We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super friendly and helpful staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
European Guesthouse
Ranked #136 of 483 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super friendly and helpful staff.”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Me and my partner really enjoyed our stay here. The staff are really friendly and helpful. They are happy to arrange tours and tuk tuks for you without being pushy, and they also have cheap bikes for hire. The room was clean and quiet, with fantastic air con! The pizzas are a little pricey, however they are really tasty, so probably worth an extra bob.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dottyshalloty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray_Macmillan, Owner at European Guesthouse, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Hi there

Thank you for the very nice review. If we have a mission at all here it is just to keep things as simple as we can and let guests and staff just relax.

I note your comment about pizza prices. Unfortunately most of the things we need to make these are imported so it is a bit of a challenge to keep prices at budget level. However they are very good so it works out about right I think.

Thank you for coming and safe journey onwards

Regards


Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    79
    29
    14
    9
See reviews for
12
60
65
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Yet again, for the second year in a row, this guesthouse is THE ONLY place to stay in Siem. Perfect quiet location, the most brilliant staff you'll ever meet, friendly, helpful beyond the call of the duty. Home from home. The carbonaras are damn good too!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerWicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray_Macmillan, Manager at European Guesthouse, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear TravellerWicker

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It brought a big smile to the faces of all the team at European Guesthouse. If we can make you feel like you are at a home away from home then we are definitely doing our jobs.

Great to hear you enjoyed the Carbonara's :).

Safe Travels and Hope to see you again soon!!

Regards
Nicole, Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Initially we had stayed a couple of days over the road at 'happy guesthouse'. After they wouldn't let us know if we could stay an extra night we looked elsewhere and tried the European guest house. Straight away they confirmed they had a night available and we reserved the room, the staff where friendly and when we arrived the next day we where able to check in earlier than normal at no fee. The room was clean, big and the showers where hot. The TV didn't work but this wasn't an issue as the wifi was good so we managed to get a film on the net. We had booked a bus to Thailand through the hotel and where instructed to be downstairs at 0730 for collection as the bus left at 0800 hours we waited until ten to the hour and after our collection hadn't arrived we questioned it, they appeared to panic as though they hadn't booked a collection when they booked our bus. They phoned someone who picked us up 5 minutes later and took us to meet the bus.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray_Macmillan, Manager at European Guesthouse, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Sam L, Thank your for your review, we appreciate the feedback.

Please note with bus collection this is something included in the price of the bus ticket when you purchase it i.e. it is offered by the bus company who you are travelling with. It is not something that is in our control but the staff will always make a phone call to the bus company to ensure pick up is happening. What may be perceived as panic is just the staff not wanting the bus company to let us or our customers down when they offer pick up in the cost of the ticket.

Regards
Nicole, Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I spent 4 nights at the European guesthouse this week. A big sign by the bar says 'please submit a Trip Adviser (sic) review' so here goes.

My room was large, clean and cheap ($11). Management organised a tuk-tuk to collect me from the bus station and helped with bus tickets, bicycle hire, Angkor Wat visits, laundry etc. There is a chilled-out communal area and the place has a relaxed buzz. The guesthouse is a short walk to town yet feels very peaceful.

I ate here once and the food was inexpensive but average. There are better places to eat in town.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HampsteadStephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray_Macmillan, Manager at European Guesthouse, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear HampsteadStephen,

Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed the relaxed and chilled out vibe.

We are always looking for ways to improve so thank you for the feedback about our menu - i will pass it onto the kitchen and look at ways to improve our menu.

Regards
Nicole
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Staff are very friendly and helpful!
Rooms are average
Mattress was average
Wifi is average
Location is average to good- 10 minute walk from market and pub street

Would recommend for backpackers looking for a quiet place in Siem Reap!!!!!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Travel_man_aaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray_Macmillan, Manager at European Guesthouse, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for your review. As always our staff are pleased to hear complimentary remarks about their service and helpfulness. We have taken your comments on board - in particular about the Wi-Fi which has been recently upgraded and new password given to it - as it turns out many people in the area were also logging in so we have stopped this and useage has definately improved.

Regards
Nicole
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

The room was very clean, had plenty of space, and most important this time of year, had air conditioning! Everyone on staff was very friendly and helpful. They helped with local transportation as well as onward travel. The garden area was a lovely, shady place to sit and relax. Since it's on the other side of the river from Pub Street, it's nice and quiet, but still just a quick walk along the river away from the action. The food was quite good as well.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank treehgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray_Macmillan, Manager at European Guesthouse, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Hi Treehgr,

Thank you for your positive review, great to hear you enjoyed your time at the European particularly in our lovely garden area which we are very proud of. The staff are always happy when we pass on that we have received another positive review about their service and friendliness. Thanks again.

Kind Regards
Nicole, Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We had a four night stay and unfortunately, experienced about half a dozen power cuts during our third night there.

Most of the time electricity was restored within five to 15 minutes and that was pretty understandable looking at the infrastructure of Siem Reap in general!

Other than that we had a pleasant stay that was very value for money. :)

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Clarissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray_Macmillan, Manager at European Guesthouse, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Hi Clarissa, Thanks for your review. Unfortunately power cuts do tend to be a bit sparodic in Siem Reap particularly during these hotter months when the grids get a bit overloaded but it sounds like you definitely got a bad night - something which generally is out of our control. Glad to hear you still had a pleasant experience at our guesthouse.
Safe Travels.
Regards
Nicole, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.0 mi away
Babel Guesthouse
Babel Guesthouse
#8 of 483 in Siem Reap
662 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mom's Guesthouse
Mom's Guesthouse
#154 of 483 in Siem Reap
243 reviews
0.0 mi away
Happy Guest House
Happy Guest House
#25 of 483 in Siem Reap
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sweet Dreams Guesthouse
Sweet Dreams Guesthouse
#29 of 251 in Siem Reap
162 reviews
0.5 mi away
Siem Reap Rooms Guesthouse
Siem Reap Rooms Guesthouse
#11 of 483 in Siem Reap
388 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seven Candles Guest House
Seven Candles Guest House
#7 of 483 in Siem Reap
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to European Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about European Guesthouse

Property: European Guesthouse
Address: #0566, Group 2, Banteay Chas Village | Slorkram Commune, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 483 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — European Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the quiet area of Wat Bo, European Guesthouse features air-conditioned rooms and dorms with free WiFi. Guests have access to a swimming pool, sunbathing area and secluded garden. European Guesthouse is a short walk to the busy Pub Street. The famous Angkor Wat Temple is just 8 km from the guesthouse. All private rooms have a cable TV and en suite bathroom with hot shower facilities. Dormitory rooms offer shared bathroom access with hot shower facilities. European Guesthouse provides a free Siem Reap pick-up service. Bus and ticketing services are available for guests. Other services include tour information, visa renewals, cooking classes, bike hire and laundry. Guests can order from a menu of Khmer and Western food including freshly made pizza and crepes. There is a fully stocked bar featuring a range of cocktails, spirits, beers, shakes and premium coffee. An active supporter of several NGO's in Siem Reap, European Guesthouse is certified ChildSafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your European Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing