could walk to local restaurants to eat. All in all, a solid choice.

Room Tip: Hire a bike and ride to Angkor. Also rest your legs at the Raffles Hotel bar for an evening drink.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Intrepid_Mcchaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

I've stayed at Rosy for 2 nights and have really enjoyed my experience here. The staff, both local and English go out of there way to assist you. The service they provide is fantastic and they have a variety of rooms to suit all budgets which are kept to a very high standard, being cleaned daily. I would highly recommend their food - the chef is amazing! Particularly for English people as it is literally like eating home away from home! The guest house overlooks the river and is walking distance from the town (about 10minutes) meaning you have the quietness but the location also. Overall, a fantastic stay and I would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

You have all the basics, ie bathroom with hot water, TV and bed. No frills. The whole bathroom floods when you take a shower. The owners are extremely helpful with regards to planning your itinerary in Siem Reap and the food in the Guesthouse is really good. This biggest issue for me, when I was there it was 35 degrees Celcius, and except with the A/C in the room there was no place to rest comfortably. The common areas were all steaming hot. So I would advise in the hot months to find a place with a swimming pool and lots of shade.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

I probably searched too much for the perfect guest house for a good price. This place was pretty awesome. The room was clean and cleaned every day. There was always someone up front who could help with planning. They set us up with a great tuk tuk driver to see the temples. Its about a 15 min walk to the tourist food / market area.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NadivS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

This is a very nice guesthouse, the LOCAL staff are very friendly and helpful! Clean rooms, decent food, good location, free pickup from bus station and reasonably priced, I would definitely stay here again if I was returning to Siem Reap.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Excellent guest house with exceptional hospitality. We are so happy we stayed at Rosy Guest House and we would stay there again in a heartbeat. We highly recommend Rosy Guest House to everyone staying in Siem Reap, Cambodia. Everyone who works there was incredibly kind and thoughtful. Also, the owners as well as others who work there were incredibly helpful and interested in how our trip to Cambodia was going. They always had recommendations, but were not too pushy. Our room was very nice and clean. The bar and restaurant has tasty food at very reasonable prices. We couldn't have asked for anything more or different. We would recommend ordering picnic lunches as they are affordable and tasty. We really liked their Amok, too.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhiladelphiaAileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.0 mi away
Happy Guest House
Happy Guest House
#23 of 485 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seven Candles Guest House
Seven Candles Guest House
#6 of 485 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.0 mi away
The City Premium Guesthouse
The City Premium Guesthouse
#126 of 485 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tropical Breeze Guest House
Tropical Breeze Guest House
#104 of 485 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.0 mi away
Babel Guesthouse
Babel Guesthouse
#8 of 485 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.0 mi away
Green Park Village Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosy Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosy Guest House

Property: Rosy Guest House
Address: 74 Phlum Slor Kram | (East River Road), Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 485 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With beautifully decorated, spotless rooms to suit all budgets and a continually developing Responsible Tourism policy emphasizing local community projects, staff development and eco-friendly alternatives Rosy Guesthouse brings you quality, comfortable accommodation with a conscience. Facilities include free, unlimited WiFi; large, relaxing balcony; big screens showing sports events and movies; pool table; bustling, fully stocked bar and restaurant with a range of delectable Asian and European foods. Located in quiet riverside setting. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rosy Guest House Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing