We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good atmosphere & service, but might improve cleaning”
Review of Happy Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Happy Guest House
Ranked #27 of 493 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere & service, but might improve cleaning”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Pros:
• Location in a little quiet street, near many other GHs to choose from in case
• Friendly & available staff, taking care of issues (e.g. when my sink was clogged)
• Relatively cheap restaurant downstairs where to chill out with the free WiFi
• Can arrange trips, tickets, etc. for honest prices (always bargain a bit of course)
• Budget room are value for money (the 6$ one, not the 4$ one) & spacious enough
• Fan working well so not too hot

Cons:
• My bathroom was just ok clean and there was hardly any light
• Walls & floors in my room weren't cleaned properly although I requested daily "make my room" service (free)

Conclusion:
Siem Reap is literally lined up with hotels & guest houses so you might want to explore a few before deciding. However, I believe Happy GH is good value for money if you're on a budget, and I would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: My room (403) was on the last floor and had 2 large windows, so in the morning the rising sun would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louzdelaluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    222
    34
    16
    8
See reviews for
36
254
132
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Staff were very happy all the time and helped me with everything I had questions on. Tuk tuk drivers they employed were cool. Awesome value for money. Really good milkshakes. Good wifi, good rooms. Only issue I would have would be the bathroom. It had a bit of mildew and it wasn't as clean as it could have been. But, it really doesn't take away from anything. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cronosticus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Happy guest house was one of my favourite guest houses in SE Asia. The room was fantastic for the price we paid, and was one of the nicest rooms we stayed in during our trip. The staff were all lovely, especially our tuk tuk driver for the trip who was friendly and helpful, and also volunteered local knowledge about the area and the temples. The staff were able to provide brilliant information about things to do in the local area and booking onwards travel. We initially booked 3 nights but ended up staying for 4. It does take about 15 minutes to walk to pub street (and is relatively easy to find your way back after!), but it only costs a couple of dollars to get a tuk tuk if you don't fancy walking. If you're looking for a lovely, friendly place to stay whilst in Siem Reap, then here is your place!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed in happy guesthouse for four days while visiting Ankor Wat. For the price we paid, the room was brilliant with an en suite bathroom, especially as we often struggled to find private rooms for 3. Good food, computer access and wifi. The staff were overly lovely and couldn't do enough to help. We organised all our trips with the staff at the guest house and had our own tuk-tuk driver for the entirety of our stay! We were very sad when we had to leave. The guest house is about a 15 minute walk from pub street but this wasn't an issue and is only a very short tuk-tuk ride for those who don't wish to walk. Would encourage those visiting Siem Reap to stay at Happy Guesthouse, it certainly lives up to it's name!
The best experience for the best value!

Room Tip: Our room out the back of the building did not get wifi, but all rooms in the main building did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HLL91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Soapy picked us up from the airport to take us to the guest house and would not even take a tip! Then, we hired him to drive us in his tuk-tuk for 3/6 days we stayed at Happy! He was amazing and took us lots of places we had never heard of from other tourists or sites. He always had a drink ready for you on a hot day! Guest house was nice and clean, amazing room for the price. Guest house has cool evening environment if you don't feel like hitting the pub street. Beer and food are great and cheap (.75$ for an Angkor). Bicycles were only a couple dollars a day and they helped us map our way around. For six nights, most of our meals, dozens of beer and bus tickets for two to Phnom Penh, we only paid 100$. They even packed us sandwiches for the bus! Stayed in a double room with a fan and TV. Can use the pool table at the bar next door if you want!

Room Tip: Ask Soapy to take you to Angkor Wat for the sunrise tour!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyler S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siem Reap, Cambodia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed a couple of nights at Happy Guesthouse and can say its been one of the best places to stay in during my southasia trip!
The staff are superfriendly (and happy) and can help you to book tours, buses and so on.
The room we stayed in was awesome, clean and fresh and the common area with the restaurant is cozy. Make sure to eat there cause they have plenty of good food!
Thank u guys for a very happy stay!
xo Angie

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I stayed in this guesthouse several times over the past couple of years and I've always had a very good experience. The staff (namely the manager of the hotel) is very nice and the rooms - though basic - are great value for money if you want to stay in a comfortable room with hot water and fan/a/c.

Take notice, however, that the rooms do not have wi-fi, only the space in front of the hotel.

I definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the 4th floor as these do not have hot water and, given that they are on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bernardodomingos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.6 mi away
Ta Som Guesthouse
Ta Som Guesthouse
#190 of 353 in Siem Reap
275 reviews
0.0 mi away
Babel Guesthouse
Babel Guesthouse
#6 of 493 in Siem Reap
684 reviews
0.8 mi away
Schein Guesthouse & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bou Savy Guest House
Bou Savy Guest House
#20 of 493 in Siem Reap
1,132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seven Candles Guest House
Seven Candles Guest House
#9 of 493 in Siem Reap
490 reviews
0.4 mi away
Horizons Cambodia
Horizons Cambodia
#30 of 493 in Siem Reap
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Guest House

Property: Happy Guest House
Address: 0134 Phum Wat Bo, Khum Salakomreuk, Siem Reap 063, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 493 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Happy Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Khmer family-run business that aims to provide our guests with a home away from home. The stuffs are friendly and my family members can speak English, French and Vietnamese. Pay less but get more services like you stay in a more expensive guesthouse because the rooms are clean with private bathroom, shoes, soap, toilet paper and provide a water on arrival day, room cleaning service. My family will give you the best and the most honest advices about your stay in Cambodia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Happy Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Happy Guest House Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing