We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dingy rooms and bad customer service!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Siem Reap
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Tigre de Papier Residence
Ranked #254 of 338 Hotels in Siem Reap
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dingy rooms and bad customer service!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

3 of us recently stayed in the triple room at the Tigre hotel. We immediately became concerned when the manager starting interfering in our negotiations with our driver and guide - trying to push up prices. The WiFi was broken. They also charged us for a top up of tea at breakfast which was cheeky at $50 a night! Our room was dark and dingy - nothing like those advertised on the website! The temperature in the room was also hard to regulate (it was either too hot or too cold) and this was not ideal when I had been diganosed with dysentery. The rooms were not cleaned daily - only the beds made - and I had to specifically ask for the bathroom to be cleaned. Not acceptable in any hotel! The owners do not seem to care. I would not stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linedwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    42
    7
    5
    2
See reviews for
17
27
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mullumbimby, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

I thoroughly enjoyed staying at this very well organised hotel. The rooms are clean and comfortable with attention to detail in so many ways. The saltwater pool and surrounding gardens was the perfect thing to come back to after a hot day and being on my feet for hours.
I was thankful to be away from the busy centre enough so I could enjoy the peace and yet close enough to walk to the night market and restaurants.
The staff were always happy to help, they seemed to take pleasure from making people feel welcome and at home. I hope to return to this beautiful hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

Stayed for 4 nights at Le Tigre. Super friendly staff and excellent facilities. Beautiful pool in garden setting and great rooms. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoelC7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
243 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

We stayed in Le Tigre for 8 days in July ans were not disappointed. The rooms are large and the beds comfortable. In an old mansion that has been redecorated with a beautiful wood staircase that was preserved, there is a nice swimming pool which is the place to be after visiting the temples in the morning and before the sunset excursions. The breakfasts were quite nice as well. Located about a 10-15 minute walk from pub street and all the action, we were happy to have the peace of this quiet neighborhood, The owner and his lovely wife and the rest of the staff do all they can to make your stay enjoyable.............They'll also pick you up at the airport. To avoid confusion know that the name of the hotel was just changed to Le Tigre- they've eliminated de Papier.........

Room Tip: Book in advance as there are not too many rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marshall K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2011

This was our second visit to the hotel, this time we stayed for 8 nights over the New Year. Staff were very friendly which makes such a difference to one's holiday, they were even happy to teach us Khmer.

Chee'va who worked at the reception was very helpfull, spoke fluent French and English, and would arrange tours and Tuk Tuks and anything else we required.

Our room was clean and comfortable with air-conditioning as well as hot & cold water.

My wife's favourite area was the pretty tropical garden and swimming pool area, where we often sat, and "Mom" cooked the best cheese ommelettes at breakfast tme.

Coffee and drinks at the end of the day were served by a smiling Tharin at the bar area.

Ramy was also very kind to us, helping us with the internet connections.

The atmosphere at the Paper Tiger was very warm, and we felt sad saying goodbye to our home in Siem Reap.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hommar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2011

Amazing hotel set in a beautiful building with a lush tropical garden and swimming pool/jacuzzi. The staff were unbelievable. So, so friendly and willing to offer you assistance with absolutely any request. On the morning we visited Angkor Wat at sunrise they packed us a picnic breakfast which was so kind. The then did the same on the day we left as we had an early flight. Such small things but so appreciated!

The rooms were large, cool and clean with hot water and a great tv.The beds were comfortable and the towels were not paper thin! It was never noisy and felt like you were at home. It is less than a 10 minute walk into pub street/the market and yes, some of the road is dirt and it's bumpy but there are street lights and always people around. We never found the location to be a problem. The hotel also offers a free tuk tuk into town whenever you need it. I am going to recommend this place to everyone. For the price it is incredible and the best way for us to finish a lovely holiday around Vietnam and Cambodia.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sares14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathmandu, Nepal
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2010

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a place quite and good located. Its not in the middle of town but is walking distance to everything (pub street, night market and the central market). We stayed for 3 weeks and was the best option nice atmosphere. The restaurant is also great, either western food or local food.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.0 mi away
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
#105 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.0 mi away
Reaksmey Chanreas Hotel
Reaksmey Chanreas Hotel
#182 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
#67 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Savoie Angkor Boutique
Savoie Angkor Boutique
#242 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.1 mi away
Terrasse des Elephants
Terrasse des Elephants
#177 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tan Kang Angkor Hotel
Tan Kang Angkor Hotel
#262 of 338 in Siem Reap
3.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Tigre de Papier Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Tigre de Papier Residence

Property: Le Tigre de Papier Residence
Address: Sok San Street, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#155 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Le Tigre De Papier Residence Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing